We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy room, but good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Gateway Hotel, Agra
Ranked #9 of 144 Hotels in Agra
Certificate of Excellence
Fleet UK
Level Contributor
115 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Noisy room, but good hotel”
Reviewed 8 July 2012

We stayed one night in 2 rooms as part of a tour of India. The weather at the time was very cold and foggy, with lots of 'normally from here you can see ....'. We may have had Taj View rooms, but we couldnt see it - not the hotels fault though. However the hotel was warm and the room was very comfortable, with a lovely bathroom with rainfall shower.

I found the hotel a little expensive and a little too international for my tastes, and the buffet dinner was not very exciting. The fresh cooked food ( to order ) was excellent though. It was also a little distance from the Taj Mahal.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ives5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,909 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    752
    741
    320
    62
    34
See reviews for
632
707
91
107
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (505)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chennai, India
Level Contributor
65 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

Apart from the Taj Mahal, i will always remember my stay in Agra for the food served at The Gateway Taj. Excellent food and a wide spread.

While check in I got an upgrade to a Taj view room and totally loved it. Very good property and close to the Taj with excellent service.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dayal123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maroochydore, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

A really special treat whilst staying in Agra for a couple of nights. Beautiful hotel, very classy with exceptional service and fabulous rooms. Beautiful grounds and stunning pool. After a day out with the noise and fumes etc, to head back here for rest and relaxation is fantastic. Would love to stay again next time we are in Agra, wonderful.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool are lovely and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uk
Level Contributor
150 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

We stayed in this hotel because of the opportunity of a view overlooking the Taj Mahal. Our room did overlook it but it was very average. There was building work being carried out when we stayed there which meant it was noisy there was a very reduced restaurant facility. We got stuck in the lift, but then that can happen anywhere. Food very average. Overall the hotel did not come up to expectations. Sorry. We did state this to the hotel and they were very quick with an apology, which was good. Again we stayed in the low season so it may be better at other times in the year.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the upper floors overlooking the Taj Mahal
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pringle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krakow, Poland
Level Contributor
122 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2012

The location is good for all travellers. Very close to the Taj Mahal. We had also the absolutely stunning view of the Taj Mahal from our room. Thee room was modern and comfy. Cleanlines was very good. The staff on the reception were always smiling and helpfull. Good, fresh breakfast. Great value for money.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KubaTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Agra hotels
2.0 km away
Courtyard by Marriott Agra
0.4 km away
ITC Mughal, Agra
ITC Mughal, Agra
#12 of 144 in Agra
3,843 reviews
1.5 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Agra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
The Oberoi Amarvilas
1.7 km away
Radisson Blu Agra Taj East Gate
2.0 km away
Trident, Agra
Trident, Agra
#2 of 144 in Agra
2,714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gateway Hotel, Agra? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gateway Hotel, Agra

Property: The Gateway Hotel, Agra
Address: Fatehabad Road, Agra 282001, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra District > Agra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Agra
#5 Family Hotel in Agra
#7 Luxury Hotel in Agra
#7 Business Hotel in Agra
#8 Spa Hotel in Agra
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,235 - ₹ 8,475
Hotel Class:5 star — The Gateway Hotel, Agra 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ABOUT THE GATEWAY HOTEL FATEHABAD ROAD AGRA: Set amidst six acres of landscaped gardens, The Gateway Hotel Fatehabad Road Agra offers an excellent view of The Taj Mahal from many of its rooms. GETTING THERE & AROUND:• 5 km from the railway station• 10 km from the airport• 3 km from The Taj Mahal. STAY:• 100 rooms including suites• Wi-Fi internet throughout the hotel• Television with cable/satellite channels• Electronic safe. Standard City/Pool View Rooms: Well-appointed rooms. Superior Taj View Rooms: With a mix of contemporary and Mughal design, these rooms offer an excellent view of the Taj Mahal. Executive Taj View Rooms: An elevated sitting area in these rooms on higher floors offers a breath-taking view of the Taj Mahal. Executive Suites: These have a private library, a DVD Player and a spectacular view of the Taj Mahal. HANGOUTGAD - All Day Dining: The all day dining restaurant serves Indian and International cuisine. Jhankar: For traditional Indian cuisine(19:30 till 23:30 hrs only) Saqui: For a fine selection of wines, spirits and cigars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoftTaj, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, ClearTrip, HostelWorld and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Gateway Hotel, Agra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gateway Hotel, Agra Hotel Agra
Gateway Hotel Agra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing