We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the money. Very disappointing.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Gateway Hotel, Agra
Ranked #8 of 146 Hotels in Agra
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not worth the money. Very disappointing.”
Reviewed 30 April 2012 via mobile

My family and I stayed here from April 28th to 30th. I was especially looking forward to it since I've heard great things about the Taj chain. Unfortunately, this did not pan out as on checking in, the front desk clerk quoted us the wrong rate. Luckily my husband had his confirmation email at hand so that was sorted out quickly. We had the breakfast and one meal package but should have opted out ( had we known), the food was of 2 class standard. I've been to dhaba's that served better food. As for the pool, it needs some maintenance because while it looked inviting from our room, it was quite slippery at the bottom once you got in. On checkout the same incident occurred where we were again billed for a higher rate instead of the one that had been confirmed and (according to the lady on check in) had been corrected in the system. If you like eating boiled food with tasteless watery sauce and noodles with vegies everyday, then by all means go to Taj Gateway Hotel, Agra. If you appreciate a delicious Indian meal that international food networks go ga-ga over and foreigners look forward too, find another hotel. This place is not worth it and should not show up on lists of 5 star hotels on the internet. On that note however, the room attendant Murti was very nice and quite helpful. Thank you Murti.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angiegopee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,933 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    766
    747
    322
    62
    36
See reviews for
644
714
91
108
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (507)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

We stayed in this hotel overnight whilst visiting the Taj Mahal. It was clean, tidy and efficient. The Pool looked good but we didn't have time to try it out. We had a room that had a Taj view which for an extra £7 was value for money.

We were disappointed with the restaurant within the hotel which was really uninspiring and the staff were not that welcoming. To make it worse it cost a reasonable amount of money so we were disappointed.

All in all, this hotel is really a sensible choice which cost sensible money. Dont spend more than a night in Agra as it is a dirty, congested place - even our Indian driver hated it!

Room Tip: Pay the money for the Taj View although this does mean you are at the front of the hotel and subject...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kermitcat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2012

There is much more to do in Agra that I realized and the Gateway was a good choice for location and comfort. Very glad I did not just do a day trip from Delhi.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 5678PamS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney,Australia
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We specifically requested the Gateway Hotel because they stated some rooms had a view of the Taj Mahal, and we were not disappointed. The room gave a wonderful view of it on the first day, but on the day we left it was lost in the "fog", so we were very fortunate. To get the view you have to put up with a bit of noise from the road below, even though there was triple glazing on the windows, and we were on the 7th floor. It didn't disturb our sleep, so was not a problem for us. Perhaps we were used to the honking noise after 13 days on tour.
Reception staff were pleasant, and while going through the formalities, we were given the usual refreshing drink. The room was comfortable, with plenty of room for bags, hanging space, laptop computer desk and connections. It was clean, the bed very comfortable and the bathroom provided all the usual comforts of home.
The grounds had a lovely swimming pool in a nice garden with comfortable lounges to relax in the sun. The pool didn't appear to be heated, so my swim was short. All these facilities were in good order and the towels they supplied (as in all the hotels we stayed in) were fresh and clean.
The breakfast room was large and airy with a good breakfast buffet, even though on one morning we had to eat before 6.30am for our trip to the Taj Mahal. We ate in the dining room on both evenings, and the á la carte meal was, as we had by now come to expect, tasty and interesting. It was a very pleasant place to eat as it was relatively small and had a quiet atmosphere, as it did not cater for large tour groups.
We can recommend the Gateway Hotel, but a "Taj view room" must be requested on booking and confirmed, or you might be given one on the other side.
We would happily recommend the Gateway Hotel. While it was obviously an old hotel that has been renovated, it is a clean and pleasant hotel to stay in.

Room Tip: Make sure if you want a view of the Taj Mahal that you specifically request it, and confirm you have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rhonnie7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
292 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2012

We stayed in seven hotels in our journey round northern India. Six were wonderful - and then there was this one, which was a real disappointment.

Our agent had booked a Taj view, double bedded room five months previously, but the hotel allocated us a twin room. When we explained what had been booked, front desk staff told us to push the twin beds together! They were unhelpful to the point of being rude.

The "Taj view" was a partial view around the ventilation stacks of the buildings over the road (see photograph). This was a second floor room - perhaps the view is better from higher up, but the Taj Mahal is still 2km away. So we paid for a double bedded room (which we didn't get) and a Taj view (which we only partly got).

The road outside the Taj view rooms is a dual carriageway and, as such, very noisy. The secondary glazing is inadequate to reduce the noise to acceptable levels. We didn't sleep much. If you must stay here (and we wouldn't recommend you do) a room on the non Taj facing side of the hotel is probably a better bet. And the hotel wasn't as clean as all the others we stayed in.

The restaurant was OK, but more like a cafe. Food and service were just about adequate. Bottles of Indian wine started at INR2800 (£37) with imported wines even more. And no, we weren't offered a bottle of wine to compensate for their error!

Altogether a very average experience and the only hotel on our journey we wouldn't recommend. But the Taj Mahal, Agra Fort and "Baby Taj" were, of course, amazing.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JandP_Cotswolds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Agra hotels
2.0 km away
Courtyard by Marriott Agra
0.4 km away
ITC Mughal, Agra
ITC Mughal, Agra
#13 of 146 in Agra
3,896 reviews
1.5 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Agra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Radisson Blu Agra Taj East Gate
1.2 km away
The Oberoi Amarvilas
2.0 km away
Trident, Agra
Trident, Agra
#2 of 146 in Agra
2,733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gateway Hotel, Agra? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gateway Hotel, Agra

Property: The Gateway Hotel, Agra
Address: Fatehabad Road, Agra 282001, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra District > Agra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Agra
#5 Family Hotel in Agra
#7 Business Hotel in Agra
#7 Luxury Hotel in Agra
#8 Spa Hotel in Agra
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,283 - ₹ 9,398
Hotel Class:5 star — The Gateway Hotel, Agra 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ABOUT THE GATEWAY HOTEL FATEHABAD ROAD AGRA: Set amidst six acres of landscaped gardens, The Gateway Hotel Fatehabad Road Agra offers an excellent view of The Taj Mahal from many of its rooms. GETTING THERE & AROUND:• 5 km from the railway station• 10 km from the airport• 3 km from The Taj Mahal. STAY:• 100 rooms including suites• Wi-Fi internet throughout the hotel• Television with cable/satellite channels• Electronic safe. Standard City/Pool View Rooms: Well-appointed rooms. Superior Taj View Rooms: With a mix of contemporary and Mughal design, these rooms offer an excellent view of the Taj Mahal. Executive Taj View Rooms: An elevated sitting area in these rooms on higher floors offers a breath-taking view of the Taj Mahal. Executive Suites: These have a private library, a DVD Player and a spectacular view of the Taj Mahal. HANGOUTGAD - All Day Dining: The all day dining restaurant serves Indian and International cuisine. Jhankar: For traditional Indian cuisine(19:30 till 23:30 hrs only) Saqui: For a fine selection of wines, spirits and cigars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Yatra, HotelQuickly, Hotels.com, TravelGuru, ClearTrip and HostelWorld so you can book your The Gateway Hotel, Agra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gateway Hotel, Agra Hotel Agra
Gateway Hotel Agra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing