We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location is everything”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Gateway Hotel, Agra
Ranked #7 of 142 Hotels in Agra
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 March 2012

After a 5 hour journey from Delhi, you will be pleased to finally arrive at the Taj hotel. You will be greeted with a Hindi blessing. The lobby is lovely with 2 restaurants and a chic bar. There is a spa (which I didn't use) and a lovely pool and grounds. The rooms are somewhat dated, but comfortable. The bathrooms could use an update. Some rooms have a full Taj view. It was perfectly comfortable for one night, but not luxurious. The cost was very reasonable - I think we paid $140 for two twin beds.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the Taj may be noisy as there is quite a bit of road noise.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LBSanFran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (2,013)
There are newer reviews for The Gateway Hotel, Agra
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,325 - 1,329 of 2,013 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2012

We spent two comfortable nights at The Gateway Hotel as a base for visiting the Taj Mahal and other sites in and around Agra. We were booked into a Taj view room, although a building across the street meant that our view was partially obscured. The hotel fronts on to a fairly major road - lorries, cars, motorbikes and camels are using it all day and night so our room was fairly noisy - ear plugs did the trick though and it was fun to watch everyday life taking place outside.
The welcome we received when we first arrived was very warm and friendly - in fact all the staff we met were lovely. One even packed us a bag of pastries from the breakfast buffet ready for our onward journey to Jaipur. The breakfast was very varied and delicious - the rosewater lassi was particularly good!
There was lots going on at all times - puppet shows, fortune tellers and stone carvers - all of which presented opportunities to spend money! As the hotel is located on a main road there are plenty of ATMs within close reach. The hotel has a whole arcade of shops selling everything from tea to pietre dure marble and the shopkeepers are very keen to help you buy more and more souvenirs!!
We ate in the Indian restaurant both nights and were able to sample Indian wine for the first time. The delicious and beautifully presented vegetarian Thali comes highly recommended!!

Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
Thank millyeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2012

This hotel is a good haven of peace in the chaotic city of Agra. After negotiating your way with hundreds of cows, camels and lorries on the road to Agra, it is very good to come to this relaxed - and rather old-fashioned - place.
The staff is very accommodating. Having read the reviews from fellow travellers of TripAdvisor, we were unwilling to accept the room they were proposing to us (a room facing the main road, hence very noisy, at least according to the reports we read). The lady who was showing us the room did not blink and immediately produced another room on the same floor, this time a room facing the pool and the manicured gardens of the hotel.
That was a good choice, as we did not hear any noise overnight.
The hotel restaurant is reasonably good, and we were very happy not to have to wait too long to be served - as it may happen in this country.
The hotel has an interesting - albeit a bit downmarket - shopping arcade. I would mention the bookshop - if you are prepared to wait until the owner decides to show up. But the wait is worth. I would advise you to chat him up, as he is a very cultivated man and can really give you good advice for your readings on India.
In the lobby you may meet a magician and a fortune teller! They seemed at ease with their roles, but - at least on the night we were there - they failed to attract a meaningful audience. That was a pity. Perhaps I should try them out next time...
Finally, I would tell that some rooms on the top floors room seem to have a view on the Taj Mahal. That may well be worth the extra-cost, even if I did not check on that.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MagisterRome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2012

Overall this hotel is very nice and sits in an excellent location. The property is well maintained and the staff does an excellent job. Note though that many of the so called "Taj View Rooms" have a view that is partially obstructed by a building across the street. Know too that during the "fog season" (December-February) the view can be nearly non-existent. If you have a Taj View room it will face the street below which starts getting noisy early.

Rooms; Large, bright and airy. Very clean. Flat screen TV with CNN and BBC. Nice sitting area near the front window. Very comfortable beds. In room safe and mini bar. Tiny bathroom. Shower but no bath. The bathroom has one very interesting feature; It has a roll up/down screen that allows you to either enjoy privacy from whoever else is staying in the room, or you can raise the shade and take a shower gazing out at the Taj Mahal. Rather decadent. No free in room wifi internet.

Breakfast: Great buffet. Eggs to order, cereals, fruits, and juices. A full array of eastern and western dishes plus several different bread platters. There's no starving here!

Restaurant; A bit pricy but excellent.

Staff: Helpful, friendly and well trained. Great job.

Room Tip: If you are wanting or paying for a Taj View Room be sure to choose rooms on the eastern side as thos...
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PaulChiangMai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2012

A comfortable hotel in a convenient location to see the main attraction the "Taj Mahal". This is not a high-end hotel, but it does a good job for a couple of nights at a fair price in Agra. The staff had a warm welcome, the food was good and as I am out all day it served my purpose well. Note that if you have a Taj view room, you also will have the noise from the street.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wonderfulworld5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Agra hotels
2.0 km away
Courtyard by Marriott Agra
0.4 km away
ITC Mughal, Agra
ITC Mughal, Agra
#13 of 142 in Agra
4,012 reviews
1.7 km away
Radisson Blu Agra Taj East Gate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Agra
1.2 km away
The Oberoi Amarvilas
2.0 km away
Trident, Agra
Trident, Agra
#2 of 142 in Agra
2,798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gateway Hotel, Agra? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gateway Hotel, Agra

Address: Fatehabad Road, Agra 282001, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra District > Agra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Agra
#5 Family Hotel in Agra
#6 Luxury Hotel in Agra
#7 Business Hotel in Agra
#7 Spa Hotel in Agra
Price Range: ₹ 4,998 - ₹ 9,866 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Gateway Hotel, Agra 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ABOUT THE GATEWAY HOTEL FATEHABAD ROAD AGRA: Set amidst six acres of landscaped gardens, The Gateway Hotel Fatehabad Road Agra offers an excellent view of The Taj Mahal from many of its rooms. GETTING THERE & AROUND:• 5 km from the railway station• 10 km from the airport• 3 km from The Taj Mahal. STAY:• 100 rooms including suites• Wi-Fi internet throughout the hotel• Television with cable/satellite channels• Electronic safe. Standard City/Pool View Rooms: Well-appointed rooms. Superior Taj View Rooms: With a mix of contemporary and Mughal design, these rooms offer an excellent view of the Taj Mahal. Executive Taj View Rooms: An elevated sitting area in these rooms on higher floors offers a breath-taking view of the Taj Mahal. Executive Suites: These have a private library, a DVD Player and a spectacular view of the Taj Mahal. HANGOUTGAD - All Day Dining: The all day dining restaurant serves Indian and International cuisine. Jhankar: For traditional Indian cuisine(19:30 till 23:30 hrs only) Saqui: For a fine selection of wines, spirits and cigars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, MakeMyTrip, Expedia, Hotels.com, Yatra, DerbySoftTaj, ClearTrip, HotelQuickly, Prestigia, HostelWorld and TravelGuru so you can book your The Gateway Hotel, Agra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gateway Hotel, Agra Hotel Agra
Gateway Hotel Agra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing