We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent facilty, outstanding service.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Oberoi Amarvilas
Ranked #1 of 143 Hotels in Agra
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 September 2012

It is an extraordinary , well kept facility with great views of the Taj Mahal.

The service was outstanding an the food was among the best.

The private balconies are great for relaxing. The pool area is superb coupled with well maintained gardens.

Room Tip: Choose floors above the third level with a balcony. They have a better view of the Taj Mahal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alejandro V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnkusMahajan, General Manager at The Oberoi Amarvilas, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your reviews on Trip advisor. I am delighted to read your review and gives me immense pleasure that the services exceeded your expectaion.

I am sharing your reviews with all members of the staff and we look forward to welcoming your back to the Oberoi Amarvilas.

Thank you
Ankush Mahajan
ankush.mahajan@oberoihotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (3,272)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,190 - 2,194 of 3,273 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2012

Lets be frank - this place is pricey, but worth it. As part of our honeymoon we decided to splash out on a single night of pure out and out luxuary. Despite staying for such a short period of time the staff knew our names, knew it was our honeymoon and went the extra few miles to make it an exceptional experience. You cannot beat the location and views - and the golf buggy ride to the Taj was wonderful (as was the drivers facial hair!). The spa was great, the rooms opulent and the experience everything you could wish for. I'd stay there again - if I had a small windfall from somewhere!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank funlovinchimp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnkusMahajan, General Manager at The Oberoi Amarvilas, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your reviews about your recent stay at The Oberoi Amarvilas. I am delighted to read that you thoroughly enjoyed the services at the resort and had a memorable stay.


I hope that our distinctive service will tempt you to return and stay at one of the many excellent Oberoi Hotels & Resorts in the future.

Thank you
Ankush Mahajan
ankush.mahajan@oberoihotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2012

The first and foremost USP of the hotel is the view which is so good that we did not feel the need to sit in the environs of the Taj Mahal and gaze at it for hours, rather we decided to do just that in the comfort of our room! Lunching and dining with the Taj Mahal in the back drop is an experience which no words can do enough justice in describing.

The staff at the hotel is extremely warm and discerning to the needs of their guests. The rooms are spacious, clean and luxurious by Indian standards.

The food is excellent and apart from the time one spends sightseeing in Agra there is no need to step put of the hotel. We were so pleased with the hotel that we cancelled our sightseeing plans to Fatekpur Sikri, Deeg and Bharatpur and decided to enjoy our room.

Also noteworthy is the spa. The therapists had good techniques and applied the right amount of pressure as per one's preference.

One can never get enough of the Taj Mahal and we would definitely come back to this hotel.

Room Tip: A room with a balcony recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mr_BPer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnkusMahajan, General Manager at The Oberoi Amarvilas, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2012

Dear Guest,

I am delighted to read that your expectations were mostly exceeded. Your feedback is appreciated as it enables us to constantly monitor and improve the care and service we endeavour to provide to our guests.

Thank you for taking out the time to write about us and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Thank you
Ankush Mahajan
ankush.mahajan@oberoihotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2012

Driving up to the Oberoi Amarvillas feels like you are arriving at a palace -- maybe something on your itinerary that you stop at and pose and take a few pictures of before moving along your way. But instead, you get to stay here, and what a wonderful experience that is. In fact, though many told us that Agra and its sights could be done in one day (and they can if you are on a fast-paced tour), we booked an extra night here to relax and enjoy time at the hotel and I'm very glad we did so.

The lobby is a cool breath of fresh air from the humid tropics outside (at least at the tail end of the monsoon season when we visited) and the rooms are very comfortable and well laid out. Most notably, every room has a view of the Taj Mahal. We didn't splurge for a room with a balcony though they looked nice (not sure how much we would have used it in such heat). The Premier room was fine for us.

The pool area was also fantastic, surrounded by beautiful gardens and terraces. As soon as we arrived, the pool staff offered to set up an umbrella and laid towels out of the chairs. And just before we left, they came by with delicious bites of mango ice cream. Those little extras go a long way! Speaking of extras, you also get your own butler to make sure your every need is met (i.e. we asked where we could get sunscreen and our butler brought some right to our room; we had an unfortunate bug in the room and within minutes, they were there, swatters in hand). Just really, really great service.

The food is excellent as well. We ate at Esphahan the first night. Live music played and the food was delicious. On a side note, I always like to try different restaurants, so we tried out Peshwari at the ITC hotel based on other reviews I'd seen - what a disappointment (and about the same cost as Esphahan). My advice - if you are staying here, just eat at the hotel. No need to venture out. Breakfast at the Bellevue was also good (a la carte hot items and cold buffet).

Definitely the place to stay in Agra!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunny77777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnkusMahajan, General Manager at The Oberoi Amarvilas, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2012

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at The Oberoi Amarvilas.

I am delighted to read that your expectations were exceeded. Your feedback is appreciated and will definitely pass on your compliments to the culinary team.

Positive recognition is a tremendous source of inspiration to our exemplary staff and I thank you for your kind comments.

We look forward to welcoming you to The Oberoi Amarvilas on your next visit to Agra.

Thank you
Ankush Mahajan
ankush.mahajan@oberoihotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2012

We had a very short, yet pleasant stay at this hotel. The service was excellent as well as the food.
The staff is extremely competent and friendly and nothing is too much to make your stay as pleasant as possible!
The pool is amazing, very adventurous for a 6 year old kid, she loved the "darker" part under the arches! The service at the pool is also very nice: you receive ice cold facial towels, cold water and sunscreen!
The rooms were very spacious and luxurious!!
Thank you for a great stay!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YsabelLebon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnkusMahajan, General Manager at The Oberoi Amarvilas, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at The Oberoi Amarvilas.

I am delighted to read that your expectations were mostly met or exceeded. Your feedback is appreciated as it enables us to constantly monitor and improve the care and service we endeavour to provide to our guests.

It has been my pleasure to convey your compliments to the team. Positive recognition is a tremendous source of inspiration to our exemplary staff and I thank you for your kind comments.

Thank you
Ankush Mahajan
ankush.mahajan@oberoihotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Agra hotels
1.7 km away
Courtyard by Marriott Agra
0.9 km away
ITC Mughal, Agra
ITC Mughal, Agra
#13 of 143 in Agra
4,179 reviews
1 km away
Radisson Blu Agra Taj East Gate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Agra
1.5 km away
Trident, Agra
Trident, Agra
#2 of 143 in Agra
2,881 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Taj Resorts
Hotel Taj Resorts
#18 of 143 in Agra
1,658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oberoi Amarvilas? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oberoi Amarvilas

Address: Taj East Gate, Agra 282001, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra District > Agra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Agra
#1 Luxury Hotel in Agra
#1 Spa Hotel in Agra
#1 Romantic Hotel in Agra
#1 Family Hotel in Agra
Price Range: ₹ 52,422 - ₹ 1,11,061 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oberoi Amarvilas 5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Taj Mahal is extraordinary as much for what it is as how it has escaped the banality of cliché. For 350 years, this monument evokes a sense of wonder. Only by being there can you witness its true majesty, its symmetry, its setting and the delicacy of its carved marble inlaid with precious stones. Now just suppose you were to overlook it from your hotel room? The Oberoi Amarvilas is 600 metres from this tribute to love. The lavish interiors and elaborate gardens add to the serenity of the scene. The guestrooms are palatial: all have magical views and are luxuriously furnished with traditional fabrics, white marble, hand-crafted ornaments and every modern amenity. There is a luxury spa offering a range of therapies, a swimming pool where snacks and drinks are served; an ornamented ballroom and fine restaurants to suit the international palate. But the lobby lounge is a feast for the eye designed, as it was, around that glorious view of the Taj Mahal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Prestigia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Yatra, ClearTrip, Booking.com and TravelGuru so you can book your The Oberoi Amarvilas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oberoi Amarvilas Hotel Agra
Oberoi Hotel Agra
Oberoi Agra
Agra Oberoi
Amarvilas Agra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing