We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous view but lacking atmosphere”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Oberoi Amarvilas
Ranked #1 of 144 Hotels in Agra
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 February 2012

The views of the Taj Mahal are probably why most people come to this hotel and rightly so, they are breathtaking. However, the hotel lacks a certain atmosphere. The service is there but it isn't very warm. Also, because all the rooms face in the same direction, there is very little privacy on the balconies, not only from your neighbouring rooms but on the ground floor (where we stayed), from the bar balcony as well.
We ate at the Indian restaurant, the food was delicious but again a lack of atmosphere made the restaurant feel like quite a sterile environment.
The swimming pool is a lovely spot.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LouiseF16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnkusMahajan, General Manager at The Oberoi Amarvilas, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at The Oberoi Amarvilas.

I am delighted to read that your expectations were mostly met or exceeded. Your feedback is appreciated and taken most seriously, as it enables us to constantly monitor and improve the care and service we endeavour to provide to our guests.

I am taking the liberty of sharing your feedback with all members of the team.

Thank you
Ankush Mahajan
ankush.mahajan@oberoihotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (3,181)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,268 - 2,272 of 3,181 reviews

Reviewed 11 February 2012

Stayed here long time ago in September 2007. The service was excellent and the rooms huge and impeccably maintained.

The two restaurants are phenomenal with superlative service. The bar area is relaxing and has great views. Do try the Indian restaurant- the food is authentic yet not heavy.

All rooms are good as they have uninterrupted views of the Taj. But do go in for the premier rooms with balcony. Sitting out during the evenings is a magical experience.

The spa suites too have a view of the Taj and a dedicated spa elevator.

Thank you for the most amazing holiday. Hope to return soon.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anirudhvb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnkusMahajan, General Manager at The Oberoi Amarvilas, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at The Oberoi Amarvilas.

I am delighted to read that your expectations were exceeded. I am happy to read that you enjoyed the restuarant service and ambience and the culinary skills of our Chef's.

I hope that our distinctive service will tempt you to return and stay at one of the many excellent Oberoi Hotels & Resorts in the future

Ankush Mahajan
ankush.mahajan@oberoihotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2012

Hard to fault in any way. Beautiful fountain approach, lovely gardens and pool. Clear views towards the Taj Mahal half a mile or so away. Great Indian restaurant. Good breakfast. Lovely room with balcony.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank astonman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnkusMahajan, General Manager at The Oberoi Amarvilas, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to complete our guest comment form on your recent stay at The Oberoi Amarvilas.

I am delighted to read that your expectations were exceeded. Your feedback is appreciated and taken most seriously, as it enables us to constantly monitor and improve the care and service we endeavour to provide to our guests.

Thank you
Ankush Mahajan
ankush.mahajan@oberoihotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2012

Food was great, rooms were superb, staff is tremendous. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aprusoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnkusMahajan, General Manager at The Oberoi Amarvilas, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comment on your recent stay at The Oberoi Amarvilas.

I am delighted to read that your expectations were exceeded. Your feedback is appreciated and taken most seriously, as it enables us to constantly monitor and improve the care and service we endeavour to provide to our guests.
I hope that our distinctive service will tempt you to return and stay at one of the many excellent Oberoi Hotels & Resorts in the future.

Thank you
Ankush Mahajan
ankush.mahajan@oberoihotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2012

A beautiful hotel with an excellent staff. In particular, the manager went "above and beyond" in helping us with some unusual requests. Room was excellent, including bathroom and amenities. If only they could get the WiFi working!!! They tried, even gave us some free hours, but more often than not the connection dropped. Also, for a hotel of this quality, WiFi should be complimentary. Otherwise a truly outstanding experience.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RSteveC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnkusMahajan, General Manager at The Oberoi Amarvilas, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking out time to post your reviews about us. I am delighted to read that you had a wonderful stay and enjoyed both the view and the services.

My apologies with regards to the internet and your feedback is appreciated and taken most seriously, as it enables us to constantly monitor and improve the care and service we endeavour to provide to our guests.

Thank you

Ankush Mahajan
ankush.mahajan@oberoihotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Agra hotels
1.7 km away
Courtyard by Marriott Agra
0.9 km away
ITC Mughal, Agra
ITC Mughal, Agra
#13 of 144 in Agra
4,076 reviews
1.0 km away
Radisson Blu Agra Taj East Gate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Agra
1.5 km away
Trident, Agra
Trident, Agra
#2 of 144 in Agra
2,830 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Taj Resorts
Hotel Taj Resorts
#17 of 144 in Agra
1,612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oberoi Amarvilas? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oberoi Amarvilas

Address: Taj East Gate, Agra 282001, India
Region: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra District > Agra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Agra
#1 Spa Hotel in Agra
#1 Luxury Hotel in Agra
#1 Family Hotel in Agra
#1 Business Hotel in Agra
Price Range: ₹ 56,884 - ₹ 1,14,746 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oberoi Amarvilas 5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Taj Mahal is extraordinary as much for what it is as how it has escaped the banality of cliché. For 350 years, this monument evokes a sense of wonder. Only by being there can you witness its true majesty, its symmetry, its setting and the delicacy of its carved marble inlaid with precious stones. Now just suppose you were to overlook it from your hotel room? The Oberoi Amarvilas is 600 metres from this tribute to love. The lavish interiors and elaborate gardens add to the serenity of the scene. The guestrooms are palatial: all have magical views and are luxuriously furnished with traditional fabrics, white marble, hand-crafted ornaments and every modern amenity. There is a luxury spa offering a range of therapies, a swimming pool where snacks and drinks are served; an ornamented ballroom and fine restaurants to suit the international palate. But the lobby lounge is a feast for the eye designed, as it was, around that glorious view of the Taj Mahal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, ClearTrip, MakeMyTrip, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Booking.com, Prestigia, Yatra and TravelGuru so you can book your The Oberoi Amarvilas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oberoi Amarvilas Hotel Agra
Oberoi Hotel Agra
Oberoi Agra
Agra Oberoi
Amarvilas Agra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing