We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Reasonable but Bad Buffet Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Retreat
Ranked #28 of 145 Hotels in Agra
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
90 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Reasonable but Bad Buffet Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2012

The hotel is located approximately 1-2km from the Taj Mahal. The hotel surrounding area is super bad, but u can find 1 saree shop just opposite your hotel. The main lobby is quite spacious and also the room. This is a new hotel. Please ensure you switch on the mosquito repellent once you get into the room. Try to have the buffet breakfast as early as it started otherwise, the food served will get rotten and hard to eat. The power outage happens again few times during my visit, i think this is due to power trip. Lobby, room, swimming pool and buffet area is fantastically clean.

Room Tip: Request a room other than at the ground floor so that you can see outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimmi Zarul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

710 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    197
    288
    147
    52
    26
See reviews for
209
229
45
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sanford, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

it is a newly renovated property, good wifi, tastefully decorated rooms, good service...breakfast however was below average.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gaya v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
121 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

Very new and smart hotel probably a good 2 star property situated on a side road but not far from the top attractions. Good spacious rooms,clean and well equipped but without much of a view. Pleasant little pool in the court yard.
Very friendly staff and a good restaurant on site.
Very good value choice.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

Calling a hotel situated in the middle of a busy city 'The Retreat' was a little odd and first impressions as we arrived was good. Spacious, bright, light and modern reception area, checking in was efficient and we were shown to the room. Again on first glance it was very modern and chic, but as we started to unpack there were a few concerns. The tap on the bathroom sink was loose and I was concerned that it may come away altogether. The flush system for the toilet was not finished properly and there were large gaps around the edges exposing the holes in the wall behind. The quality of workmanship in the bathroom was poor and looked amateurish and unprofessionally finished. There was no shower curtain or screen and when showering the water went over the sink and toilet. But the cracks in the tiling around the base of the shower were not sealed effectively and the water covered the floor completely and under the door to the bedroom, so we had to be very careful. As the evening went on the power went off more than 6 times in 3 hours for anything from 5 to 12 minutes, during which time no-one made any attempt to ensure the residents were OK. After a long journey getting to Agra we were in no state to argue about the quality of the room so we stayed in that room for the night. The bed was so comfortable and it was a quiet part of the hotel away from the busy road.
The following morning I felt that the quilt and some clothing felt damp and then the wall by the bed had a covering of dusty mould over it, and paint was pealing off the wall under the television. I noticed more poor workmanship on the flooring where edging had not been attached properly, the fixtures and fittings were not fitted correctly and on one piece of furniture the screws did not screw into the wall they were more for decoration. Debating whether or not to complain as we noticed on the way down to breakfast the walls along the corridor were also damp and evidence of repainting on some of the walls. It was clear that the hotel had a serious problem and to complain to change rooms may have only led to being placed in a room where it was noisy and maybe even more damp, so although we made the manager aware of our concerns we decided to stay in the room we had for one more night. The manager acknowledged the hotel had a problem stating that it was an architectural error and it is being dealt with. So before booking this hotel check that they have addressed all the decorative problems and that they have cleared the mould.
We don't usually have any problems with staff but we found the waiters to be invasive and would hold there hands out expectantly for tips. I didn't enjoy my stay at The Retreat and I would be reluctant to try it again, however, in fairness the manager is aware and he was confident that he would address the problems promptly.

Room Tip: Check the rooms have been dried out thoroughly and request a back room for quietness.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank witchypooSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

The Retreat was a splendid experience for us. We expected our hotel in Agra to be a bit shabby, seeing as it is quite a touristic place (no business hotels). We were proved wrong after arrival at the Retreat. The hotel is, for Indian standards, very good.

The room and bathroom were clean and in a good state.
The swimming pool was very nice and calm
The staff at the hotel were very pragmatic, and we even sometimes had complementary drinks and free internet (only hotel in India where this happened)

Another great advantage to this hotel, is that it is only 1 minute away from the Taj Mahal and on walking distance to the shopping mall of Agra.

If you're looking for an up-scale hotel in Agra, I would recommend this.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Agra hotels
0.7 km away
Hotel Taj Resorts
Hotel Taj Resorts
#16 of 145 in Agra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,493 reviews
0.8 km away
Taj Villa
Taj Villa
#31 of 145 in Agra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel Atulyaa Taj
Hotel Atulyaa Taj
#20 of 145 in Agra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Hotel The Taj Vilas
Hotel The Taj Vilas
#18 of 145 in Agra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
1.6 km away
Hotel Seven Hills Tower
1.8 km away
Howard Plaza The Fern Agra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Retreat? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Retreat

Property: The Retreat
Address: Taj Nagari Phase -1 | Near Prateek Enclave, Shilpgram Road, Agra 282 001, India
Region: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 145 Hotels in Agra
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,262 - ₹ 3,878
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Retreat 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HotelQuickly, ClearTrip, Agoda and Yatra so you can book your The Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing