We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Retreat
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (833)
Filter reviews
833 results
Traveller rating
237
334
166
61
35
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
237
334
166
61
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstaj mahalswimming poolnice hotelrooms are spaciousred forthotel is locatedcomfortable stayhot waterrestaurant staffstayed here for one nightagra fortindiasharmakmoperativeproximityambience
Filter
Updating list...
647 - 652 of 833 reviews
Reviewed 23 April 2012

it is a newly renovated property, good wifi, tastefully decorated rooms, good service...breakfast however was below average.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gaya v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RetreatAgra, Director of Sales at The Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2017

Dear Guest,

Greetings of the day from team - The Retreat !!!

We are extremely delighted to note that you had a great experience during your recent stay at The Retreat. We are glad to acknowledge that you liked our property, swimming pool, food However; your elaborate feedback & positive comments are the source of motivation to the team for the services provided, which we are confident to take up to the next level. We value your patronage and looking forward in welcoming you, your family & friends to re-live an enjoyable and memorable experience.

Regards

The Retreat Team!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Very new and smart hotel probably a good 2 star property situated on a side road but not far from the top attractions. Good spacious rooms,clean and well equipped but without much of a view. Pleasant little pool in the court yard.
Very friendly staff and a good restaurant on site.
Very good value choice.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RetreatAgra, Director of Sales at The Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2017

Dear Steggs,

Greetings of the day from team - The Retreat !!!

We are extremely delighted to note that you had a great experience during your recent stay at The Retreat. We are glad to acknowledge that you liked our property, swimming pool, food However; your elaborate feedback & positive comments are the source of motivation to the team for the services provided, which we are confident to take up to the next level. We value your patronage and looking forward in welcoming you, your family & friends to re-live an enjoyable and memorable experience.

Regards

The Retreat Team!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

Calling a hotel situated in the middle of a busy city 'The Retreat' was a little odd and first impressions as we arrived was good. Spacious, bright, light and modern reception area, checking in was efficient and we were shown to the room. Again on first glance it was very modern and chic, but as we started to unpack there were a few concerns. The tap on the bathroom sink was loose and I was concerned that it may come away altogether. The flush system for the toilet was not finished properly and there were large gaps around the edges exposing the holes in the wall behind. The quality of workmanship in the bathroom was poor and looked amateurish and unprofessionally finished. There was no shower curtain or screen and when showering the water went over the sink and toilet. But the cracks in the tiling around the base of the shower were not sealed effectively and the water covered the floor completely and under the door to the bedroom, so we had to be very careful. As the evening went on the power went off more than 6 times in 3 hours for anything from 5 to 12 minutes, during which time no-one made any attempt to ensure the residents were OK. After a long journey getting to Agra we were in no state to argue about the quality of the room so we stayed in that room for the night. The bed was so comfortable and it was a quiet part of the hotel away from the busy road.
The following morning I felt that the quilt and some clothing felt damp and then the wall by the bed had a covering of dusty mould over it, and paint was pealing off the wall under the television. I noticed more poor workmanship on the flooring where edging had not been attached properly, the fixtures and fittings were not fitted correctly and on one piece of furniture the screws did not screw into the wall they were more for decoration. Debating whether or not to complain as we noticed on the way down to breakfast the walls along the corridor were also damp and evidence of repainting on some of the walls. It was clear that the hotel had a serious problem and to complain to change rooms may have only led to being placed in a room where it was noisy and maybe even more damp, so although we made the manager aware of our concerns we decided to stay in the room we had for one more night. The manager acknowledged the hotel had a problem stating that it was an architectural error and it is being dealt with. So before booking this hotel check that they have addressed all the decorative problems and that they have cleared the mould.
We don't usually have any problems with staff but we found the waiters to be invasive and would hold there hands out expectantly for tips. I didn't enjoy my stay at The Retreat and I would be reluctant to try it again, however, in fairness the manager is aware and he was confident that he would address the problems promptly.

Room Tip: Check the rooms have been dried out thoroughly and request a back room for quietness.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank WitchypooCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RetreatAgra, Director of Sales at The Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2017

Dear Guest,

Greetings of the day from team - The Retreat !!!

We are extremely sad & disheartened to acknowledge that you had a not-so-great experience during your recent stay at The Retreat Hotel. We thank you for your feedback and have made a note of the displeasure caused . But we assure you that we will leave no stone un-turned to ensure that all the guests who stay with us leave the hotel with pleasant memories to share back home. We value your patronage and looking forward in welcoming you, your family & friends again for a memorable experience.

Wishing you & your family a pleasant & healthy life ahead !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

The Retreat was a splendid experience for us. We expected our hotel in Agra to be a bit shabby, seeing as it is quite a touristic place (no business hotels). We were proved wrong after arrival at the Retreat. The hotel is, for Indian standards, very good.

The room and bathroom were clean and in a good state.
The swimming pool was very nice and calm
The staff at the hotel were very pragmatic, and we even sometimes had complementary drinks and free internet (only hotel in India where this happened)

Another great advantage to this hotel, is that it is only 1 minute away from the Taj Mahal and on walking distance to the shopping mall of Agra.

If you're looking for an up-scale hotel in Agra, I would recommend this.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RetreatAgra, Director of Sales at The Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2017

Dear Guest,

Greetings of the day from team - The Retreat !!!

We are extremely delighted to note that you had a great experience during your recent stay at The Retreat. We are glad to acknowledge that you liked our property, swimming pool, food However; your elaborate feedback & positive comments are the source of motivation to the team for the services provided, which we are confident to take up to the next level. We value your patronage and looking forward in welcoming you, your family & friends to re-live an enjoyable and memorable experience.

Regards

The Retreat Team!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

The hotel is newly renovated. It was clean and new which were the main reasons I chose the hotel. The location is quite far from Taj Mahal which is the main attraction of this city. It was actually in the walking distance if it was not that hot and dusty. Wifi was good though disconnected after 2 hours. Hair dryer is available upon request. Staff was great.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paega
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RetreatAgra, Director of Sales at The Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2017

Dear Guest,

Greetings of the day from team - The Retreat !!!

We are extremely delighted to note that you had a great experience during your recent stay at The Retreat. We are glad to acknowledge that you liked our property, swimming pool, food However; your elaborate feedback & positive comments are the source of motivation to the team for the services provided, which we are confident to take up to the next level. We value your patronage and looking forward in welcoming you, your family & friends to re-live an enjoyable and memorable experience.

Regards

The Retreat Team!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews