We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just ok”
Review of Hotel Taj Resorts

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Taj Resorts
Ranked #17 of 142 Hotels in Agra
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 June 2012 via mobile

My stay here was just ok the positives were the staff was very helpful n friendly can't fault them at all! Also the food was delicious we ate there all 3 nights we were there. The pool was great very refreshing n nice view of taj from the roof top. The room was nice though a bit dusty which aggravated my asthma a little but still pretty good.
Now the negatives the wifi in the room was shocking even though modem was outside our door the only way we could get it in our rooms was if we put our pc on the floor n still it dropped but they still had a pc downstairs n the wifi was fine in the lobby. There were severals blackouts during our stay which only lasted a few minutes each time but still annoying.
The tv channels would change random ud be in the middle of watching a movie n the channel would disappear then come back up on a different show but u were still on the same channel u had to flick through all the channels to find what u were watching which was very frustrating cuz it happened alot n twice right at an exciting bit of a movie lol
The one day we decided to get up at 4.30am to watch the sunrise at the taj mahal we got back at lunch n wanted a nap which didn't happen cuz they were doing construction work so we watched a movie n we had another blackout so as u can tell some parts of our stay weren't the greatest. But like I said there were some positives n the negatives brought our rating down. Overall it was good n the staff were great.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AussieW0rldExpl0rers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,586)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Taj Resorts
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,162 - 1,166 of 1,586 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2012

Positives: All of the aspects were great. staff were excellent. It was so quite and peaceful. I didn't use its restaurant but there were a lot of people using it. It has safe box in room. it has pool free for guests. near Taj mahal (5 min walk) and near the main ticket office of Taj mahal (1min walk). the most clean hotel I've ever seen in my 12 days trip in India.It has refrigerator,and tea/coffee maker. we got a standard room for 3000 rupees per night.
Negative: nothing I could find.
Overall: Don,t hesitate to make a reservation in advance.

Room Tip: This hotel is the only one with a reasonable price in the whole area so it will be full thus book a...
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Armin1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2012

This hotel is very close to the Taj Mahal...that is the nicest thing I can say about the facility. The rooms were small & the air conditioning didn't function properly among other things in the hotel. I TRIED to utilize the room safe, not even the hotel staff could get the safe to work, there were 4 different employees that came to the room in an attempt to un-do what the first worker had done, somehow he entered the sequence to reset & enter a private code so that I could use the safe...that is as far as it ever got, they had keys & instructions - never got it to a functional state. Aside from that small detail the staff was very nice & helpful, however, for a hotel you could barely fit into the elevator with baggage, my wife, son & myself had to take the stairs while the bell hop rode with two bags in the elevator. Not a big deal, one would think that a HOTEL would have a functional elevator, this was something that forced you to use the steps many times - you go to use the elevator & some with baggage was occupying the elevator car...after two or three stops & the car being full of other occupants or luggage & a bell hop we would just take the stairs. Breakfast was included, the fresh fruit was good, other than that I cannot say much for the selection, juice was delicious. The "view" from the rooftop was less than breath-taking - you could see part of the taj mahal from the roof, nothing to send your imagination running & create excitement. The roof-top pool was refreshing, but again was just nothing to write home about, it was more of a really large tub. There were drunken kids there running about that the staff had pretend to close the pool around 9PM in an effort to move their party somewhere else. Instead of cutting them off from alcohol & smoking they "faked" a pool closing - quite unprofessional, I say control the atmosphere, don't have "fake closings" in an effort to create a more suitable atmosphere. Again, the staff was very nice & very helpful...it was just not a nice hotel, my bathroom...the shower had a curtain rod & rings to hang a shower curtain...there WAS NOT A SHOWER CURTAIN AVAILABLE, there were two towels - it looked as though they have been in use since the Taj Mahal was built. Our room was below street level & you could hear traffic & people outside as they passed by the small non-scenic window in the room...probably couldn't even be used as an exit in the event of a fire!!! I would give this place a worse rating, but it if I did I don't think it would justify my TERRIBLE rating of the Arya Niwas hotel in Jaipur.

Room Tip: There is a hotel across the street...heard it was 5 star...obviously the cost won't compare betw...
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RSMITH416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2012

Pros: Super close to the Taj. Modern amenities. Nice rooftop pool. Yes, you CAN see the Taj from the rooftop, albeit it is small and half of it is obscured by trees. Quick check in and check out. Good breakfast buffet (Indian food was better than the Western selection). Dinner on rooftop restaurant was good. Musicians perform while you eat. Great service by staff although as stated by previous reviewers, they do seem overly eager for tips. Great wifi in our room. Buying tickets at reception for the Taj means you can get in early for sunrise without having the chore of buying tickets first.

Cons: Room 102 stank really bad and we changed rooms to 101 which did not have the same stench. The biggest downside was the shower. In 4 months of travel, this was THE WORST shower we came across. It was a trickle of lukewarm water. Not just zero water pressure, but a LACK of water altogether. Sheets were very dirty and stained. I agree with other reviewers that the little boy dancing in the lobby at night is kinda creepy and unnecessary. It's just awkward.

Overall, after driving through other parts of town, I would say this is the best location. Agra is a really ugly city. This hotel gives you a small reprieve from it all.

Room Tip: Room 101 was fine. It's on the lobby floor. No problems with noise while we were there.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank vancity8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2012

Clean and quiet hotel; helpful and friendly staff; great location, nice room and we even had a little view of the Taj (If you pressed yourself against the wall next to the window).

Pool was lovely after an exhausting (but rewarding!) day at Agra sights. The location was perfect. After a few rather poor experiences in India, we found that this place was really worth the money. Sleep quality was great - We had our room right next to the restaurant with live music and didn't hear a thing!

The rooftop restaurants food was bad though, one of our worst food experiences in India. And water pressure in the shower was poor.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Iskari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Agra hotels
1.6 km away
Courtyard by Marriott Agra
0.8 km away
Radisson Blu Agra Taj East Gate
1.5 km away
Howard Plaza The Fern Agra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Hotel Atulyaa Taj
Hotel Atulyaa Taj
#18 of 142 in Agra
638 reviews
1.8 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Agra
0.2 km away
The Oberoi Amarvilas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Taj Resorts? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Taj Resorts

Address: Taj East Gate Road | Eastern gate of Taj Mahal, near Shilpgram, Tajganj, Agra 282001, India
Region: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra District > Agra
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Agra
#9 Business Hotel in Agra
#13 Luxury Hotel in Agra
Price Range: ₹ 2,077 - ₹ 6,296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Taj Resorts 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just located 550 meters from Taj mahal at Walking distance. 3 Star luxury hotel 34 centrally air conditioned rooms with modern interior design,a multi-cuisine restaurant(Bon-appetit), roof top swimming pool with the great of taj,rooftop restaurant with live music and two banquet hall of (250-300pax) capacity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ClearTrip, MakeMyTrip, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Djubo and TravelGuru so you can book your Hotel Taj Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Taj Agra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing