We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Everyone visiting India should stay here” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Palmstay

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Agra
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Palmstay
Ranked #39 of 184 Agra B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Everyone visiting India should stay here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2012

They say you get what you pay for well, Palmstay is a budget accomodation clean and tidy. The biggest selling point is Varun and his family. They make you very welcome and nothing is too much trouble. He gave us so much information on where to go what to do and all the secrets to having a safe stay in India.
The Indian breakfast is cooked by Mum and they are super, plus lots of fruit and eggs as you like them.

We only stayed two nights as we had planned to see the Taj and then go back south. If we had know how good it was at Palm stay we would have stayed longer.

Varun use to work for Microsoft Soft so he has a Wifi in room service that is on par with anything in Europe.

The Palmstay is suffering at present as it is surrounded by new construction work. Please don't let this put of anyone this is tempory and did not affect us at all. No noise at all from the construction. It's just untidy out side. But this is progress for the area.

If you vist Varun and his family the memory will stay with you a lifetime and Varun and his families kindest.

We will return and keep in contact, only two days but think we made a great friend.

Room Tip: It's clean functional, but the value is in the superb service and welcome, you become one of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cliveparkc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    31
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
44
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012 via mobile

Simple, clean and in a quiet location a short walk from the East Gate of the Taj. What really makes this place unique though is the hosts. Varun and family are absolutely charming, friendly and informative and there's seemingly no end to their hospitality. A shame we were only there for the one night really, but I cannot recommend them highly enough as a place to stay when visiting Agra.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank jjpercival
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

Rooms, facilities and cleanliness are good. The local area is quiet, secure and within walking distance of the Taj Mahal. The dining area is currently limited to sofas and tables on a landing, with adjacent kitchenette with fridge and microwave available for guest use. When booked, main meals are served from the family kitchen below and the standard is very good. Varun and family were most welcoming, flexible, friendly and informative hosts - always present for a chat and advice at mealtimes. Taxis with English speaking drivers were arranged at fair and pre-agreed rates. The limitations are reflected in the competitive pricing of this excellent base for exploring Agra and its surroundings. (British retired couple mid-sixties).

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

I agree with another reviewer who said that Varun and his family made us feel we were visiting friends rather than staying at a hotel. We stayed for two nights and met all of the family frequently. Varun used to come upstairs (where the guest rooms are) and have a chat with us. He gave us countless pieces of advice and very candid opinions on where to go and what to skip. We felt comfortable and safe here - and like someone said, it really is a bargain: basic, but very clean and with wifi & satellite TV.
The location is quite good if it's the Taj Mahal you're in Agra for - the ticket office is a short walk or autorickshaw ride away.

Mukava paikka Agrassa, todellakin hintansa arvoinen. Ei luksusta, mutta kaikki perusasiat kunnossa. Tuntuu visiitiltä jonkun kotona, sillä Varun ja hänen perheensä ovat ilmeisen mielellään tekemisissä vieraiden kanssa. Varunilta saimme mm. lukemattomia ehdotuksia matkakohteista Intiassa ja tavoista päästä niihin - sekä myös ravintolasuosituksia.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ImmerEssen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

The family that run this place are very nice people. The owner was extremely helpful in sorting my agenda out with me in the short time that i had in Agra. He even lent me his laptop. The bnb is handy for the Taj Mahal so you can get up and be at the east gate for 6.00am to avoid the queues. Its quite, secure and clean. I recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank northernsole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Agra hotels
0.0 km away
Courtyard Agra
Courtyard Agra
#3 of 142 in Agra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 930 reviews
0.0 km away
The Oberoi Amarvilas
0.0 km away
ITC Mughal, Agra
ITC Mughal, Agra
#7 of 142 in Agra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Hotel Taj Resorts
Hotel Taj Resorts
#13 of 142 in Agra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,367 reviews
0.0 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Agra
0.0 km away
Hotel Sidhartha
Hotel Sidhartha
#26 of 142 in Agra
3.5 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palmstay? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palmstay

Property: Palmstay
Address: 23 Taj Nagri Vip Road | Fatehabad Rd, Behind TDI Mall, Agra 282001, India
Region: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 184 B&Bs / Inns in Agra
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing