We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Definitely choose this over any other place in Agra if you're not looking for a 5-star posh hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Palmstay

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Agra
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Palmstay
Ranked #43 of 192 Agra B&B and Inns
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Definitely choose this over any other place in Agra if you're not looking for a 5-star posh hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

I agree with another reviewer who said that Varun and his family made us feel we were visiting friends rather than staying at a hotel. We stayed for two nights and met all of the family frequently. Varun used to come upstairs (where the guest rooms are) and have a chat with us. He gave us countless pieces of advice and very candid opinions on where to go and what to skip. We felt comfortable and safe here - and like someone said, it really is a bargain: basic, but very clean and with wifi & satellite TV.
The location is quite good if it's the Taj Mahal you're in Agra for - the ticket office is a short walk or autorickshaw ride away.

Mukava paikka Agrassa, todellakin hintansa arvoinen. Ei luksusta, mutta kaikki perusasiat kunnossa. Tuntuu visiitiltä jonkun kotona, sillä Varun ja hänen perheensä ovat ilmeisen mielellään tekemisissä vieraiden kanssa. Varunilta saimme mm. lukemattomia ehdotuksia matkakohteista Intiassa ja tavoista päästä niihin - sekä myös ravintolasuosituksia.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ImmerEssen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    31
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
44
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

The family that run this place are very nice people. The owner was extremely helpful in sorting my agenda out with me in the short time that i had in Agra. He even lent me his laptop. The bnb is handy for the Taj Mahal so you can get up and be at the east gate for 6.00am to avoid the queues. Its quite, secure and clean. I recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank northernsole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

Varun and his wonderful family made us feel that we were visiting friends instead of staying at a hotel. When we arrived, Varun and his wife sat with us and chatted over tea. We then went shopping together with his mother (when we returned, Varun's very cute little boy asked "what did you buy?!"). They helped us not only with our Agra trip but gave us great advice for Delhi as well. While we were with them, we constantly forgot we were "just" tourists.

Our room was spacious and clean (their online photos are quite accurate, except the actual rooms felt bigger and brighter). The bathroom and shower worked fine. For the rate we paid this was really a bargain!

Restaurant tip: the chicken malai tikka at Pinch of Spice recommended by Varun was the best dish I had on my India trip.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rabbitova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level Contributor
182 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

The family at Palmstay is simply lovely! Varun is very helpful and his mother made us a lovely breakfast. Our room was very comfortable, and the bathroom was great. Among Indian cities, Agra is one of the least pleasant, so we particularly appreciated the warm welcome. If I could suggest an improvement, it would be to find some better drivers. The fellow who met us at the train station was indignant that I hadn't answered his call (I didn't hear the phone ring), and his 'uncle' who drove us was perhaps the worst driver we encountered during 7 weeks in India. The driver who next took us to Bharatpur and Fatehpur Sikri spoke very, very little English.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OutdoorsAdventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

We had a great stay at Palmstay - just one night, but two full days (indeed, we got great value, given our early morning arrival the first day and late afternoon departure the second). Varun and his family are very hospitable, helpful, and laid back in the best possible way. Breakfast was delicious; and we were steered to a terrific restaurant in town for lunch one of the days. Varun helped us plan our outings, including a very helpful map, and a driver connection for our main day of touring. We appreciated being out of the fray of Agra in a relatively quiet neighborhood - that's still quite close to the Taj and Agra Fort and markets. Finally, we were so grateful to be given a place to rest at the end of our second day, after we'd formally checked out of our room - we truly felt like we were guests in Varun's home.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarahgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Agra hotels
0.3 km away
Courtyard Agra
Courtyard Agra
#3 of 146 in Agra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,151 reviews
1.5 km away
The Oberoi Amarvilas
1.6 km away
ITC Mughal, Agra
ITC Mughal, Agra
#11 of 146 in Agra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Radisson Blu Agra Taj East Gate
1.2 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Agra
2.3 km away
Hotel Sidhartha
Hotel Sidhartha
#29 of 146 in Agra
3.5 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palmstay? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palmstay

Property: Palmstay
Address: 23 Taj Nagri Vip Road | Fatehabad Rd, Behind TDI Mall, Agra 282001, India
Region: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 192 B&Bs / Inns in Agra
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing