We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maybe not a true picture....”
Review of Hotel Shahjahan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Shahjahan
Ranked #78 of 197 Agra B&B and Inns
Ohio
Level Contributor
596 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 350 helpful votes
“Maybe not a true picture....”
Reviewed 10 July 2011

This review is probably biased. We came here after having a booking at hotel sidartha - which I refused to stay at. We were shown the huge room with the round bed - 1500 rupees per night - and took it. Overall, the Taj Gang area is not an area I would recommend staying. Very gross, very dirty. There was no cleaning of the rooms - there were ants and cockroaches - but I think that would happen everywhere in Taj Gang. The restaurant upstairs had a great view and great food. We ate here several times and really enjoyed it.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brandasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

53 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    8
    21
    5
    12
See reviews for
3
18
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2011

Bathroom never worked and room just didn´t seem like it was cleaned. Yes, very inexpensive, but just like everywhere around Agra, very dirty!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mkereste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Agra hotels

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2011

This is a really nice place with lot's of different room options to fit a variety of budgets. We went for one of the smaller rooms and it only cost us Rs250 a night, However we saw one massive room with a big circular bed if you can afford it. The whole place was fairly clean, but not quite spotless.

The staff were all very friendly, especially the chef, who will come and talk to you readily about all manner of things. The restaurant is quite good with a great view of the Taj, and they also have their own internet cafe, and they were very helpful when it came to booking a taxi for some silly time in the morning so we could get our taxi.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AmesNick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
103 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2010

We paid Rs 400 for 3 ppl sharing a large double room, with a very thin “mattress” on the floor for the 3rd person. Attached toilet and cold shower – they gave us a heating element to heat up buckets of hot water. There was a roof restaurant and seating area but we didn't eat there.

We experienced regular power cuts, but they appeared to affect all of the hotels and restaurants in the area. The staff were generally pretty quick to put the generator on which meant that our fan worked most of the time, albeit more slowly than we would have liked when powered by the generator.

The staff were ok – they didn’t bend over backwards to be helpful, but we didn’t have any particular problems with them.

Good location – 5 minutes walk to the West Gate of the Taj Mahal so we were easily able to get there just after dawn, before the crowds arrived. You can also walk to Agra Fort from the hotel - it took us about an hour.

Just a word of caution – my husband and I became ill after eating at the nearby Saniya Palace Hotel. Of course, this could just be a coincidence.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EmmaM2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Agra hotels
0.5 km away
Saniya Palace Inn
Saniya Palace Inn
#90 of 145 in Agra
580 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Kamal
Hotel Kamal
#83 of 145 in Agra
375 reviews
1.2 km away
Hotel Rashmi
Hotel Rashmi
#40 of 145 in Agra
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Hotel Sidhartha
Hotel Sidhartha
#29 of 145 in Agra
474 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Sheela
Hotel Sheela
#68 of 145 in Agra
559 reviews
0.7 km away
Lucky Restaurant & Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Shahjahan? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Shahjahan

Property: Hotel Shahjahan
Address: Taj Mahal Road, Agra 282001, India
Region: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra District > Agra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 197 B&Bs / Inns in Agra
Price range (per night): ₹ 840 - ₹ 970
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Shahjahan 1*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelGuru so you can book your Hotel Shahjahan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing