We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great stay with an amazing family” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Heritage Homestay

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Agra
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Heritage Homestay
Ranked #20 of 191 Agra B&B and Inns
1 review
“Great stay with an amazing family”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2012 via mobile

Had a great stay with the Singh family. Amazing welcome, food, advise, and an insight into an iNdian family's life. Will remember my stay here for a long time. Great to stay in a place with kids running around too. Great value for money. Highly recommend this place to all types of trqvellers, families, backpacker, kids, old folks. Felt very at home here. Felt very sad leaving. Stayed three nights and wanted more, but had to move on. Thank you Singhs.

Stayed August 2012
Helpful?
Thank chris f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

277 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    206
    52
    10
    7
    2
See reviews for
36
144
24
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2012

We recently spent two nights at this quiet homestay. We liked the location of the house and its relaxing garden. We especially enjoyed the opportunity of getting in contact with an authentic Indian family, spending some time with them and listening their views and stories about Indian culture was certainly one of the highlights of our trip! We also had dinner there and the food was very delicious!!
The room was spacious and nice. Only little problem we had was with the air conditioning and shortages of electricity at night... this is a common problem in India so if you travel in the hottest months (which I absolutely do not recommend after our experience), you will probably have some nights of not very good sleep...
Apart from this, I strongly recommend this homestay, not just for the quality of the accommodation, but also for the value of the experience and the friendly family!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank francesca g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redmond, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2012

We stayed here only one night while stopping over to see the Taj Mahal and Agra Fort. Mr. Singh and his family were very welcoming and gracious. The food was very good and the surroundings very homey and comfortable. I would have liked to stay here for a few days. The house itself was away from the noise of the city and they had a very lovely peacock that wandered around. I would highly recommend staying here if you want something a little more laid back and quiet.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012 via mobile

What a great place to stay! It's a very traditional Indian house, all the family lives there so my boyfriend and I were able to see their routine.
We arrived in the afternoon, very welcomed from the family. We went to our room, rested for a bit and came down to have dinner. Great food, best Dal ever!!
The owner is really lovely, showed us his daughter's arrangement wedding pictures, very beautiful. We promise to come back once we get married, or maybe get married in his backyard, just like his daughter. Ah, he was calling me daughter all the time. So sweet!
One more nice thing was the tuk-tuk driver they called for us, Rama. Such a good driver, no horn, very lovely and funny. Showed us the city, very patient, and really nice company. You can find us on his notebook :)

Cheers from Fabi (Brazil) and Billy ( Canada)

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ftonelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Udaipur
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012 via mobile

I stayed here for three nights with a friend on a trip round northern India. Arriving on a train very early in the morning we were greeted by Mr Singhs son and daughter in law.
The bedroom and bathroom were clean and comfortable. The breakfasts and dinners were plentiful and delicious.
The most important point is that the family were lovely. Mr Singh genuinely treated us as welcome guests in his home and could not have been more helpful. We chatted about everything - Agra, Taj Mahal, Sikhism and he was very helpful to us with local information and went out of his way to help us secure wonderful souvenirs.
We were made to feel very welcome and and our stay as a result was very relaxing.
The homestays is in the cantonment area of the city and is in a peaceful street but is close to the major sites.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Alyson F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Agra hotels
0.0 km away
The Grand Imperial, Agra
0.0 km away
The Oberoi Amarvilas
0.0 km away
Courtyard Agra
Courtyard Agra
#3 of 146 in Agra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Hotel Taj Resorts
Hotel Taj Resorts
#14 of 146 in Agra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,433 reviews
0.0 km away
Trident, Agra
Trident, Agra
#2 of 146 in Agra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,524 reviews
0.0 km away
Aman Homestay
Aman Homestay
#1 of 191 in Agra
5.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage Homestay? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Homestay

Property: Heritage Homestay
Address: 52A,Gaugh Road,Behind Hotel Clarks Shiraz, Agra 282001, India
Region: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 191 B&Bs / Inns in Agra
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family run home stay with 4 generations living in a turn-of-the century British heritage home. Breakfast is included and additional meals can happily be provided on request. Surrounded by gardens, we provide clean and comfortable rooms with a relaxing, pollution-free atmosphere. We are located near Clarks Shiraz Hotel and 2 km from the Taj Mahal, Red Fort and market; close enough for easy access, but far away from the noise and crowds. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Heritage Homestay Hotel Agra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing