We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Family atmosphere” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Heritage Homestay

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Agra
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Heritage Homestay
Ranked #14 of 184 Agra B&B and Inns
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Family atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012 via mobile

What a great place to stay! It's a very traditional Indian house, all the family lives there so my boyfriend and I were able to see their routine.
We arrived in the afternoon, very welcomed from the family. We went to our room, rested for a bit and came down to have dinner. Great food, best Dal ever!!
The owner is really lovely, showed us his daughter's arrangement wedding pictures, very beautiful. We promise to come back once we get married, or maybe get married in his backyard, just like his daughter. Ah, he was calling me daughter all the time. So sweet!
One more nice thing was the tuk-tuk driver they called for us, Rama. Such a good driver, no horn, very lovely and funny. Showed us the city, very patient, and really nice company. You can find us on his notebook :)

Cheers from Fabi (Brazil) and Billy ( Canada)

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ftonelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

277 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    206
    52
    10
    7
    2
See reviews for
36
144
24
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Udaipur
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012 via mobile

I stayed here for three nights with a friend on a trip round northern India. Arriving on a train very early in the morning we were greeted by Mr Singhs son and daughter in law.
The bedroom and bathroom were clean and comfortable. The breakfasts and dinners were plentiful and delicious.
The most important point is that the family were lovely. Mr Singh genuinely treated us as welcome guests in his home and could not have been more helpful. We chatted about everything - Agra, Taj Mahal, Sikhism and he was very helpful to us with local information and went out of his way to help us secure wonderful souvenirs.
We were made to feel very welcome and and our stay as a result was very relaxing.
The homestays is in the cantonment area of the city and is in a peaceful street but is close to the major sites.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Alyson F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaky1982
Level Contributor
42 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

We stayed with the Singh's in October 2011 and really enjoyed it. The family were very welcoming and spent time chatting with us and explaining Indian culture - we even got to see their daughter's wedding pictures! The food was also really good - homecooked Indian. Far enough from the centre of Agra that you didn't get the noise but close enough to get in and out quickly and easily.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sophie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

This is very basic accommodation. The rooms lack ambience with furnishings, bedding and linen of poor quality. There were no toiletries and the family do not have a hair dryer to loan. Plastic table and chairs in the room doesn't help. Breakfast was dry toast, jam, eggs and a fruit box. We were not offered the option of Indian food, which we would have preferred, and we were not offered other meals and so we ate elsewhere. The family were friendly when we left however I felt they could have been more welcoming on arrival. We were only shown our room and the breakfast table and told we could walk around the garden. I know they had family staying and so maybe they were just too busy. While as one reviewer noted it feels a bit like it is in the middle of nowhere it is is close to Clarks Hotel just a short distance away for a meal (excellent) and we also walked there to use their swimming pool (also very good, includes towels and shower for $A10).

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WOLVEY UK
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

Lovely large basic rooms with very friendly and accomodating Singh family. Overnight train was 1.5 hours late but only needed a call on arrival and we were picked up. Extra breakfast very welcomed and happy for us to crash out to get some rest. Trips to the Agra fort, Baby Taj all arranged through the family with lovely driver. He was determined to get us to the far side of the Taj Mahal to see it at dusk hence a dash across Agra which is an experience in itself! Decided sunrise over Taj Mahal too early so got there as suggested about 7.30 so missed queues etc. Driver again excellent. Lovely to sit with Mr Singh Senior for explanation of Sikh history and traditions. Far better than smiling hotel staff with large hands. Breakfasts very good but we didn't have evening meals which others have said really good but tummies delicate at the time. Definitely recommend this for your stay in Agra. Probably two nights ample to see key sights for Agra. Many thanks for the experience with the whole family..

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thepits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Agra hotels
0.0 km away
Hotel Taj Resorts
Hotel Taj Resorts
#12 of 142 in Agra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,368 reviews
0.0 km away
The Grand Imperial, Agra
0.0 km away
Courtyard Agra
Courtyard Agra
#3 of 142 in Agra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
PL Palace Lords Inn Agra
0.0 km away
Aman Homestay
Aman Homestay
#2 of 184 in Agra
5.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
0.0 km away
Bansi Home Stay
Bansi Home Stay
#4 of 184 in Agra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage Homestay? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Homestay

Property: Heritage Homestay
Address: 52a Gaugh Road, Agra 282001, India
Region: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 184 B&Bs / Inns in Agra
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family run home stay with 4 generations living in a turn-of-the century British heritage home. Breakfast is included and additional meals can happily be provided on request. Surrounded by gardens, we provide clean and comfortable rooms with a relaxing, pollution-free atmosphere. We are located near Clarks Shiraz Hotel and 2 km from the Taj Mahal, Red Fort and market; close enough for easy access, but far away from the noise and crowds. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Heritage Homestay Hotel Agra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing