We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the tents are like old boat canvas”
Review of Hotel Taj Khema

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Taj Khema
Ranked #114 of 207 Agra B&B and Inns
Reviewed 16 September 2011

awful. huge black ants everywhere. filthy. bathrooms hadn't been cleaned ever. No view at all of the Taj. Photos are misleading because you are behind a big hill. The hotel is government owned and I actually yelled at the guy after he gave me, no joke, the seventh form to fill out with the exact same information. I finally refused to fill out more "date of arrival" and "visa number" crap. No security because our back "door" wouldn't lock. The canvas is decades old, mildewed and yellowed. The ants were all around the room and bathroom. I honestly can't think of anything good to say about this place. way way overpriced. It's a long walk because cars can't use the main road in front of the hotel. Agra is the worst place in India for touts- two guys wouldn't stop walking with us down the road to our hotel and met us every day to get us to go to their store. We made the mistake of buying a "marble" jewelry box, it was so soft it broke in our luggage and we could crumble the remaining pieces in our hands like pop tarts.

Room Tip: just go to the travelers' hotels at the south gate, we saw lots of cheap inns that couldn't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank w44566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (76)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

54 - 58 of 76 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2011

The title of this review is not an indication of the quality of the accomodation or service at Taj Khema but is certainly the most apt statement to make in terms of the view of the Yaj Mahal from this place.

The mound at Taj Khema provides the most stunning vew of the Taj Mahal and one can spend hours and hours sitting in that place and marvel the beauty of the monument. even at night.

The spanish cottages are great accomodation options and the food is decent. The service staff is limited but with good intentions to keep the guest happy. The Shilpgram next door serves all kind of beer at a nominal price.

Best bang for the buck.

Room Tip: Always opt for the spansih cottages as the other rooms are pretty old.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gauravcalvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2011

Nice hotel with a decent view of the Taj, good service, good facilities and nice staff. No complaints. They provided a nice car and intelligent chauffeur for our sightseeing and the food was generally very good

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rnmg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2011

Has recently been renovated
It is located within 400mtrs of the Taj within the restricted area.has huge open areas and lawns with peacocks in them, which gives you great views of the Taj, perhaps even better than the one from Oberoi Amarvilas (where we stayed later)
we stated in the Tented Swiss Cottages which is pretty cool.luxury tent with ac/fridge/cable tv & clean bath/toilets
the room service is good
we had dinner once here and was well prepared
although it is run by the state govt., it doesn't have any of the govt hangovers, except for the big entry book when you checkin.staff are friendly and don't stick around for tips like else where.Indians get treated on par with foreigners unlike some other places.
Couldn't understand why more people go here...
We had few mosquitos but ignorable.
Infact UP tourism have online booking too

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sathwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2011

It was an unplanned stay. We started for Agra from Delhi on a Friday and realised halfway that the Taj Mahal is closed today.
A quick search and a phone call made teh choice easy.

This hotel is located near the East Gate of Taj Mahal. The surrounding is secure as its in side the secured zone for Taj Mahal.

The hotel is small with an option to stay in the tents. We loved it. and it comes very easy on your pocket. (Rs1300 to 2600/night withb/f) Keep in mind that you are surrounded by jungle so flies, mosqutoes are unavoidable.

The restaurent is not very impressive, but you have many small options in teh bazar near East gate.

TM is just 5 mins walk and those who wish to visit at the dawn, could buy the ticket a day before and move straight to TM the next day.
U also have an option of battery operated cars to take you to the ticket stall (Shilpgram)

Later, you may just walk a lilttle further to river Yamuna from the east gate (5 Mins) and take a view of TM from the river banks. at Rs 100 you may also hire a small boat for 30 mins.

It would be great to spend an evening on the hotel lawns on the background of TM you can see the dome and towers surrounded by green trees and peacocks to accompany you.

If you love luxury, this is not the place to choose and for those, there are plenty of options of 5* hotels.

Room Tip: Keep odomos or similar cream handy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IDelta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Agra hotels
0.2 km away
Hotel Sheela
Hotel Sheela
#66 of 143 in Agra
568 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Saniya Place
Hotel Saniya Place
#94 of 143 in Agra
586 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Sidhartha
Hotel Sidhartha
#33 of 143 in Agra
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Hotel Atulyaa Taj
Hotel Atulyaa Taj
#18 of 143 in Agra
654 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Kamal
Hotel Kamal
#82 of 143 in Agra
381 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Taj Resorts
Hotel Taj Resorts
#16 of 143 in Agra
1,612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Taj Khema? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Taj Khema

Address: Eastern Gate Of Taj Mahal, Agra 282001, India
Region: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra District > Agra
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #114 of 207 B&Bs / Inns in Agra
Price Range: ₹ 3,447 - ₹ 3,837 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Taj Khema 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and MakeMyTrip so you can book your Hotel Taj Khema reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing