We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best view in Agra of the Taj!!”
Review of Hotel Saniya Place

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Saniya Place
Ranked #95 of 144 Hotels in Agra
Reviewed 5 April 2012

If you need a pleasant budget stay in Agra, with the best view of the Taj - Saniya is the place. Rooms have free wifi and there is a nice roof top restaurant that serves both indian and western dishes. Saniya can also store your luggage, during the day if you're going sightseeing. As a backpacker I can recommend Saniya any time!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stefan_Rosenlund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (586)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

338 - 342 of 586 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2012

Hi there,
we didnt end up staying in the palace as the staff where too unfriendly but here is our story:
We arrive in delhi and call them to book a room. they say yes its 600inr which is not cheap but we said yes. also we get told we have a free pick up from the train.
we after that book our trains and call them back to confirm our arrival time. On this phone call we get told that they are booked out but can give us another hotel near the Saniya palace, we ask for the pick up and they say its 100inr...we asked kindly if its a joke. they said they will send pick up without confirming if we have to pay or not.
we arrive in the train (which was a little late) no pick up. we pay pick up and go to the Saniya palace where we get greeted with a room which is 1000inr now and told that they where at the trainstation waiting for is which is ot true.
after checking some more hotels we heard this story many times again so its a common thing for the staff in this palce to lie and cheat and make things up and dont hold word.
the rooftop seems ok but we didnt bother...plenty of other places in town.
cheers

Room Tip: just dont go here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michael s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

This place is not safe for female travelers. Especially if you are traveling alone!
The men working in the hotel are rude, offensive and will make sexual remarks that are not acceptable.
The rooms are not great, the bathrooms are dirty and small.
The staff will claim that you have not paid your bill even if you have. Always wanting to try and get more money from you.
There have been thefts reported in this hotel. People have had money, cameras etc stolen.
Overall, it is not a good hotel. There are many better places to stay in Taj Ganj.

Room Tip: Why stay here when you can get better value elsewhere?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sayitasitis_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2012

this is a place to recommend: Saniya has nice clean rooms (which are worth the money), is perfect located for both visiting the taj and even watch it afterwards while having a beer at the perfect (and best) rooftop restaurant in Agra! Very friendly and helpful staff!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Timo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2012

please note rooms were not upto the mark, view from the taj view rooms also not great,only view from the upper restaurant was good, if you just want to visit taj for an overnight stay is ok, hopeless food around, agra is a dirty city, reminds me of dharavi(mumbai), taj is lotus amoung muck, also agra fort is ok, i wont visit agra ever in my life. once bitten twice shy.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Agra hotels
0.2 km away
Hotel Sidhartha
Hotel Sidhartha
#33 of 144 in Agra
489 reviews
0.0 km away
Hotel Kamal
Hotel Kamal
#83 of 144 in Agra
381 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Sheela
Hotel Sheela
#68 of 144 in Agra
569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Hotel Sheela Inn
Hotel Sheela Inn
#91 of 144 in Agra
134 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel Taj Plaza
Hotel Taj Plaza
#106 of 144 in Agra
492 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel Rashmi
Hotel Rashmi
#34 of 144 in Agra
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Saniya Place? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Saniya Place

Address: Chowk Kagziyan Taj Ganj | Taj Ganj, Agra 28 2001, India
Region: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra District > Agra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #95 of 144 Hotels in Agra
Price Range: ₹ 651 - ₹ 782 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Saniya Place 1*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Saniya Palace is a perfectly located budget hotel. Taj Mahal is 5 minutes walking distance, Agra fort is 2 km and 2.5 km from the Agra Fort train station and from Agra Cantt 6 km, airport 10 km. We are in old city of Agra full of tradition and full of Mughal culture, even old market of Agra is walking distance from hotel. We have one of the best terraces with the view of Taj Mahal. We provide multi cuisine. We provide free WIFI in all rooms and restaurant. All clients relax on the terrace on their arrival to watch Taj Mahal with some drinks. The double rooms start from 600 rs to 1200 rs. We provide free pick up service during the day from the Agra Cannt station. We always try to do our best service for our clients. We provide city tour of Agra with our believe persons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ClearTrip, Booking.com, Yatra, TravelGuru, MakeMyTrip and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Saniya Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saniya Palace Hotel Agra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing