We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“unimaginable hotel entrance with dirty smell”
Review of Saniya Palace Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Saniya Palace Inn
Ranked #97 of 145 Hotels in Agra
Mangalore, India
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“unimaginable hotel entrance with dirty smell”
Reviewed 26 December 2011

Surprisingly noted the reviews of the hotel booked the hotel and while entering I saw the unimaginable entrance of the hotel. Drain on both sides of the hotel was filled with urine a smell of natural perfume (better don't call it as urine smell). On the side of the lobby a Gen set is installed which is above the permitted sound level and pollution is 100%. You have to walk on the stairs with full strength because of its height. The room allotted to me is visible only when there is electricity. Only those who are habituated with drain smell, working class with full of strength and whose vision is perfect can stay or else god may save you.
When you book any reservation for railway etc.,you should be prepared to pay double the amount of ticket.
If you want Mutton, Beef will be served in the name of Mutton.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stanley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

577 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    136
    83
    92
    139
See reviews for
53
208
85
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2011

The view is the best in Agra, and the rooftop restaurant is cheap and tasty. One or two staff members are friendly.

Now for the bad... expect to get harassed by autorickshaw drivers INSIDE the hotel, and expect management to be on the autorickshaw drivers' side. When I refused a 'city tour', the service suddenly turned sour, the receptionist was rude and indifferent. Later, I had the receptionist telling me "go on, take a rickshaw - give him some business - they're our friends!" Apparently I'm now a charity! It reminded me of a previous stay at this place which ended with a rickshaw driver on the floor outside my room, actually begging me to give him 50 rupees to help him fund his daughter's wedding.

The management are particularly unhelpful, and seem to be in cahoots with a business of every kind in Agra. Meanwhile the bed sheets are memorable for the wrong reasons, and the bucket on the floor is more worthwhile than the showers which dribble.

If you want to wake up and see the Taj just a stone's throw away from your morning chai, then this is the place for you. Just don't expect it to be a refuge from the hassle outside.

Room Tip: The water pressure in the bathrooms is better on the lower floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Agra hotels

New Delhi, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2011

Clean and comfy rooms with soft pillows. There is reliable hot showers (that are actually hot) 24 hours and the staff goes to lengths to make sure your stay is enjoyable. The best part of staying at this hotel is that you are a 16 step walk up from a magnificent view of the Taj Mahal. The good food and hot Masala Chai go well with this view. The hotel can also hook you up with pretty reliable rickshaw drivers that can take you around to see the other places in Agra, which pieces together a great day of touring. It's also a good place to meet other travelers, especially if you are traveling solo.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank finns711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2011

We didn't find this hotel to be what the lonely planet made it out to be. The owners were not friendly and we had an incredibly difficult time getting help from them. Every time we asked a question we were sent away and told that someone would come to our room. Each and every time we waited in our room for at least an hour and still nobody came. And each time we had to go back down and ask again. Customer service was a joke, even by my lowered standards on this vacation.
We had to pay up front which always makes us uneasy.
The lobby and hallways smelled like sulfur, but this might have been the time of year we were there as the water smells like sulfur in lots of Indian cities.
WiFi was not free and didn't work in my room. I had to use the restaurant signal and still had problems.
Our room had no windows, but was reasonably clean.

IMPORTANT: If you wake up to go to the Taj for sunrise, you will not have any hot water. The water is turned off at night and not turned on until much later in the morning. This was after they told us that we'd always have hot water.
The restaurant has a great view and reasonable food. The manager at the restaurant was very nice.
The main hotel manager completely changed once we told him we had an argument and told him we were going to write a poor review on Trip Advisor. He really shouldn't be in the tourism industry and is clearly only in it for the money.

All this said, clearly my recommendation is NOT TO STAY HERE!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank baleener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cesena, Italy
Level Contributor
1,177 reviews
199 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3,067 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

we spent four nights in this hotel and w ehad an amazing time. i will never forget how impressive we were when we first saw the taj mahal from the roof restaurant of the hotel...we couldnt believe at our eyes... it was amazing... i can say that the rooms are quite cleaned...the bathroom really small but we don't complain about it...and the restaurant really tasty. i recommend this place to all the backpackers...
mark and stefy from italy

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Agra hotels
0.0 km away
Hotel Kamal
Hotel Kamal
#85 of 145 in Agra
3.0 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Sidhartha
Hotel Sidhartha
#29 of 145 in Agra
3.5 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel Rashmi
Hotel Rashmi
#38 of 145 in Agra
3.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Krishna Haveli Hotel
Krishna Haveli Hotel
#36 of 145 in Agra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel Taj Plaza
Hotel Taj Plaza
#68 of 145 in Agra
3.0 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
0.9 km away
Hotel Taj Resorts
Hotel Taj Resorts
#17 of 145 in Agra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saniya Palace Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saniya Palace Inn

Property: Saniya Palace Inn
Address: Chowk Kagziyan,South Gate, | Taj Ganj, Agra 282001, India
Region: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra District > Agra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #97 of 145 Hotels in Agra
Price range (per night): ₹ 648 - ₹ 907
Hotel Class:1 star — Saniya Palace Inn 1*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Saniya Palace is a perfectly located budget hotel. Taj Mahal is 5 minutes walking distance, Agra fort is 2 KM and 2.5 KM from the Agra Fort train station and from Agra cantt 6 KM, airport 10 KM. We are in Old city of Agra full of tradition and full of mughal culture, even old market of Agra is walking distance from Hotel. We have one of the best terrace with the view of Taj Mahal. We provide multi cuisine. All clients relax on the terrace on their arrival to watch Taj Mahal with some drinks. The double Rooms start from 600 Rs to 1200 rs. We provide free pick up service during the day from the Agra cannt station. We always try to do our best service for our clients. We provide city tour of Agra with our believe persons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Yatra, Booking.com, ClearTrip and Agoda so you can book your Saniya Palace Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saniya Palace Hotel Agra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing