We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A home away from home”
Review of Indian Homestay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Indian Homestay
Ranked #8 of 207 Agra B&B and Inns
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Had been to Agra and got a chance to stay in this home stay accommodation. It had been a very warm experience being away fro home and still feel at home. The interiors of all the rooms are very aesthetically done. And the rooftop is a lively place due to all the greenery and terracotta artifacts. Breakfast is simple and provided from a live counter. Overall a pleasant experience. And the credit goes to owner , Mr. Mahatim Singh, who has taken care of every minute detail.

Room Tip: rooms upstairs are very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mamta710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (77)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 35 of 77 reviews

Reviewed 10 February 2014

The rooms are comfortable and staff is friendly and always willing to help.The owner, Mr Mahatim Singh oversees things in a friendly and easy way.The food is clean,healthy and simple .like at home,a welcome attraction for those who hate the oily and spicy stuff served at hotels.Guests would appreciate if the old television sets are changed and DTH is made available

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
Thank Ravindra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

If you travel to Agra, I recommand you to stay at this nice guest house. Good prices, very friendly staff, and the owner can book you a driver for the day.

By the way, the guest house is not far from the 3 main touristic sites (Agra fort, Taj Mahal, baby Taj).

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christophe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2013

My sister and I spent a couple of nights at this comfortable homestay while visiting Agra. We were warmly welcomed by Monty, the owner, and well cared for by Billy, our cook and attendant. The food was well prepared and the dining area and rooftop terrace and garden were pleasant for eating and resting. You are separate from the family for meals but we chatted a little with the owner during our visit. Our experience was different at other homestays in India where we ate and cooked with the family and shared a common area to visit and learn more from the locals about customs and sights. It was a bit more like staying in a hotel though Monty's family is very welcoming and kind and gathered to see us off. We did get a few mosquitoes but found that true in other locations as well. The location was fine for touring as we had a driver to pick us up. Overall a pleasant place to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2013

We arrived Agra from Udaipur on 1st March 2013 and reached the Indian homestay at around 12 PM. We were welcomed by the property owner's family and soon they guided us to a room of our choice on the top floor. We had our lunch prepared by Vimlesh, who was a great help during our stay. We originally planned for just one day stay at Agra but this beautiful, cozy and peaceful place lured us to stay for more. Next 2 days, we did some usual sight seeing and explored the Agra City. During our stay, Indian Homestay let us prepare our own food and also prepare food for our 7 months old son in their kitchen. I strongly recommend this place to fellow travellers who need affordable stay and like DIY. We preferred Akbar room as it had direct access to terrace and outside sitting. One downside with room is that it does not have attached bathroom but we did not mind using the bathroom next door as the complete floor was like reserved for us

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AmritanshuBhardwaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Agra hotels
2.4 km away
The Coral Court Homestay
2.5 km away
Zostel Agra
Zostel Agra
#1 of 207 in Agra
523 reviews
2.3 km away
Aman Homestay
Aman Homestay
#1 of 207 in Agra
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Mohini Home Stay
Mohini Home Stay
#4 of 207 in Agra
215 reviews
1.4 km away
Khas Mahal Home Stay
Khas Mahal Home Stay
#15 of 207 in Agra
19 reviews
0.9 km away
Max Guest House
Max Guest House
#3 of 207 in Agra
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Indian Homestay? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Indian Homestay

Address: 71 Gulmohar Enclave | Shamshabad Road, Agra 282001, India (Formerly Col. Lamba Indian Homestay)
Region: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra District > Agra
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 207 B&Bs / Inns in Agra
Price Range: ₹ 1,020 - ₹ 2,551 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Indian Homestay 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Family running homestay in Agra ,Set in a downtown area , our homestay is situated in a calm and quiet place in a residential township Gulmohar Enclave at Shamshabad Road with all modern amenities and facilities. Me and my family staying on the same house ,Our home stay near Taj mahal 2.5 kms distance , its 6 individual room with en suite bath all are air-conditioned with LED TV , 24 Hrs hot / cold running water , room service with all modern facilities and amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, MakeMyTrip, Agoda and TravelGuru so you can book your Indian Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Col. Lamba Indian Homestay Hotel Agra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing