We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST VIEW OF THE LAKE”
Review of Hotel Lakeview

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Lakeview
Ranked #16 of 85 Hotels in Ooty
Reviewed 16 September 2012

Any tourist to India should visit the cool town of Ooty and the lake is one of the major attractions.Lake view Hotel, Ooty provides one of the best views of the famous ooty lake: the lake where the tourists would love to enjoy boating. Just the fun of enjoying the beauty of the lake itself is sufficient reason for staying in this hote;.

Room Tip: rooms in the upper floors would give a better view
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ARLITHAYA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (809)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Lakeview
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

657 - 661 of 809 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2012

We had booked two deluxe cottages from 8th to 11th of Sep 2012. The rooms were neat but not ready when we arrived. I had clearly given the instructions to the hotel for the time of arrival but we were made to wait for 45mins. The hotel doesn't provide any heaters in the room and it is extra chargeable of 300 per day which for 3 days would get you a new heater itself.
The geyser takes 45 mins to heat and its a pain in the morning. The food in the restaurant is a complete waste for the price paid. The buffet breakfast is also not recommended. The best place to have food is Nahar's and even the hotel staff recommends the same.
The process and the way of handling the people is very poor and the hotel staff needs to be trained to handle different type of tourists coming with different needs. They are not sure of many things.

Overall a good place with nice view and no noise. Good for families and kids but completely avoid the food. If possible take the heater (buy) before you go there.

Room Tip: No AC/Fans available, the rooms with fireplace doesn't have proper facilities. The guests are fo...
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank manojITC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

I stayed with my family in this hotel.we had a pleasant stay, rooms were clean, TV was there but no cable, for bath there were not much hot water :). This hotel is good for family and kids they will get enough space to play around, coming to restaurant we had bad experience our order got served after 2 hour, i'm not talking about lunch or dinner its break fast. Hotel management need to improve at service side.Overall i can say its budget hotel, family and kids can enjoy the place.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arun_Gkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2012

About the stay at 'Lake view'...is worst experience i had........we had bookd d room...wen we reach der...Staff wer too rude to us & says u wer not bookd ....didnt hear wat our status is....more dan an hour we had to wait at lobby..to solve d problem. 'staff' wer horrible...about d food...i have to find dirty words frm..dictionry..!! Whole services wer like 'cattle class'...!
Pleases.....dont ever peep in to dis horrible hotel...! dis is my ADVISE'...we went for honeymoon...dis all make us a 'memorable one'...oh god...dis things never happen to a enemy too....!
- Suresh

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank suresh b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2012

I stayed here for 3 days and found it to be the best place after i visited a few hotels before checking in. This place is far from the bustling Ooty town.
There are varieties of rooms and cottages and the ones facing the valley was taken by me and the ones i recommend to have a pleasant morning with birds chirping and a excellent view from the warm cozy bed.
These new cottages are the ones with bath tubs and LCD TV's.
I will not be able to comment on the breakfast and lunch as i had planned to taste them at different places around the town. But dinner was awesome.
Room service is very good and prompt.
This will be the place i will stay whenever i visit Ooty. Thank you hotel Lakeview. Both my wife and myself had a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SRBhandary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ooty hotels
1.0 km away
Hotel Darshan Ooty
Hotel Darshan Ooty
#17 of 85 in Ooty
634 reviews
6.0 km away
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
3.6 km away
Meadows Residency - Ooty
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 km away
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
3.5 km away
Treebo Yantra Leisures
2.6 km away
Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lakeview? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lakeview

Address: West Lake Road, Ooty 643004, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > The Nilgiris District > Ooty
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 85 Hotels in Ooty
Price Range: ₹ 1,925 - ₹ 3,272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Lakeview 3*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Lakeview sits pretty on an 8 acre stretch of land, on the sensuous terraced slopes of a hill offering a magnificent double spectacle. Even at an ambling pace, you can reach the boathouse in 10 minutes flat, or the bus stand in 15 minutes.The complex has easy access to every part of the town and beyond.Experience the pleasure of living besides Ooty lake with family and friends in the Queen of Hill station.The largest and the most exclusive hill resort in Ooty, Lakeview consists of 123 specially designed, fully independent luxury cottages. Hotel Lakeview is where you begin to experience Ooty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, ClearTrip, Yatra, MakeMyTrip, TravelGuru, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Lakeview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeview Hotel Ootacamund

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing