We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Excellent Hospitality” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ooty - Elk Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ooty - Elk Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Ranked #5 of 78 Hotels in Ooty
Certificate of Excellence
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Hospitality”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2012

There is no doubt about the hospitality. Excellent staffs and their service. Though renovation is in progress, we have not experienced any hinderence in our stay. The property is so old, however, they are trying their best to keep it clean and excellent. Among any few good old resorts, I would say, Sterling is the best, as it is very Indian. Beautiful location, good play area for kids.We enjoyed our stay in Elk Hill and kids loved it very much.

I wish the best to Sterling Resorts to keep up their excellent service and hospitality and maintain the property to its best.

Have a happy and memorable stay!

Best Regards,
Raj, Bangalore.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rajkumar_India
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

583 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    277
    193
    65
    23
    25
See reviews for
326
160
3
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012

Elk hill resort is located away from city center which makes it very peaceful and calm. The property has huge parking space. Once you enter you are provided with warm wet towel for freshen up which was good on their part. The resort has kids activity area and play room for toddler which keeps them busy for hours. Food quality is good and rooms are spacious and 24 hrs hot water supply. View from the hotel is very nice and the valley is amazing.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank krishki197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

We recently stayed in this resort and definitely rate it highly on several regards. Location is excellent and the view from the room was breath-taking. Though the property is undergoing renovation, we didn't face any inconvenience due to that. Property has lots of amenities to keep you busy (Billiards, badminton courts, etc.). Food quality was also decent. Rooms were pretty convenient and spacious, room heating was ok. Overall very good experience, although they can do a better job at providing basic amenities for drivers.

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Ananddas1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012 via mobile

Really enjoyed my stay with my family for three days. I prefer this for long stays. Really my kids enjoyed the premises. The food was excellent with more options. The whole Ooty can be sited from balcony, kids really enjoyed. Overall I prefer this hotel for my stay at Ooty

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ANILthamburu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2012

Staff and the service is excellent. Hospitality is unbeatable and food quality and service is worth mentioning here. The property is old but they are trying thier best to keep the place neat and clean. Hotel is improving on property aswell. The staff is wonderful they make you so comfortable that you forget other things. Keep it up Sterling Management. Infact other Hotels should learn from them. Good luck. I strongly recommend this hotel The only care you have to take is not to book JUNIOR SUITE. Book only Deluxe and above rooms.

Room Tip: Deluxe and above - Never Book Junior Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rakesh5269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ooty hotels
2.6 km away
Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort
3.4 km away
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
2.3 km away
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Meadows Residency - Ooty
1.8 km away
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
1.0 km away
Fortune Hotel Sullivan Court
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ooty - Elk Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ooty - Elk Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort

Property: Ooty - Elk Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Address: No 25 Ramakrishna Mutt Road | Elk Hill, Ooty 643001, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Ooty
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 78 Hotels in Ooty
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,506 - ₹ 13,109
Hotel Class:4 star — Ooty - Elk Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sterling Holidays Elk Hill is a small and tranquil set up with incredible views of the surrounding hills and valley. Amid lofty Nilgiri peaks and low passing clouds, the sloping roofs and terracotta tiles of the resort emerge and vanish. As you look out on the Ooty valley from your room’s balcony or sit-out, time seems to stand still. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, ClearTrip, Agoda and Yatra so you can book your Ooty - Elk Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing