We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sterling Elk hill Ooty is in poor state . URGENT RENOVATION REQUIRED” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ooty - Elk Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ooty - Elk Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Ranked #5 of 78 Hotels in Ooty
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Sterling Elk hill Ooty is in poor state . URGENT RENOVATION REQUIRED”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2012

The property is under a bad condition. Rooms and Bathrooms are unclean. I had to change my room but was still not satisfied. The House keeping staff does not understand. We called for napkins and they brought toilet rolls. Each and everything had to be called for. The room service was slow. Restaurant only served buffet and anything to be ordered from the menu was only from room service. Even though we had informed about our arrival at the resort in advance it took them 20 minutes to check us in.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gautam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Ooty - Elk Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort, responded to this review, 9 July 2012
Dear Sir,

Greetings from Sterling holidays!

We note with great concern the experience you went through at our resort. We assure you that we have sensitized our staff on this issue.

We assure you that this must have been an isolated instance and that your future experience will be one that meets your expectations.

Sincerely,
The Sterling Holidays Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

607 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    294
    199
    65
    23
    26
See reviews for
335
170
3
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
77 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

i d been there with my complete family ( parents, spouse, kids ) during march 2012.
locationwise placed on a hill top, has good view of the city of Ooty.
Approach to the resort is very long and tedious, narrow at places.
once you enter the gate you will find lot of space, which is a good sign.
Restaurant at the resort is average but pricy. ( nilgiry spice soup was good and worth trying )
spa or massage center they have is dark and looks old styled. Steam room - old fashioned.
rooms we got were newly renowated- fresh in appeal and presence.
Other rooms feel old and dull.
service team was humble but they had very little variety to offer.
No swimming Pool, No bar section. only one restaurant, (limited variety of food )
good place for relaxation and a family stay if you just want to spend time at room with your family.
children play area is good, lots of toys and play materials.

in all, i felt there is a lot of urgency to upgrade the facility, give it a new look worthy of its locational advantage, Lot of maitenance work require immidiate action from toy zone to spa. rooms to restaurant.

Final note: worth for members of sterling - for others paying a rack rate of 6000/- change may not seem worth its money.

Room Tip: Please, Please, Please, ensure you have rooms on new block ( Renowated ones ). Else change your trav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Thisissharath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SterlingHolidays, Owner at Ooty - Elk Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort, responded to this review, 8 June 2012
Dear Sir,

Greetings from Sterling Holidays.

We thank you for your appreciation of our resort during your recent visit to Ooty in March.

We have made note of your feedback regarding the massage centre, steam room and bedroom. We are concerned with the issues you have raised and you can be rest assured that each of them will be addressed.
We are happy to let you know that we have begun an elaborate renovation process across our resorts. Please visit our website to know about the positive changes happening at Sterling Holidays.

We welcome feedback from our guests as it helps us improve our services. We, once again, apologize for the inconvenience and hope you will give us an opportunity to prove that we can deliver a really good holiday experience.

Sincerely,
The Sterling Holidays Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chandigarh, India
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

this resort has a pretty good location, the rooms are nice too, bu their bathrooms stink all day long. They do not have set top boxes for tvs and there are cable connections and that too with no clearity at all, its better not to have TVs in case u cant provide good signal. There was no wi-fi here, c'mon guys we are in the 21st century and u people do not have any wi-fi connection. The blankets provided in the room were torn and filthy. The restaurant was pathetic, the cutlery being used was mostly broken. There was not much variety of food and the service in the restaurant was terrible.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dp_chd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SterlingHolidays, Owner at Ooty - Elk Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort, responded to this review, 8 June 2012
Dear Sir,

Greetings from Sterling Holidays!

We are happy that you like our location and love the rooms. We are making changes that will enhance the ambience and make you feel comfortable. We always value feedback from customers as it helps to better our service. Please visit our website to know about the positive changes happening at Sterling Holidays.

Thanking you.

Sincerely,
The Sterling Holidays Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

The resort was way beyond our expectations. The views from the room balcony were just too good. The rooms were comfortable and clean. Room service was good and the food at the restaurant was decent. The spa however was a major turnoff.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank raunak182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

The rooms are located inside the valley and offer nice view but we were in the lower most level and it was chilly cold and somewhat obstructed view. However, Rs. 4000/- for 2 nights for a Junior Suite incl. breakfast with a room with nive view of the valley is still great value for money. Room was very elegant.
Staff was very courteous, helpful and prompt. Travel desk had all the information about tourist spots and were helpful even though we were not using their services for the same.
Room service facilities were also good. If you are planning to have lunch/dinner at the hotel, food is quite expensive.
We did face some of the problems like no cable TV on 2nd day, lift was not working for few hours and we had to climb 5 floors twice which was very annoying.

Room Tip: Call them as soon as you book to get a room on top floors. Ask for a heater, they provide it witho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neha A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ooty hotels
2.6 km away
Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort
3.4 km away
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
2.3 km away
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Meadows Residency - Ooty
1.8 km away
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
1.0 km away
Fortune Hotel Sullivan Court
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ooty - Elk Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ooty - Elk Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort

Property: Ooty - Elk Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Address: No 25 Ramakrishna Mutt Road | Elk Hill, Ooty 643001, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Ooty
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 78 Hotels in Ooty
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,454 - ₹ 23,647
Hotel Class:4 star — Ooty - Elk Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sterling Holidays Elk Hill is a small and tranquil set up with incredible views of the surrounding hills and valley. Amid lofty Nilgiri peaks and low passing clouds, the sloping roofs and terracotta tiles of the resort emerge and vanish. As you look out on the Ooty valley from your room’s balcony or sit-out, time seems to stand still. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and ClearTrip so you can book your Ooty - Elk Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing