We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (244)
Filter reviews
244 results
Traveller rating
57
107
53
13
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
57
107
53
13
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstoy trainvalley viewlarge balconyroom servicedecent costexcellent viewentire valleyhill slopeooty towncould have been bettera nice place to staycalm placefood qualityneeds improvementvisit this placemain cityrestaurant staff
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 244 reviews
Reviewed 4 December 2017

The best part about the hotel is its superb view. Each of the rooms have the same view facing the valley and you can also view the Toy train passing by from the partially visible tracks. Service is not world class but not bad either. Food quality is good and the options in breakfast are also good enough. The rooms are located downhill and will have to climb stairs so do ask for upper floors in case you have elders. They do have a cart/lift mechanism for lower floors but I highly doubt it efficiency.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Nimit_Faldu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2017

I visited Ooty for 3 days between 10th to 12th Nov.
The first glance of the resort and scenic view was awesome.
But later the kind of surprises I have got during my stay was horrific.
The Clinch Car: The clinch car is used to commute from rooms to the lift and other common areas. If this is not working, you have to climb the stairs.
so please careful if you are travelling with old age people or having medical problems.
Unprofessional & Pathetic staff: I heard lot of 'NO' during my stay.
Tea@7:30PM, Electric Kettle, TV channels and quality of broadcast are few examples.
Bed bugs and Cockroaches: Please carry a repellent, you definitely need it.

Room Tip: Opt for top rooms as you get better view and avoid hassle of Clinch car.
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gaurav87s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2017 via mobile

The hotel was very good. Staff, food, restaurant, service, view everything was excellent. Only one suggestion that please keep some more hindi and bollywood channels in hindi for non South Indian guests. We could do very little entertainment in terms of watching TV. Otherwise everything was just superb and would definitely visit this place again.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Mita U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2017

Sagar hotel is one of the best hotels in OOty with nice views from rooms and Away from OOty town, with no pollution smell around.
Morning breakfast and Evening orderable foods are good and my family liked it.

Only concern and Negative thing i see is the Room service could be better. We need to follow-up for the service we need. Other than that, It was pleasant stay for 3 nights.

Room Tip: All the Rooms will face the Scenic view...
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Chanz... T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017 via mobile

Sagar has one of the best views you can get in Ooty. Beautiful views of the sunrise. You also get a private terrace. The food is not great though and room service is not reliable. There is a winch to bring people up and down the slope but it is available only on one side. It is a great place if you want to just relax in the hotel room. Away from the city with no pollution.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank bobdurai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews