We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Beware of!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nalapad Residency Ooty

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ooty
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Nalapad Residency Ooty
Ranked #73 of 76 Hotels in Ooty
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Beware of!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

Quaint little place with that awesome weather around, drizzling rain and foggy day...you just feel that it is too good to be true..but wait till you check into Nalapad residency! Our entire idea of a nice holiday was drained like water in a colander! Their not so helpful staff, always carry a face that they can't help their customer. What so ever the reason may be.

The hotel is not well stocked with clean, dry towels. You will be left annoyed specially if you are visiting ooty in the rainy season. Well, problem understood, no sunshine to dry the towels. We visited this hotel during the wet season and all that you dread for is long hot showers and hot food. Beds are very hard. Bathrooms are a nightmare. Poor drain systems. Water gets clogged in the bathroom after a shower and the next person getting into the shower has to really wait till the water recedes! How terrible is that. We even checked out of their deluxe room and checked in to their so called suites on the first floor only to experience a much worse situation. Their version of a suite is a deluxe room with a bath tub! Now, I shall leave the rest of the water clogging in a tub imagination to you...

Clogging apart..lets talk about their food! We decided not to order for food in our room and went to their restaurant. To our shock, it was kind of a hall, where some hot boxes kept on a table with a staff almost dozing off, waiting for us. There wasn't a single soul apart from us on that day to eat at their restaurant! Food was cold and a request to get it reheated was acknowledged with a not so OK face! Finally food was warm enough to eat!

Terrible service! Not worth your money! There are other classy places in Ooty to relish your stay. Avoid totally.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank renachaluvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

33 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    3
    9
    4
    17
See reviews for
12
13
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2011

If you are visiting Ooty , please dont have food or stay at this terrible place.I was staying in another hotel but went to have a walk with my family in the morning and we decided to have breakfast at nalapad residency.When i asked the cost of teh buffet breakfast , I was told its INR 60 but then after we had done our breakfast I was presented a bill which was way above when we had expected.I was told some items like a frozen vada is not part of teh buffet and is to be paid separately and suckers priced this vada at INR 20 apiece.Nalapad Residency is good at the business of duping travellers and hence please refrain from going there.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Altaf R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ooty hotels

Bangalore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2010

a)The room was okay, but the bathroom was in a dilapidated condition.

b)I couldn't find a smile or enthusiam at reception. In fact, the eyes was broadened when I asked a question, getting a void reply.

c)I, along with my wife, enterered the hotel at 6'0 clock in the morning only to find that everybody is sleeping on the floor of reception. In fact, I had to wake them up.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank deep_blue_11005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
36 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2010

as we had been there in the peak season all of ooty hotels were full. as this hotel is 2.5 away from charring cross you have a higher chance of getting a room . as we dint book any rooms before going we tried our luck here and we got accomadation . it was a basic standard room but they told us it was a deluxe room and charged us more. and they could not provide an extra blanket to us but it is in very good location and has beautiful views ,a small garden,resort kind of surrounding

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank smravindra81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
India
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2010

This Hotel is located in the prime location at Ooty. We stayed at the hotel for three days and were quite happy with the service. The food was not too great, but its the same case with most of the other hotels in Ooty. I was given an option of half day sightseeing as well.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank catchsharad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ooty hotels
1.6 km away
Kluney Manor
Kluney Manor
#32 of 76 in Ooty
3.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
2.4 km away
Ponmari Residencyy
Ponmari Residencyy
#18 of 76 in Ooty
4.0 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
0.8 km away
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Hotel Darshan Ooty
Hotel Darshan Ooty
#14 of 76 in Ooty
4.0 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
4.5 km away
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
2.3 km away
Meadows Residency - Ooty
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nalapad Residency Ooty? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nalapad Residency Ooty

Property: Nalapad Residency Ooty
Address: Wood Cock Road | Near Rex School, St Mary's Hill, Ooty 643001, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Ooty
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 76 Hotels in Ooty
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,815 - ₹ 2,882
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Nalapad Residency Ooty 2.5*
Number of rooms: 27

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing