We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful views but the hotel feels tired.”
Review of Gem Park-Ooty

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gem Park-Ooty
Ranked #10 of 82 Hotels in Ooty
Certificate of Excellence
Isle of Man
Level Contributor
248 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Wonderful views but the hotel feels tired.”
Reviewed 11 February 2012

Arrived after 9 hour drive from Cochin. The hotel is slightly out of town- you could not walk at night as very dark. However it affords fantastic views from its high position.The staff were polite rather than friendly. Bedroom had 2 queen beds and a lounge area with good views. Bathroom was adequate. Air con did not seem easy to adjust. We chose a la carte menu for dinner which was fine and am sure the buffet option would also have been good. The was a man playing a keyboard badly whilst we ate which was rather amusing! Breakfast was buffet and good choice. The outside of hotel looks worn. We did not use the indoor pool. Overall we had a comfortable night' stay but I think next time we would seek a more traditional hotel in town.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank philosIsleofMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

655 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    263
    250
    82
    35
    25
See reviews for
314
162
12
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2012

Just back from a stay at holiday inn. The stay was memorable with corteous staff and great service. Felt at home with great attitude from all the staff. The restaurant (Toda cafe) staff are very corteous and eager to help.

The only gripe i had was that the pace of room service and house keeping started slowing down on the second day, when more people were staying in the hotel on weekends. And the car parking priority was for the cabs and buses coming in with tourists, rather than for people staying.

The food was delicious, but sometimes reptitive menu. The valley views were good, but if the main windows opened, it would have a been a splendid experience.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank junaidnavas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trivandrum
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Good hotel for a business meeting. The service was excellent. The hotel staff were very cordial. The facilities could do with an upgrade though.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deepakd07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Holiday Inn in Ooty. The location high on the hill provided fabulous views. The staff were friendly and efficient. The restaurant was good and the room was spacious and comfortable.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Martin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cochin, Kerala, India
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2012

Just came back from Ooty after a short stay at Holiday Inn. Just writing down my thoughts.

Welcome - Good, considering that there were smiling faces all around. Right from the gatekeeper to the front office. No welcome drink was served.

Room Prices - Got a fairly good deal,being a week day. Value for money.

Room decor and view. - Room decor is of a standard 3 star hotel. The view from the room was excellent. Old style TV ( though we did not watch the TV, some would prefer a good one). and the wooden flooring has started to show the age. Bed was a little hard for us.Needs improvement. They have given a sofa near the window which is really a good thinking.

Bathrooms - Were clean and has a bath tub. A hair dryer is in place. Toiletries were good enough. Bath towels were not of Holiday Inn standards.

Food and restaurant - Could not visit all the outlets. Just visited TODA. The food prices were very nominal except rotis and nans. A fairly large portion of Roganjosh was priced at about just 250 , whereas the rotis were priced at about 80 . The liquor was relatively cheap when compared to many hotels . A 60 ml measure of Glenfiddich single malt @ 800/- was a good deal. They need to change the menu. There were very less options and that too it was a photocopy. Doesn't go down well with a "Holiday Inn" tag.

Service - Being a week day with less occupancy, we got ample attention and care. The old hands were very jovial and helpful.

Overall , it is value for money.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sajan_Cochin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vinodgempark, Front Office Manager at Gem Park-Ooty, responded to this review, 21 April 2013
Dear Mr. Sajan,

Greetings from Gem Park ooty!

Thank you for staying with us and your kind words about our staff. It is always nice to get a compliment.

I just want to assure you that our Hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product. I apologize that we fell below your expectations on certain amenities which will be looked into.


We look forward to welcome you back at Gem Park Ooty in near future and we assure you of our best services at all times.

thank you
Vinod
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ooty hotels
3.0 km away
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
1.3 km away
Meadows Residency - Ooty
1.4 km away
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Fortune Hotel Sullivan Court
3.5 km away
Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort
2.2 km away
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gem Park-Ooty? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gem Park-Ooty

Property: Gem Park-Ooty
Address: Sheddon Road, Ooty 643001, India (Formerly Holiday Inn Gem Park-Ooty)
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > The Nilgiris District > Ooty
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Ooty
#3 Spa Hotel in Ooty
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ooty
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,795 - ₹ 11,016
Hotel Class:4 star — Gem Park-Ooty 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the beautiful Nilgiri Mountains, the hotel stands tall with all elegance and style. A contemporary structure with a traditional feel, Gem Park Ooty has kept itself well with the spirit of the beautiful and picturesque city. It is located in the heart of the town, minutes away from key tourist attractions and major shopping areas. With its convenient location and fine service, the hotel has aptly gained favor of all business and leisure travelers who throng the city throughout the year. The hotel welcomes you to a stunning beautifully done up lobby with impressive Indian art on the walls. It is the spotlessly attired staff, ever ready to do the most to make you comfortable that makes the stay an experience for a lifetime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, ClearTrip, Agoda, Yatra and Expedia so you can book your Gem Park-Ooty reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Gem Park-Ooty Hotel Ootacamund
Holiday Inn Ootacamund
Ootacamund Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing