We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Imagine raj life 100 years ago at this impressive but fading hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
Ranked #5 of 85 Hotels in Ooty
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 September 2012

We were a family with an 8 year old girl, We booked a superior room for 2 nights from 16 August 2012.

The room was very nice - the hotel is almost all chalet style, built at different times (ours in the 1920s). We had a large, characterful room with a king bed, a dressing room large enough to be classified as a separate bedroom in some hotels due to its size (approaching 20sqm), and a large bathroom (also approaching 20sqm). The room had a working fireplace (it gets cold in ooty at night, even in august). Actually, the rooms must vary and not be easy to categorise - one of us had stayed before (in Dec 08) - this room was in better condition and was much more homely than the one allocated on the first stay, even though that was supposedly a heritage suite and was much more expensive.

Grounds at the hotel are well kept, the dining room has great old ambience, lovely wooden panels and a pianist.

On the downside:

1 service at the hotel is very slow (and sometimes it's hard to find the staff except at meal times). Mealtimes are prescriptive: lunch starts at 1230 and dinner at 1930, full stop, which isn't really great if you have kids who get hungry earlier than that, unless you want room service (which is more expensive than the corresponding item in the restaurant and you miss out on the ambience).

2 the hotel has an ayurvedic centre, but this was not operating at the same level as on the first visit. Indeed, it was hard to arrange an appointment for a massage at short notice - not because they were busy but because the masseur seemed only to come in the event of a confirmed booking. It is a shame the centre was not well used, as the staff and massages were very good.

3 the hotel housekeepers make a big deal of coming to light your fire in the evening, keen for tips. This time this was a gimmick as the sticks used couldn't hold a flame (same issue for the fire in the hotel's dining room, out within a couple of minutes of lighting). If they're going to do this they really need a source of more substantial - and drier - wood. For sheer bizarre experience, we did enjoy getting a filled hot water bottle put in the bed (in South India!)

Overall, you won't be disappointed if you see this hotel for what it is: a character place with a long and glorious history which is perhaps slightly past its best. Taken that way it is wonderful, don't expect an ultra-luxurious 5 star hotel - standards have moved on whilst this hotel has declined. The whole place feels underinvested in...to the extent that you wonder what Taj's plans are for its long term future. That said, we liked the faded grandeur and would return happliy again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,006)
There are newer reviews for Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

770 - 774 of 1,006 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2012

Stayed at Savoy Hotel, Ooty for one night and the experience was mediocre.

I landed up there without a booking as the taj website showed availability of rooms for the date. The first hurdle was the computers at the reception were not working and the staff had no idea about the availability of rooms. Had to call the taj reservations number to book the rooms.

Booked two standard rooms as I was traveling with family. The rooms were decent but no where close to the other Taj properties.

Agreed that its a heritage property, but definitely not worth the premium.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nazim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2012

We stayed this august in the Taj savoy hotel in Ooty. We had booked a suite and we got a suite, but the worst rooms I saw in a hotel since my student days when I was travelling in remote areas all over the world and staying in low budget hotels.
The floor in our rooms at Taj Savoy in Ooty was covered by a filthy and disgusting old carpet. The bathroom is probably still the original bathroom. This is okay and might attribute to the possible charm of the old building. But must there be fungus between the tiles and on the shower curtain. Do doors need to be stained with dirt? I guess they weren't cleaned since years. Curtains in the rooms, formerly white, were now almost black. This list can easily be continued. Complaints were answered with a brief "This is a heritage hotel". Is it really a Taj hotel?
In passing the other rooms we saw that some of them have been renovated and insisted on new rooms for our third night. Theses rooms were much better but still. Here the nice wooden floor was sticky, the tables were still dirty from the food of the previous guests, bathroom - same story with additional dirty windows in the bathroom doors. Some previous guests had written their name in the dirty windows. Heritage as well?
This could be a very nice hotel with a lot of charm. What is wrong here isn't old furniture but that the house is not maintained. I am sure there are nicer hotels in Ooty. We can only advice to look for these.
What we really liked was the spa and its friendly staff as well as the elderly men who came in the evening to light the fire in the rooms.

Room Tip: Rooms in other hotels are certainly cleaner.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travindia_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2012

Taj Savoy at Ooty reminds you of the by gone days of the Raj. The hotel is located at peaceful place away from hustle and bustle of the town. Has beautfiul landscaped gardens and old world type cottages.The Ooty weather adds to the charm of the property.We stayed in the superior garden view room.The rooms are spacious and so are the bathrooms.However,rooms need immediate attention.Many of the items in room look rustic and seemed not touched since ages. So are the bathrooms which need renovation. The bathroom was complete let down for this Taj property. The service is good and prompt.The food at the restaurant was average considering the price we were paying.
Overall a good stay at a heritage property.Taj needs to pay attention and renovate room and bathrooms asap. They need not change the decor but pay attention to changing and replacing worn out items.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holysmokerule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

We reached the Savoy after a 3-hour car ride from Coimbatore airport. The hotel grounds are very tidy and well-kept with lots of flowers. The reception staff is very efficient, kind and professional. Hotel guests were mostly Indian families with (mostly spoiled) children. Our “city view” room actually overlooked a small garden but I don’t think a “view” is very important in this hotel unless you actually sit in front of your room. The rooms have a small reception area with curtains so you can’t really see outside unless you open all the windows. We had a fireplace in the room, which was lit both evenings (after we called the reception – you must be in the round when the fire is going for safety reasons). The wood was a bit damp so it actually took quite a while for the fire to actually get going. It was quite cool in the evening (in August), so it was quite enjoyable to have a fireplace. There was also a large bonfire in the garden for guests in the evening (but it was monopolized by the families with children). Our standard room (211), built in the 1960s, was quite large, comfortable and very clean. The bathroom mirror lights could use some updating. The bathtub looked quite old and the shower curtain needed replacement. We ate in the nicely decorated restaurant the first evening and had room service on the second evening. The meals were ok but we felt the food was better at the Gateway Hotel in Coonoor (30 minutes away by car), where we had lunch. The service at the Savoy was very good but some of the waiters had body odor (maybe they were clean but their uniforms probably needed washing or vv). Some of the paper menus were a bit tattered and should be replaced more frequently (food stains, etc., from guests’ hands – the room service menu had former guests signatures in it and some food items were circled with their choices). There is a bar/tea lounge (but looks more like a train station waiting room) located near the reception. Unfortunately the windows are very high so you don’t really see the garden when you are having tea, which is a pity. Overall, a very nice stay but not as luxurious as other TAJ properties, but most likely due to the age of the buildings (but that’s probably why most people choose to stay here).

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michel75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ooty hotels
4.2 km away
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
3.1 km away
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
2.8 km away
Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
Meadows Residency - Ooty
1.9 km away
Fortune Hotel Sullivan Court
1.4 km away
Gem Park-Ooty
Gem Park-Ooty
#10 of 85 in Ooty
680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty

Address: 77 Sylks Road, Ooty 643001, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > The Nilgiris District > Ooty
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ooty
#3 Business Hotel in Ooty
#4 Family Hotel in Ooty
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ooty
Price Range: ₹ 5,712 - ₹ 20,251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ensconced high on a rising hill, the Savoy Hotel sprawls over six acres of landscaped gardens, offering colonial style cottages that were built between 1834-1865. Colorful flowerbeds merge to form a multi-coloured quilt around the cottages, adding to their gentle refinement and old English Charm. A quiet retreat, the Savoy Hotel offers a little pocket of paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoftTaj, MakeMyTrip, Booking.com, Hotels.com, ClearTrip, Expedia, Yatra and TravelGuru so you can book your Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savoy Hotel Ootacamund

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing