We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,461)
Filter reviews
1,461 results
Traveller rating
628
548
143
58
84
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
628
548
143
58
84
Show reviews that mention
All reviews time share holiday activities sterling holidays house keeping room service main building travel desk huge property in room dining front office memorable holiday activity area special mention housekeeping staff special thanks buffet spread the entire staff
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 1,461 reviews
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

This is one of the best family resorts in Ooty.it offers beautiful view from room, wide spread in buffet dinner, courtous staff and wide array of indoor and out door activity. Only drawback is the road leading to this hotel. Its very congested and in very bad shape. Its very sterp too, only expert drivers can drive there. Location wise, its very close to Ooty lake and other attractions like Ooty railway station, botanical gardens etc. are also not far away. Overall, well recommended hotel.

See view from hotel room in the pic

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Thank AmitB2206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SterlingHolidays, Owner at Sterling Ooty Fern Hill, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Sir,

Namaste!

Thank you for choosing to holiday with us at Sterling Ooty Fern Hill. We appreciate you taking the time to share your review of our resort.

We are glad you had a satisfying stay with us at Sterling Ooty Fern Hill. Our resort is aimed at ensuring that our guests can feel rejuvenated and relaxed in the tranquillity of the resort’s serene vicinity. We thank you for commending our staff and we are glad that our staff was able to pamper you in the classic Sterling way.

Sincerely,

The Sterling Holidays Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2018

Sterling Fern Hill Otty Resort is a dream destination surely, set amidst the Valleys and Green Land Pastures, this property is a great place to be in. Spent 3 days with family and every minute was a treat. The service standards are superb, response time is exceptional, staff attitude is great and they are extremely caring, gentle, courteous and very efficient.

In particular, Subhda at Guest Relations was Stunningly Amazing, Highly Caring, Highly effective and efficient, and her attitude was simply superb. She was very proactive in her approach and made us feel like a guest at her home.

Many thanks to her and all the personne there for making this a pleasurable and momerable trip for us

Stayed: September 2018
Thank abbasisonly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SterlingHolidays, Owner at Sterling Ooty Fern Hill, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Sir,

Namaste!

Thank you for choosing to holiday with us at Sterling Ooty Fern Hill. We appreciate you taking the time to share your review of our resort.

We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for mentioning the features that you liked the most. At Sterling Ooty Fern Hill we seek to bring together the best of hospitality and nature at our strategically located resort. Thank you for commending our staff, they try hard to keep our guests satisfied as per the Sterling way. It gives us great pleasure to know that you thoroughly enjoyed our services and your feedback has been passed on to staff members.

Promise nothing but the best – always.

Sincerely,

The Sterling Holidays Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2018

It seems my and my family has fallen in love with Sterling Fern Hill Resort as we have come back here after a gap of just six months and now for us Ooty means Sterling Fern Hill Resort and nothing short of that. You must be wondering why..Come here and you will also fall in love for the reasons of its location at the top of the hill, exquisitely maintained lawns, panoramic view of Pine Covered hills, sprawling spread, lovely cottages built at various levels, brilliant large rooms in the main building, excellent restaurant with awesome spread, activity room, Spa etc etc. We do not go out of the hotel and just chill and enjoy the scenic exuberance sitting in the room terrace. The weather has always been nice here with cool breeze flowing across the property. If it rains, the beauty of this place goes up by miles and during winter, you can feel Scotland in India with biting wind cutting across though inside the hotel or rooms the heaters will keep you warm. The food here is sumptuous and you will be spoiled for spread. The hotel is very professionally managed under its Operation Manager Rajeev and the entire staff is customer friendly and well behaved. If you want, you can visit a lot many places around Ooty and the hotel can arrange for your trips. We went there on 7th September for 2 days and enjoyed to the core and came back completely charged up. This is a good location for Corporate get togethers, conferences, training programs etc and they have facilities to accomodate more than 400 people at one go in this location and another 200 plus in Sterling Elk Hill resort which is just 3 km away. I give a big Thumps Up for this Resort.

Room Tip: Rooms on the right side of the Hotel or the Front side rooms
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saugata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SterlingHolidays, Owner at Sterling Ooty Fern Hill, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Sir,

Namaste!

Thank you for choosing to holiday with us at Sterling Ooty Fern Hill. We appreciate you taking the time to share your review of our resort.

We are elated to receive such a positive review of our resort. Thank you for such a detailed explanation of your holiday experience.

We are pleased to know that you had a memorable stay with us. At Sterling Ooty Fern Hill we seek to bring together the best of hospitality and nature at our strategically located resort. Thank you for commending our staff members. They are committed to deliver a holidaying experience second to none. We welcome your earnest feedback – the same has also been shared with the Resort Management team to enhance the overall resort experience.

Please look forward to welcoming you again at our expansive range of resorts located across India.

Sincerely,

The Sterling Holidays Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2018 via mobile

I loved my stay here, staff was very friendly, I had asked for some pre arrangements for my Husband bday, and they helped me celebrate the bday with all way possible. Arul and Dinesh helped with room decorations and room was nicely decorated. A big thanks to Shubhda for being one point of contact for everything. SPA, Food, interior, room services, cleanliness well maintained.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Journey814869
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SterlingHolidays, Owner at Sterling Ooty Fern Hill, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Sir,

Namaste!

Thank you for choosing to holiday with us at Sterling Ooty Fern Hill. We appreciate you taking the time to share your review of our resort.

We are pleased to know that you had a memorable stay. Our resort is aimed at providing a holidaying experience like no other where our guests can connect, spend time with their loved ones and enjoy the hospitality of the highest standard. We thank you for commending our staff members who are the representatives of Sterling’s core beliefs – to leave no stone unturned in ensuring that our guests feel welcomed and are taken care of.

Please visit our website to know more about our exclusive membership offers and deals. Looking forward to welcoming you again.

Sincerely,

The Sterling Holidays Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2018

As usual the booking process was seam-less even though requested for a booking for the very next day.
My son Aashish decided on having a trip to ooty the very next day and on request
for a booking they obliged readily. Thanks to the booking guys.
Sterling Fern Hill is really among one of the best well maintained sterling properties.
To top it all, the entire staff is just great in hospitality, service,well mannered and are equally very polite. The food is great, both A-La-Carte as well as buffet, both are satisfactory.
Hear I must mention the lovely gesture from the house-keeping staff. They arranged a beautiful Towel-decoration looking like a doll on the bed for my 7 months old grand-son. They did it while my son's family had gone out for sight-seeing. They were really very touched by the warmth and affection.My heart-felt Thanks Guys.
My son had opted for buffet combo and at dinner they had only taken some starters and soup but as the baby started crying,they had to leave for room.Here too they readily helped by sending food to the room.You see these all may seem just routine and small, but these are the things which remain in one's mind for ever and make one Good resort into a Great one.Once again Thanks Guys.
Aashish and family stayed in room nos. 1601 towards the valley and loved the views.
For elderly people I personally suggest rooms near to the reception area as the climbing from valley side cottages is quite steep.

Room Tip: elderly and people with some aches and pains choose rooms nearer the reception area to avoid the steep climbings
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sushil612014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SterlingHolidays, Owner at Sterling Ooty Fern Hill, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Sir,

Namaste!

Thank you for choosing to holiday with us at Sterling Ooty Fern Hill. We appreciate you taking the time to share your review of our resort.

Thank you for such a detailed description of your stay. We are glad to know that we could make your stay with us memorable in more ways than one. At Sterling we believe that our guests deserve only the best and Sterling Ooty Fern Hill is no different. Providing customized service, leaving no stone unturned in pampering the guests and dishing out gourmet delights are some of the features that we take pride in.

We are joyous to learn that our staff and services were able to add much delight to your holidaying experience. Thank you for the room tip, it will surely help our other guests in the future.

We look forward to welcoming you at our vast range of resorts located at some of the most beautiful places across India.

Sincerely,

The Sterling Holidays Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews