We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,472)
Filter reviews
1,472 results
Traveller rating
630
553
144
58
87
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
630
553
144
58
87
Show reviews that mention
All reviews time share holiday activities house keeping main building room service travel desk great resort activity area huge property front office memorable holiday in room dining special mention housekeeping staff special thanks buffet spread the entire staff
Filter
Updating list...
214 - 219 of 1,472 reviews
Reviewed 5 February 2018

Ooty have been my favourite destination for short holidays for last 8 years and I have stayed in various hotels. This is the first time I stayed with Sterling Ooty Fern Hill and got completely awestruck. The Hotel is more a resort than a typical hotel and its structure and ambience is awesome. The hotel is situated at the top of the hill..so the scenic offerings are at the best and the sprawlingness of the approach as well as the well kept gardens are really stunning. Hats off to the management and the stuff of this resort who have been maintaining this huge property in such a nice manner. They have 175 rooms of various types. The main building has the restaurant in the ground floor, Bar, reading room, conference room and some beautifully decorated Premier and Luxury rooms. Apart from that, they have cottages which distinctly have the European touch.The lawns are lush green. They have the provisions for bonfire.They have a small activity room and a children pay centre and very well managed Spa run by Tattva. The restaurant is very well appointed and the food spread is vast. The breakfast is part of the package and is lavish. The service is very good and the cleanliness is impeccable. The rooms are large, fitted with LED TVs and a kitchenette. The toilets are large, very clean and the accessories are branded. I would like to mention here few names who are really making sure that the guests are at their ease always. These people are the assets. they are Mr Rajib-Operations manager, Mr Ravindra- Reservation manager and Mrs Sinha- F&B manager. The other associates also are equally experienced and well trained and made sure that my every demand is met to my satisfaction. I would like to thank Sterling Fern Hill for making my family very happy and this is going to my only destination in Ooty henceforth.

Stayed: January 2018
2  Thank saugata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SterlingHolidays, Owner at Sterling Ooty Fern Hill, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2018

Dear Sir /Ma'am,

Namaste!

Thank you for holidaying with us at Sterling Ooty Fern Hill and taking the time to review our resort. Nothing gives us more joy than reading a heartfelt review like yours — thank you! We are grateful for your encouraging comments about our resort, staff and food and extremely happy that you felt comfortable throughout your stay.

We’re already looking forward to pampering you on your next visit!

Sincerely,

The Sterling Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2018

A priceless journey, it had been to the hill station last summer. We were hosted courteously and had 2 comfortable nights at the cosy cottage rooms. Great lawn areas for a brisk walk or to enjoy the blue mountains sipping a cup of warm tea (‘Nilgiri’ translated).There were entertainments like ball dance. The stay was more enjoyable than sight seeing definitely.

Room Tip: best views, comfortable
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AswinN38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SterlingHolidays, Owner at Sterling Ooty Fern Hill, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2018

Dear Sir,

Namaste!

Thank you for choosing to holiday differently at Sterling Ooty Fern Hill and for writing such warm words about us.

Thank you for all the encouraging words about our staff service. We’re glad they were of special assistance.

We’re also delighted to hear that you absolutely loved the property amenities and the activities.

Also, a big thank you for sharing the room tips with the fellow travelers.

We’re looking forward to welcoming you again.

Sincerely,
The Sterling Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2018

The hotel is on top of a hill and we had a fabulous view from our room, overlooking tea gardens and forest. So far so good. However getting to the hotel is a very bumpy ride along roads which are filthy and not maintained. That's not the fault of the hotel management, rather the local authority but it is nonetheless off putting as a first impression. The hotel itself is spacious and bright and the staff did everything to make us feel welcome. We were looked after in the evenings by the chefs who made freebies like cookies , hand made chocolates for us and the food was very good and very reasonably priced.

1. Quality of food was OK.
2. Room Service was not so good but acceptable as it’s a big property.
3. Room was spacious, with attached kitchenette
4. Bathroom was spacious and clean with all the fixtures working and well maintained.
5. The views from the room were good
6. Recreation zone was very good and had lot of engaging things for all ages of kids.

Cons :

1. No Gymnasium, refused to provide Yoga Mat during my stay. Really it bothers me.
2. Checkout time is 10 AM, which I think should be 12 PM, the same as check in time.
3. Shuttle must be more in numbers to cater prompt service especially in peak seasons.
4. And there is WiFi only in the public areas, not in the rooms as usual in Sterling Properties. Request to get rid off from that orthodox policy.
5. Communication to this property via Twitter or mail is poor.It's the leaking area for Brands like Thomas Cook with Sterling when technology migrates to Cloud and we are talking on Bots or AI.
6. Frequent Power supply interruption. You need to fix up this.

Looking forward to visiting the resort yet another time! May on next year, summer'18.

Stayed: May 2017
Thank Dhrubashis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SterlingHolidays, Owner at Sterling Ooty Fern Hill, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2018

Dear Sir,
Namaste!

We are grateful to be the recipients of a detailed feedback of your stay with us at Sterling Ooty Fern Hill.
Ooty is undoubtedly one of India’s most scenic hill stations and we are glad that our resort could help you make the most out of its serene beauty. Thank you for commending our staff members’ humble efforts to make you feel welcomed in the typical Sterling way! We are glad that you loved our rooms.
Thank you for sharing with us the aspects that we need to improve. Our guests are our greatest source of inspiration and we are grateful to you for your valuable suggestions. We assure you the concerned team will look into all possible ways to enhance the overall resort experience.
It was a delight to host you!

Sincerely,
The Sterling Holidays Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2018 via mobile

As we are members of sterling holidays.It was a great 6 days experience.we enjoyed the stay .staff is helpful.But never go for food .under quality and expensive.overall experience was good.club house and huge rooms are added point.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Pranav D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SterlingHolidays, Owner at Sterling Ooty Fern Hill, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2018

Dear Sir,
Namaste!

We are grateful to you for holidaying at Sterling Ooty Fern Hill.
It is always a delight to host our member guests. Thank you for commending our staff members and amenities. However, we regret to know that our dining options added little joy to your palate. We have alerted the concerned team with your inputs.
We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Sincerely,
The Sterling Holidays Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2018

We had a fantastic stay at this place. The hotel has a very good location. Some of the rooms do not have that great the view of the mountains. Backside rooms have a really great view of mountains. The room was clean and equipped with all modern amenities. They also provided room Heater. Staff was friendly. Breakfast was good. I felt dinner was overpriced.

Stayed: January 2018
Thank AbhijeetSawant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SterlingHolidays, Owner at Sterling Ooty Fern Hill, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2018

Dear Sir,
Namaste!

We thank you for sharing your positive review about your holiday at Sterling Ooty Fern Hill.
Our highly rated rooms are our way of pampering guests in the typical Sterling way and we glad that you could make the most out of it. We are pleased to know that the scenic ambience could help you fondly remember your holiday. Our staff members would be delighted to know that they could make you feel welcomed. We have suggestions with the F&B team.
We await the pleasure to host you again!

Sincerely,
The Sterling Holidays Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews