We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restaurant is average but no other good choice”
Review of Hotel Durga

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Hotel Durga
Ranked #99 of 153 Restaurants in Ooty
Cuisines: Indian
Restaurant details
Bangalore, India
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Restaurant is average but no other good choice”
Reviewed 7 June 2012

I had been here for breakfast lunch and dinner, had masala dosa, rava onion dosa and meals..
Food quality is not clean, except rava onion dosa i didnt find the other menu tasty. Meals was horrible for me. Coffee and tea are tasteless. I must admit that it is in the heart of the city at Charring cross where most of the visitors walk around, and there is no much of a veg restaurants in the town. So if u dont have a better veg choice then u've to adjust with the taste and quality. The service was satisfactory. They provide hot water too for drinking.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sany6666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    8
    8
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“decent food, VERY BAD SERVICE”
Reviewed 21 April 2012

Do consider this restaurant, if you are ok with waiting for 15 minutes before you get some one to ask what you want. Also another 20 minutes to serve you Idli, Poori or dosa. Please dont mind if your bill is not accurate.
i found most of the visitors were upset during our visit to this restaurant.
food is good. i liked the quality of poori and dosa. But SERVICE minus 10 Points.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Thisissharath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Value for Money”
Reviewed 12 April 2012

The hotel is located near Charing Cross at the centre of city. The hotel offers clean rooms and bathrooms. No geyser for 24 hours hot water but the hotel does provide hot water through dedicated pipeline during the morning hours only. The hot water is brackish and brown in colour which is masked by similar colour buckets and mugs. Overall a good place for budget travel !

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gourabd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Good Taste...Reasonable Cost”
Reviewed 6 February 2012

Visited Hotel Durga along with my wife on Jan 27 2012. This hotel serves hot Idlis,Vada, Poori , Uttappam, all type of Dosa's. The taste of Idli/Vada is very good. All dishes are served along with two types of chutney, which tastes very good.
We had Idli/Vada, Poori , Pongal which was excellent. we enjoyed the aroma & taste of the delicacies. Finally we completed our breakfast with steaming hot cup of coffee.

Average Meal for Two: 150 Rs.
Serves only Vegetarian food !!

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Adarsh_Venkatraju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hotel Durga also viewed

Ooty, The Nilgiris District
Ooty, The Nilgiris District
 
Ooty, The Nilgiris District
Ooty, The Nilgiris District
 

Been to Hotel Durga? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing