We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Earl's Secret

Earl's Secret
Ranked #1 of 143 Restaurants in Ooty
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, View, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Validated Parking, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2012

Fantastic food and lovely ambience. Service is good too. Muct try whilst in Ooty.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bhaatia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

388 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    179
    141
    41
    9
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pisa, Italy
Level Contributor
57 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Is ok if you stay in the hotel, but no if you have to come just for eating”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2011

This place is really expensive and if your a guest of the hotel you don't have the choice but to eat here. The food continetal is not so good at all, especially the pasta: really overcooked. The indian food is ok. The only nice thing is the british atmosphere with fireplace and wood. Also there is music in the lobby but beside that I would not raccomend to reach this place (quite far from ooty). Also they have some fake thing in the menu!!! You read "steak", you order it and you find out that what they call steak is actually an Hamburger!!! they do not serve alchol (not even a beer) but we saw some customer drinking vodka and whisky while eating!!! Bleah!

    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kinzica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food, but missing cutlery! Yet, loved their food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

Try their prawn and chicken dishes, however, reconfirm the order a few times. The waiters struggle with english. But with the yummy food, you will soon forget all that. Dont forget to get some coffee in the outside glass house and enjoy the veiw!

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Ridz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A restaurant that completely fails on service standards”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2011

We were visiting Ooty when a friend recommended this place. Being a Sunday the place was fairly packed and we reached there almost at 1:30 pm for lunch. The place looked nice and it looked like there were a lot of regulars in the restaurant. We ordered some Chinese food and started waiting. We dint know that this was the beginning of a horrifying and ugly experience for us.
In the next hour we saw around 4 tables served (they were seated after us) and everytime we enquired, we were told that the food's on its way. It was more than 80 minutes when my husband lost his cool and started arguing with the staff. Finally the food arrived on trays and was set on the counter from where the waiter was supposed to pick and serve to our table. There was nobody around and we were just sitting and waiting. All this while since the counter was close enough we could see the food lying on the table waiting worthlessly for some waiter to turn up and set the table for us.
It was but natural for us after a 90 minute wait to help ourselves. So My husband got up and started carting the cutlery, plates etc to the table. Out of nowhere this floor manager appeared and pushed him. He took such a humiliating tone with us. I lost my cool too and joined in the commotion. He shouted at us "You are guests so behave like guests". Interesting to note is that all this while nobody from the senior management had to audacity to cool this fellow who doesn't understand even the basic courtesy of service industry. Everything entirely their fault, and the employee had the guts to be physical with us. Ultimately one Mr Gupta (from the hotel) intervened and cooled things down. That guy was taken away and everybpdy else (except for the culprit) was apologising to us. We sat down eating (with obviously no appetite left, efter such humiliation, but we had nowhere else to go at this hour for lunch). The food was pathetic. It was cold and tasted like it was cooked about 30- 40 ago and was just lying around somewhere. Chinese food doesn't take much time to cook and all this while the restaurant staff was busy convincing us that Chinese food (hardly 4 dishes) takes 60 minutes to cook. Why resort to so much lying? Why not just ADMIT your mistake?
everybody who was seated in this area was witness to this episode and one of the families were kind enough to tell the staff that "whatever happened should not have happened. Your guy was disgusting. We saw him illtreating customers in front of everybody else". Obviously that dint matter to Earls Court.
And guess what kind of organisation Earls Court is! We could see the fellow back in the eating area in just 10 minutes, serving others as if nothing happened.
Earls Court not only lacks efficiency, but decency and common courtesy as well. In fact they promote this kind of behavior by supporting such actions from their service staff. I cant recall his name right now but whenever I look back at that Ooty trip I have so much bitterness associated with this one episode. They managed to spoil our day.
After all that happened, they dint not even waive off the bill. The employee did not apologise to us and no action was taking against him.
Its such testing situations when any hotel/ restaurant can prove its worth to their customers. When you commit mistakes, you should apologise. Had they told us from the beginning that they are short of staff and its fairly busy we could have gone elsewhere or ordered something that they could have produced in a shorter time. But they kept on covering up with stupid reasons and lousy excuses. On top of that the staff misbehaves and no action is taken. The food is also sub standard (we all know how local chinese food tastes when it gets cold. The cornflour kind of becomes thicker and you can taste it in the gravy.)
I would NEVER RECOMMEND this place either for its ambience or for its food. You might as well enjoy at a fairly decent place that respects its customers and admits its mistakes.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
9 Thank Priyanka R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nasik (Nashik), Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2011

Great food, service cleanliness. Great location..can visit once

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Nimisha K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Earl's Secret also viewed

 

Been to Earl's Secret? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing