We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay at a beautiful location with great service”
Review of The Monarch Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Monarch Hotel
Ranked #50 of 94 Hotels in Ooty
Reviewed 6 July 2012

The Hotel location was really good. The view of the valley from the room window was really nice. The food offered in the restaurant was also good. The service staff offered good hospitality. It is very close to the botanical garden.

Room Tip: Rooms on the valley view are really good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank amitdpatil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (114)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

80 - 84 of 114 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2012

I think this hotel belong to famous Bollywood star Mithun Chakroborty. Hotel is nicely located on top of the hill, has got very good view from the rooms. At the recption you find many awards kept which was received by Mithun Chakroborty. Hotel interior is good, but rooms need to be upgraded as it seems to be very old & that you can make out once you enter into the rooms & bathrooms. Rooms needs to be redone. Staffs are OK, Young staffs are very energetic, but old one are seems to be very relax not caring. Food is OK.

Room Tip: They should choose the rooms having back hill view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shankara123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2012

we stay for 2 days in may , interior is old in hotel , ooty may be have little problem with electric power cut but they don't have instant back up it take few minutes to restart electric supply , i stuck few times in lift . i ask for room heater but they told me they don't have

staff is nice & help full, they provide jain breakfast + they change room also.

view from hotel is also not great, & not much activity in hotel

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amit1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2012

this is a typical indian hill station -type - big block - no charm hotel .
No taste, didn't even know what it was until i went in.
Such a BEAUTIFUL amazing location ( on top of all ooty) but such a terrible hotel.
Staff was ok. it is HUGE looks like a conference room inside , no place to chill outside despite the view, un-tidy , dirty : columns taped with sticky tape , dirt on the floor, chairs pilling outside with no purpose, garbage at the entrance - my gosh i can't express how berk this place is. they could have done something so nice and instead they just do another big BLOCK like someones ego put on top of a hill. now saying all this it might suit some indian tastes - as i been to several places recommended by easterns and know that easterners and westerners have very very different tastes. one sentence : Westerners stay away from it !

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GoldStarfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

My Wife and I stayed here for just one night after a trip on the famous railway. The location is quite a way from the town and up a steep hill so a tuktuk was required when we wanted to see some of the sights of Ooty. The Reception and central Atrium show what a great place this was once many years ago and is still very impressive. However the rooms are in desperate need of an update and the corridors are dimly lit which makes them look even worse.
Our room was large but the bathroom was dirty with a lot of rust and rot around the bath. In addition the original shower head was no longer working and a hand shower with no support was provided so that you had to hold it all of the time!
We found the food and drink was OK but the service was poor. We asked for a glass of wine to be served outside on the lawn and were assured that it would take only a minute or two - it turned out to take 35 minutes.
We have given it a neutral rating because for one night it was bearable and the views were good.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank silverfox1942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ooty hotels
0 km away
OYO 8731 Bell flower
OYO 8731 Bell flower
#34 of 94 in Ooty
10 reviews
3.3 km away
Sterling Ooty Fern Hill
0.9 km away
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 km away
Glyngarth Resorts
Glyngarth Resorts
#21 of 94 in Ooty
61 reviews
2.6 km away
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
0.6 km away
Gem Park-Ooty
Gem Park-Ooty
#10 of 94 in Ooty
703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Monarch Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Monarch Hotel

Address: Off Havelock Road | Church Hill, Ooty 643001, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > The Nilgiris District > Ooty
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 94 Hotels in Ooty
Price Range: ₹ 3,376 - ₹ 6,688 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Monarch Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MakeMyTrip, Yatra, Agoda and TravelGuru so you can book your The Monarch Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing