We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A Bit Past It's Sell by Date!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Monarch Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Monarch Hotel
Ranked #33 of 78 Hotels in Ooty
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
207 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“A Bit Past It's Sell by Date!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

My Wife and I stayed here for just one night after a trip on the famous railway. The location is quite a way from the town and up a steep hill so a tuktuk was required when we wanted to see some of the sights of Ooty. The Reception and central Atrium show what a great place this was once many years ago and is still very impressive. However the rooms are in desperate need of an update and the corridors are dimly lit which makes them look even worse.
Our room was large but the bathroom was dirty with a lot of rust and rot around the bath. In addition the original shower head was no longer working and a hand shower with no support was provided so that you had to hold it all of the time!
We found the food and drink was OK but the service was poor. We asked for a glass of wine to be served outside on the lawn and were assured that it would take only a minute or two - it turned out to take 35 minutes.
We have given it a neutral rating because for one night it was bearable and the views were good.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank silverfox1942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    34
    24
    11
    17
See reviews for
45
32
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Durham
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

Inside, this hotel was once extremely glamorous, but that was late sixties/early seventies and is now in dire need of a refurbishment. Dark and dingy. Apart from the decor, the hotel was very average, and making allowances for the age of the bathrooms they were fairly clean. It's a good walk to the centre of Ooty, uphill on the way back. There's a good hotel/restaurant about 5 minutes walk away which gives another eating option.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AJMill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

I happen to be in the Nilgiri's valley (Ooty) which has some brilliant yet scenic places and hotels, one in which happens to be "The Monarch Hotel". Well the name speaks a lot in itself and specially when it comes from a backing of none other that Mithun Da.... I happened to dine at The Monarch quite recently with my family only on one big fact that its comes from Mithun Da's name. I have to admit that the outside guests like me are not treated in the same way at the ones staying there, till the time I dined the restaurant was full of hooligans (guest staying for a conference) who had no respect for other people dining over there, all above the staff at the restaurant had no say to stop the crowd, in addition to this my order was not very well taken .......... Its quite unfortunate to see all this coming from the very name that I had vouched on. I certainly cannot recommend it to anyone, even though I never stayed at The Monarch but I wish all the best to all who make their trip to this place, I hope Mithun Da is listening to its Fan's STILL

Room Tip: Guys please pull up your socks before you really get kicked out of the business .....
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chigg77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ooty hotels

Gold Coast
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

I was hoping for some good clean accommodation, disappointed to see this hotel is linked to a famed Indian actor, with his trophies on display at reception. Hotel poorly presented, kitchen staff disorganized . I will not recommend stay here.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AdelaideCrows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurgaon, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2012

I stayed 2 nights with my family the room was ok...but had peeling plaster & old furniture.
The food was very bad...in one word Taste Less.We had prepaid for our breakfast & dinner but the staff in the restaurant behaved as if they were doing us a favour by serving food.
The food was the worst part of our stay as the first night food did not have salt,Second night during dinner aghain poor quality of food & service...Complete waste of Money

Stayed at the Hotel in the first week of Jan'12

Room Tip: Don't eat at the hotel restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sameep18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ooty hotels
1.6 km away
Sabol Holiday Resorts
2.6 km away
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
0.5 km away
Gem Park-Ooty
Gem Park-Ooty
#9 of 78 in Ooty
4.0 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Meadows Residency - Ooty
4.1 km away
Hill Country Holiday Resort Lovedale
0.1 km away
King's Cliff
King's Cliff
#11 of 78 in Ooty
4.0 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Monarch Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Monarch Hotel

Property: The Monarch Hotel
Address: Off Havelock Road | Church Hill, Ooty 643001, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Ooty
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 78 Hotels in Ooty
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,044 - ₹ 14,828
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ClearTrip and TravelGuru so you can book your The Monarch Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing