We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hill Country Lovedale
Ranked #33 of 85 Hotels in Ooty
Reviewed 7 June 2012

Had been there for my honeymoon and the place was excellent. Good property with friendly staff and good food and entertainment facilities. they also help in arranging cab for local sight seeing and pick up/drop from nearest airport. All in all, its a good place to visit

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Swetasan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hill c, Guest Relations Manager at Hill Country Lovedale, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2014

Thanks sir for the review, it is of immense value to us. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at Hill Country. Hoping to serve you soon again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (169)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

151 - 155 of 169 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2012

Not worth the money we pay.

Let me 1st start with positives,
Location & Rooms: Very good loaction with the valley view.
Around 2Km away from Ooty main city keeps the place very calm and peaceful.
Rooms are spacious and well maintained.
Bonfire place is a highlight.
Nicely maintained lawn everywhere in the resort.

Now the negatives:
Food: Breakfast was good, dinners were bad.
Beverages / Snacks are on the expensive side and the quality and taste makes them unworthy. Aerated drinks are served at room temp :-(.
Room: No refrigerator, no fan, no AC in premium suits, i wonder what will happen when its too cold without AC.
Service: I would call it Pathetic!!, why because 1. Very very delayed service, we wanted the bonfire to be arranged by 7:00pm, it was arranged at 8:45pm and 9:00pm rain played a spoilt sport. 2. Other day we had a candle light dinner booked for 9:00 pm, it was arranged at 10:30pm with only one used candle which was burning on its reserve wax. 3. While checking out we called the room service to pick our luggage back to our car and we had to wait for 30min. We could have carried it ourselves but climbing up with the luggage to the car parking area was a challenge.

If you dont care about service then this is a very good place to visit.
If you care about the service then its a waste of money.

Irrespective of all this enjoy the holiday.. Have fun, Cheers.... :)

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms with the valley view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnirudhNagoji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2012

Amazing resort but horrible food. The place is 5 km away from ooty and to go out and eat every time is a pain. The breakfast was so horrible that all of us had stomach upset. We had no other option but to go out and eat all the meals. The location is amazing and the resort is lush green. The view from the room is just amazing.

If i don't mind starving for breakfast and drive 10 km for a meal i would stay there again or else i won't dare go near that resort again.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank akhilbhansali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hill c, Guest Relations Manager at Hill Country Lovedale, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2014

We are so glad to know that you found Hill Country to be an amazing resort. We will surely address the concerns mentioned by you regarding the food and we assure you that needful will be done so that you have a memorable vacation the next time you stay at the resort. Thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2012

One of the best hotel stay experience in my life! Beautiful scenic view of the Nilgiri mountain and the Ketti Valley from the rooms. The hotel has been nicely constructed along the slopes of the hills. Walking along the garden pathway while enjoying the scenic beauty of the mountain is a breadth talking experience! Food is average, but everything else is extraordinary. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SandipBhattacharya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hill c, Guest Relations Manager at Hill Country Lovedale, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2014

Thank you sir for your review, it is of immense value to us. Hill country is privileged to serve you, your happiness and comfort during your stay at the resort is of utmost importance to us. Looking forward to have you visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2012

After reviewing so many hotels here , I decided to try my luck with hill country. I called the manager and got my reservations done in advance very smoothly.
After a 7 hour travel from bangalore , reached the place by 2 pm. As soon as I entered the property , I felt I couldn't have opted for a better hotel in ooty. There was some Tamil movie shooting going on there also.

Room - I went for suite with valley view ( If you dont get this suite , then you are going to miss the valley view . So only opt for room with valley view.). Room was spacious and well maintained. TV was 21" old style
Washroom - Ok not too big but no complaints.
Food - Lacks variety especially north Indian . South Indian food was delicious.
Staff - No complaints. helpful and polite.

Room Tip: Only choose rooms with valley view. Better to have own vehicle since its away from the town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grs476
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hill c, Guest Relations Manager at Hill Country Lovedale, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2014

Thanks sir for the review, it is of immense value to us. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at Hill Country. Hoping to serve you soon again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ooty hotels
3.0 km away
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
3.9 km away
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
5.1 km away
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 km away
Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort
3.3 km away
Fortune Hotel Sullivan Court
4.9 km away
Gem Park-Ooty
Gem Park-Ooty
#10 of 85 in Ooty
685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hill Country Lovedale? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hill Country Lovedale

Address: Grand Duff Road, Valley View | Lovedale, Ooty 643003, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > The Nilgiris District > Ooty
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 85 Hotels in Ooty
Price Range: ₹ 4,105 - ₹ 12,314 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hill Country Lovedale 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the slope of a gentle hill in the Nilgiri range, overlooking the breathtaking Ketti Valley, the resort provides the perfect escape from the demanding city life. A quiet undisturbed hamlet just a few kilometers short of Ooty, the setting is idyllic and the weather salubrious. For the romantics among you, there is no better place to reignite those sparks as you serenade your partner amidst the gentle hill slopes and wild blossoms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, ClearTrip, Yatra, MakeMyTrip and TravelGuru so you can book your Hill Country Lovedale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing