We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing resort horrible food.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hill Country Holiday Resort Lovedale
Ranked #29 of 82 Hotels in Ooty
Chennai
Level Contributor
79 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Amazing resort horrible food.”
Reviewed 30 May 2012

Amazing resort but horrible food. The place is 5 km away from ooty and to go out and eat every time is a pain. The breakfast was so horrible that all of us had stomach upset. We had no other option but to go out and eat all the meals. The location is amazing and the resort is lush green. The view from the room is just amazing.

If i don't mind starving for breakfast and drive 10 km for a meal i would stay there again or else i won't dare go near that resort again.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank akhilbhansali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hill c, Guest Relations Manager at Hill Country Holiday Resort Lovedale, responded to this review, 26 November 2014
We are so glad to know that you found Hill Country to be an amazing resort. We will surely address the concerns mentioned by you regarding the food and we assure you that needful will be done so that you have a memorable vacation the next time you stay at the resort. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    53
    33
    10
    7
See reviews for
88
41
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chennai, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2012

One of the best hotel stay experience in my life! Beautiful scenic view of the Nilgiri mountain and the Ketti Valley from the rooms. The hotel has been nicely constructed along the slopes of the hills. Walking along the garden pathway while enjoying the scenic beauty of the mountain is a breadth talking experience! Food is average, but everything else is extraordinary. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandipBhattacharya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hill c, Guest Relations Manager at Hill Country Holiday Resort Lovedale, responded to this review, 26 November 2014
Thank you sir for your review, it is of immense value to us. Hill country is privileged to serve you, your happiness and comfort during your stay at the resort is of utmost importance to us. Looking forward to have you visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

After reviewing so many hotels here , I decided to try my luck with hill country. I called the manager and got my reservations done in advance very smoothly.
After a 7 hour travel from bangalore , reached the place by 2 pm. As soon as I entered the property , I felt I couldn't have opted for a better hotel in ooty. There was some Tamil movie shooting going on there also.

Room - I went for suite with valley view ( If you dont get this suite , then you are going to miss the valley view . So only opt for room with valley view.). Room was spacious and well maintained. TV was 21" old style
Washroom - Ok not too big but no complaints.
Food - Lacks variety especially north Indian . South Indian food was delicious.
Staff - No complaints. helpful and polite.

Room Tip: Only choose rooms with valley view. Better to have own vehicle since its away from the town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grs476
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hill c, Guest Relations Manager at Hill Country Holiday Resort Lovedale, responded to this review, 3 December 2014
Thanks sir for the review, it is of immense value to us. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at Hill Country. Hoping to serve you soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2012

Resort is about a km from Ooty - Coonor road. In winter and rainy season it is difficult to locate the hotel because of mist. There was no apa when we visited as advertised in their web site. If you are specific about spa please check and get the confirmation before you book. Service is very bad here. I had to call at least 5 times to get a room heater. Food quality was good. There are no activities in the resort. Very expensive. We had to book this as other good hotels and resorts were full.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Praviblr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
179 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2011

The Hill Country resort is little away from Ooty town and is very near Lovedale station for toy trains. The resort has a very sprawling garden which looks over to tea gardens of ooty and its outskirts.
The Rooms are big with all the amneties and Bed are done with a very nice exotic Towel Ducks. It gives a good impression when one enters the room. The Bathroom are small when compared to Rooms. They also have a small kitchen unit attached in the room. The Design of cottages and penthouses are very English style Villa with nice corridors.
Our Bedroom windows was towards the valley so the view was superb from morning.
The Dining area is little small and food was not enough Hot when served. The service and reception was friendly and good.
The Garden area is well maintained with all kind of seasonal and Indian flowers and local tress.
This is highly recommended for Couples and Family .

Room Tip: Our Bedroom windows was towards the valley so the view was superb from morning. Choose the rooms tow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank saish746
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hill c, Guest Relations Manager at Hill Country Holiday Resort Lovedale, responded to this review, 25 November 2014
We are overjoyed to know that you had the best resort experience at Hill Country. We are looking forward to have to stay with us again for yet another wonderful experience. Thank you for sharing your experience, it is of immense value to Hill Country Hotels and Resorts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ooty hotels
3.9 km away
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
5.2 km away
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
3.3 km away
Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 km away
Fortune Hotel Sullivan Court
3.0 km away
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
11.6 km away
Glyngarth Resorts
Glyngarth Resorts
#24 of 82 in Ooty
4.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hill Country Holiday Resort Lovedale? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hill Country Holiday Resort Lovedale

Property: Hill Country Holiday Resort Lovedale
Address: Valley View Granduff Road | Lovedale, Ooty 643003, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > The Nilgiris District > Ooty
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 82 Hotels in Ooty
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,568 - ₹ 15,116
Hotel Class:4 star — Hill Country Holiday Resort Lovedale 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the slope of a gentle hill in the Nilgiri range, overlooking the breathtaking Ketti Valley, the resort provides the perfect escape from the demanding city life. A quiet undisturbed hamlet just a few kilometers short of Ooty, the setting is idyllic and the weather salubrious. For the romantics among you, there is no better place to reignite those sparks as you serenade your partner amidst the gentle hill slopes and wild blossoms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ClearTrip and Yatra so you can book your Hill Country Holiday Resort Lovedale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing