We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lonely weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hill Country Holiday Resort Lovedale
Ranked #29 of 83 Hotels in Ooty
Chennai, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lonely weekend”
Reviewed 27 September 2011

We have been here for a weekend ,having a nice experience and warm hospitality at Kodaikanal of the same firm ,booked here expecting the same,while booking at corporate office here at Chennai they said only 2 rooms are available and is filling fast as its a week end,when we reached we found that only 7 guests where there including us ,only staff were present everywhere
Area wise it is smaller than Kodai
Build up area and landscaping is good
But the resort is located almost 5 km away from city for every drop they charge is 350 which makes to think why we have selected
Food is not up to the mark,
I suggest for those who want to have good time in roaming around is not good choice
as after 6 it becomes dark and access to hotel is horrible and even auto charges 150-200 at night time for mere less than 5 kms
as my profession is related to projects i used to travel all over india and i have been used to hotels this is first time i am hearing and surprised to hear a statement that complimentary water bottle will be given for the first day and not for second
Overall we expected something but experienced diff

Room Tip: best for honeymoon seekers as they will be isolated from city and for those who want to spend weeke...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Baskar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

163 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    54
    35
    10
    7
See reviews for
89
42
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore
Level Contributor
42 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

We stayed at the Hill Country Holiday Resorts in Ooty during the December 31st weekend, for 2 nights. The hotel is not exactly in Ooty but around 5 kms further down. So its away from the hustle and bustle of the main city, which is quite an advantage. It also overlooks the valley and has amazing views from each part. The gardens are well maintained and being on a height you can actually feel surrounded by clouds all around. An awesome feeling I must say!

The rooms are also big with an additional single bed (if you have kids this would be quite useful). They are clean and well maintained and even had a small kitchen. The food was also reasonably good. The hotel had arranged for a New Year's eve party and lots of fireworks as the clock struck 12, which was nice.

Overall we had a nice stay and would definitely like to come back to this resort.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rinky23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hill c, Guest Relations Manager at Hill Country Holiday Resort Lovedale, responded to this review, 3 December 2014
Thanks madam for the review, it is of immense value to us. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at Hill Country. Hoping to serve you soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2011

Considering the trouble I had deciding on it I pushed myself to write this review. Very little info is available on TripAdvisor or YouTube on this hotel. Hardly any photos or videos uploaded anywhere at all. This really left me in a state of uncertainty as to what to expect for what was the second most expensive hotel in ooty. I have been visiting ooty for 21 years now and can feel the crowd growing. Both the visiting crowd and local crowd seem to be increasing every time I visit this wonderful place. It appears pointless to stay within the city limits now. Ooty is all about hills, fresh air and clouds under you. Pamper yourself with this or there is no point in making the journey.

After a seven hour drive through hills, forests and hair pin curves I finally reached this place.The check in had some issues. I was given room no. 102 which was above the reception. Was not too happy with it but still checked in only to find animal hair on the bed sheets. This was not looking good. After some discussion I was shifted to another garden view room higher up the hill. It was too dark and I started feeling uncomfortable. I had never heard of the place before and though I may have made a mistake.

The next morning was a different day all together. With the tiredness gone I stepped out to witness what would be the most beautiful view I have ever seen. The hotel is located on a hill top and spread over three and a half acres of lush green landscaping. It’s like nothing I could have imagined. There are three levels in all. The first level is the admin office, the second the cottages and the third the restaurant. The landscaping of this place is so refreshing you could spend an entire day at the hotel.
At the second level they have a park with a few swings and slides, children would love this. If you’re not keen on using a family swing there is bon fire waiting for you. Wait until they call you one evening to an experience of a lifetime.

There are just twenty rooms in all. Two above the office (these are to be certainly avoided.) Higher up at the next level there are two cottages with two bedrooms each. Next to them is another two blocks with eight rooms each. Four rooms in each block are facing the wonderful ketti valley and the other four having a garden view. If you can’t get the rooms with the view the hotel is not worth the price you’re paying.

After going around a little I got a better idea of the place. Called the reception went up to their office met the manager and upgraded to the view room at an extra charge.

The rooms are quite large and have a basin and kitchen counter at one end. You could carry you own electric / induction stove for cooking.
The cleanliness of the linen was an issue. I don’t think they use the right kind of laundry to do the perfect job. The bed sheets were dirty and stained and appeared to be of a cheap fabric. The mattress was a coil spring and the pillows horrible.

The bathrooms though large have local made geysers. It takes 25 minutes for the water to heat up and once you use the water you would need to wait that much longer for the next heat up. I would have preferred what most hotel use, a centralized heating system. The bath fixtures are local made and not what should have been used in a hotel of this category.




The front office was really efficient and the managers responsive. They addressed all issues promptly. The service staff tried hard to please but clearly they need more people to do the work. The place really lacks manpower.

There is as mentioned before a restaurant high up which is not much like a restaurant. It was a little bigger than my room and airtight. You could suffocate to death if you dinned there. They really need to make something bigger. The food is ok by ooty standards but the prices a complete rip off. You could get food cheaper in the city on commercial road. One place called kabab corner is good there.

It’s one of the best and most expensive options in ooty. You would love the scenic view; the landscaping, your children would love the little park and a small playing room attached to the restaurant. I do believe that the hotel has expansion plans and could become a landmark in ooty if the right kinds of designers are hired for the job.

It was a wonderful experience overall and I would be back in November.

Room Tip: Room with a view or dont do it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Farook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mumbai
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2011

contrary to some bad reviews given on the net, our experience was amazing. they delivered on all the commitments :) we informed that we were on our honeymoon and they took utmost care to ensure our stay was convenient. Excellent support staff and must praise the quality of the food and the overall experience will be a benchmark to any new hotel / resort i/we explore.
ritesh joshi
[--]

Room Tip: opt for continental food
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rish_Joshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hill c, Guest Relations Manager at Hill Country Holiday Resort Lovedale, responded to this review, 25 November 2014
It is thrilling to read about your splendid holiday experience at Hill Country. We are overjoyed and take pride in knowing that you had a memorable vacation at the resort. Thank you so much for sharing your experiences, your feedback add value to the resort. Looking forward to serve you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chennai
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2010

The hotel is located in a very vantage point overlooking a valley. Some of the rooms have excellent views. The rooms are very plesant, well maintained, and extremely cozy.

The walks around the resort will be very invigorating and refreshing. The food is okay and can be more reasonable in pricing. The service is good, but can improve. Overall, just for taking a break from the routines, this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cheeka24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hill c, Guest Relations Manager at Hill Country Holiday Resort Lovedale, responded to this review, 26 November 2014
Thank you sir for your review, it is of immense value to us. Hill country is privileged to serve you, your happiness and comfort during your stay at the resort is of utmost importance to us. Looking forward to have you visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ooty hotels
3.9 km away
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
5.2 km away
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
3.3 km away
Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 km away
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
11.6 km away
Glyngarth Resorts
Glyngarth Resorts
#24 of 83 in Ooty
41 reviews
3.3 km away
Fortune Hotel Sullivan Court
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hill Country Holiday Resort Lovedale? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hill Country Holiday Resort Lovedale

Property: Hill Country Holiday Resort Lovedale
Address: Valley View Granduff Road | Lovedale, Ooty 643003, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > The Nilgiris District > Ooty
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 83 Hotels in Ooty
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,364 - ₹ 13,910
Hotel Class:4 star — Hill Country Holiday Resort Lovedale 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the slope of a gentle hill in the Nilgiri range, overlooking the breathtaking Ketti Valley, the resort provides the perfect escape from the demanding city life. A quiet undisturbed hamlet just a few kilometers short of Ooty, the setting is idyllic and the weather salubrious. For the romantics among you, there is no better place to reignite those sparks as you serenade your partner amidst the gentle hill slopes and wild blossoms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and ClearTrip so you can book your Hill Country Holiday Resort Lovedale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing