We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not recommended”
Review of The Golden Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Golden Park
Ranked #43 of 54 Hotels in Madurai
Reviewed 3 February 2012

+++
1. Nice looking rooms
2. Clean (even if they exagerate with insecticide)
3. 1 km from the Temple
- - -
1. You book at a price 1200 Rs, you are charged 1800 Rs (tariff changed, taxes changed etc)
2. Hot water 6-8 pm (best time to all other activities)
3. Noise outside (street, trains) and inside (TV-s, guest's picnics)
4. Stuff - not caring at all, bad (or selective) knowlege of English
5.No facilities in the room, even not toilet paper, 1 towel for double room

Bad value for money

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank annna_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (56)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 50 of 56 reviews

Reviewed 25 January 2012

We stayed at this place after looking at a few other hotels in the tourist area. It is across the road from the Hotel Chentoor. Be warned if you use google maps to look up the address of this place it will come up in the wrong place, it shows it as east masi st, not west masi st. That's why we didn't see it till we stumbled on to it. That aside it is in the tourist area, not far from the train station. We arrived by bus so that is outside of town a couple of kms.

The rooms are basic but clean enough for India. They have the standard wet room bathroom (like most Indian hotels) with shower wetting everything but it's still fair size bathroom from memory. Our room was on the backside of the hotel, not the road side. It was very quiet, from our window we could see the temple. There was also a massive vacant lot behind the hotel so I think that helped by not blocking the view.

They have a nice rooftop restaurant with pretty tasty food and great view of the temples. The best part was a buffet breakfast is included in the price. We had only a fan (no AC) as it was storming at the time and cool enough with the window open during the day and fan at night. The hotel staff are very friendly, family run business I think. The room was very reasonable for Madurai with most hotels charging a hefty luxury tax. We payed 850rs/night.

I would definately recommend this hotel for Madurai.

Room Tip: Try to get room away from roadside so you can get temple view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Emma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2011

We found that Tamil Nadu hotels generally seem to be a bit below par so we paid more than we usually would to stay here & had no regrets. It's in a good location & our room was very clean & comfortable. Comfy beds, lovely bathroom & great hot shower. The reception staff don't speak much English & we usually had to ask more than once each day before our room was cleaned but their English was a whole lot better than my Tamil & the room always got cleaned eventually. The rooftop restaurant's got a great view but it was always deserted so we never ate there. It was a good clean comfortable hotel & we'd stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank joebloggs12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2009

I had a good stay at this hotel. You will never regret the choice you made when you experience the service provided by this hotel. Breakfast provided by them was extremely good. Like many other hotels in the city, Golden Park also has a roof top restaurant. They serve food there in the evening. I think a hotel without a rooftop restaurant is not considered as a hotel in Madurai.. Every hotels I see in the road has one...

The attitude and the behavior of the boys in the hotel is extremely appreciable. I am happy with Golden Park..........

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank ganrekha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2015
Google Translation

Thank alineno
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madurai hotels
0.6 km away
Treebo Simap Residency
Treebo Simap Residency
#9 of 54 in Madurai
192 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Nambi
Hotel Nambi
#35 of 54 in Madurai
41 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel Padmam
Hotel Padmam
#28 of 54 in Madurai
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Hotel Kathir Palace
Hotel Kathir Palace
#36 of 54 in Madurai
126 reviews
1.7 km away
Hotel Saratha Rajans
Hotel Saratha Rajans
#40 of 54 in Madurai
87 reviews
0.3 km away
Moskva Hotel
Moskva Hotel
#11 of 54 in Madurai
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Golden Park? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Golden Park

Address: 28 West Perumal Maistry Street, Madurai 625001, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Madurai District > Madurai
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 54 Hotels in Madurai
Price Range: ₹ 1,358 - ₹ 1,876 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Golden Park 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ClearTrip, MakeMyTrip and TravelGuru so you can book your The Golden Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Golden Park Hotel Madurai
The Golden Park Madurai, Tamil Nadu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing