We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (822)
Filter reviews
822 results
Traveller rating
143
351
198
71
59
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
143
351
198
71
59
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooftop restaurant railway station meenakshi temple travel desk value for money walkable distance nice hotel room service bus stand convenient location pleasant stay hotel is located front office staff clean rooms the heart of the city busy street main temple
Filter
Updating list...
62 - 67 of 822 reviews
Reviewed 9 December 2017

Stayed at this hotel for a night on 6th of this month, December 2017.

Room was quite big. Linen was crisp and neat. Toilet was clean. Hot water on tap in bathroom available only between 5 AM and 9 AM....

Bed was large.. could easily accommodate a family of 2 adults and 2 kids.

Location is fantastic... It is just 2 minutes' walk from railway station and 15 minutes by walk to temple.

A decent Veg restaurant called Sree Sabarees is hardly 150 yards away.

Front office staff do not seem to be well trained in dealing with guests... very rough and lack polish.

Overall, its a good value for money hotel.

Room Tip: Take the rooms facing away from main road on higher floors
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kkesavan1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManicshahD, General Manager at Madurai Residency, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2018

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Madurai’s Premium Hotel!!!

Thank you for sharing your valuable feedback with us.

It is our earnest objective to ensure that our Guests take home memorable experience each time they stay with us.Your encouraging words mean a lot to us and I have shared the same with the team. The Front office staff has been addressed well and we assure you will be received well by our courteous staff at the reception.If your travel brings you back to Madurai, we would be delighted to welcome you again to our property.

Thanking you once again we remain

With warm regards
Hospitality Your’s
MANEKSHAW DAWODDKHAN
GENERAL MANAGER
The Madurai Residency

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2017

Good hotel, clean and comfortable conveniently located within walking distance to main temple. The roof top restaurant has very good indian food both vegetarian and non vegetarian. It is also a good option to chill out with a beer enjoying the views of the city.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank belenchin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManicshahD, General Manager at Madurai Residency, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2018


Dear Guest,
Greetings from Madurai’s Premium Hotel!!!

Thank you for sharing your feedback about our Property. We are delighted to hear that our service and facilities were upto your expectations and glad to know you have enjoyed the panoramic view of the city from our Roof top Restaurant on the 7th Floor.

Indeed our central location is convenient for both the temple visit and the shopping purposes.

Your kind compliments have been shared with the team.

Thanking you once again and looking forward to welcome you back soon.

With warm regards

Hospitality Your’s
MANEKSHAW DAWODDKHAN
GENERAL MANAGer.
The Madurai Residency

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2017

The hotel looks great from outside and that prompted us to stay here for a day. I was disappointed by the quality of the restroom, though the room was decent for the cost. My room was swarmed with mosquitoes which I realized at 12:45 am and had to call the reception to urgently provide a 'Good night' mosquito repeller.

The complimentary breakfast was mediocre. We had asked for omelettes which took a long time to be served and were extremely oily.

Wasn't an enjoyable stay!

Room Tip: Rooms on the 6th floor tend to be noisier as the restaurant is located in that floor.
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Narendra27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManicshahD, General Manager at Madurai Residency, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2018

Dear Guest,

Warm greetings from Madurai’s Premium Hotel!!

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We value all our guest and we are extremely apologetic that your stay was disrupted due to mosquitoes.I assure that your feedback has been addressed to the housekeeping team and can assure you that you will have a comfortable stay with us on your next visit.

We sincerely hope that you will give us another opportunity to make amends and reaffirm your faith in Madurai Residency Madurai.

We look forward to your next visit.

Thanking you once again we remain,

Hospitality Your’s
MANEKSHAW DAWOODKHAN,
General Manager,
The Madurai Residency..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2017

Madurai Residency is one of the better options for stay at Madurai. It looks like an old and reputed hotel in the area, a big building overlooking the Railway Junction and Bus stop. There will be quite a few guards at the door at all times, ready to greet you. The rooms are clean and well maintained, you don't feel like staying in an old property. The Meenakshi temple is quite close too, you can walk down or take an auto. There is a Shree Sabaree's not too far, which serves excellent vegetarian south Indian food and probably the best tea I had in South Tamil Nadu.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Abhinav K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManicshahD, General Manager at Madurai Residency, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2017

Dear Guest.
Warm Greetings from Madurai’s Premium Hotel!!!
Thank you for sharing your feedback about Madurai Residency, Madurai. We are delighted to hear that our services and facilities were upto your expectations.
Indeed our central location is convenient for both business and leisure purposes. Your kind compliments have been shared with the team
It was definitely our pleasure taking care of you.
We are already waiting for your next visit.
Thanking you once again and looking forward to welcome you back soon.
With warm regards
Hospitality Your’s
MANEKSHAW DAWODDKHAN
GENERAL MANAGER
The Madurai Residency

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2017

The Hotel is a 10 minute walk from the Meenashi Temple and I found plenty of places to eat cheaply nearby. I was surprised at breakfast that the Indian guest were brought water and I was not offered any? Maybe just an oversight and a language barrier. The breakfast that I had was good. The bed and pillows were just right for me to get a good sleep.

Room Tip: I had room 505 and ended up using ear plugs as I am a very light sleeper. If you are not a light sleeper this room would be fine
Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
1  Thank sallyrouse47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews