We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for courtiers, not fit for the King”
Review of Royal Court

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royal Court
Ranked #5 of 54 Hotels in Madurai
New Delhi, India
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Good for courtiers, not fit for the King”
Reviewed 2 September 2012

We did not have a hotel reservation. Attracted by its brightly illuminated facade, we barged into this hotel. Later we found that they had perhaps balanced the power consumption by providing dim lighting in the rooms, which compounded by stale air laden with smell of food, gave a claustrophobic feeling. The food is spicy and tasty but it lacks Chettinad flavor; besides, its quality is suspect as some of us developed stomach problems. The TV has only a few non-Tamil channels. The hotel is overpriced for the kind of facilities it provides. On the positive side, the location is excellent as the hotel is close to the Temple and market.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abhijit L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

316 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    118
    60
    16
    22
See reviews for
112
54
27
83
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2012

We stayed for one night at this hotel in Madurai on 28th august 2012 . It was excellent! The rooms were very good,the staff was very courteous and the breakfast was superb! The location too is very convienient. Highly recomend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vasanti51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai, India
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2012

Recently I stayed in Hotel Royal Court, Madurai for a couple of days. When most of the Hotels were too busy to get accommodated, I managed to get an accommodation there which was my First Pleasant thing. The Hotel Reception was kind enough to receive me and I was ushered to my room, without waiting at all. The Food was quite good and the Lunch Buffet had enough of Non-Vegetarian dishes. The Room Tariff was quite economical for the price which we have paid.

The House-keeping was good and they have shown very good interest in cleaning the room. And the Room Service is also good and fast enough to bring my food.

The best thing I found in this room is that when you lift the intercom receiver, the volume of the Television goes to mute and reverts when you hang over the receiver down. The Wi-Fi is free and 2 MB speed is very good.

I took a driver and the Hotel allotted an Air-conditioned Driver room.

Overall, a Better Experience in Royal Court.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sajchid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pondicherry, Pondicherry, India
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2012

I visited this hotel in may 2012 with my family. I found that the tariff is very very high. the main issue is for that tariff the said hotel does not have a proper parking. People who travel on business in train or other public transportation can opt this hotel.

Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank VinodhBabu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baden, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
211 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2012

Well located near the major temple and rail station. Good service and very good food. The rooms are i bit old but worth the price

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Madmartigand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madurai hotels
3.3 km away
Heritage Madurai
Heritage Madurai
#2 of 54 in Madurai
1,305 reviews
0.8 km away
Astoria Hotels
Astoria Hotels
#6 of 54 in Madurai
199 reviews
0.4 km away
Madurai Residency
Madurai Residency
#8 of 54 in Madurai
724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
Regency Madurai by GRT Hotels
1.1 km away
Treebo Simap Residency
Treebo Simap Residency
#9 of 54 in Madurai
180 reviews
3.5 km away
Fortune Pandiyan Hotel
Fortune Pandiyan Hotel
#3 of 54 in Madurai
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Court? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Court

Property: Royal Court
Address: West Veli Street, Madurai 625001, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Madurai District > Madurai
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 54 Hotels in Madurai
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,997 - ₹ 5,093
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Court 3.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location Located in Madurai, Royal Court is convenient to Meenakshi Amman Temple and Thirumalai Nayak Palace. This hotel is within close proximity of Vandiyur Mariamman Teppakulam.Rooms : Make yourself at home in one of the 69 air-conditioned rooms featuring 24hrs Room Service. Rooms have private balconies. Wireless Internet access (surcharge) keeps you connected, and satellite programming is available for your entertainment. Conveniences include direct-dial phones, as well as safes and ceiling fans.Enjoy Dining At the end of the day a meal at a restaurant, or stay in and take advantage of the hotel's 24-hour room service.Business, Other Amenities Featured amenities include high-speed (wired) Internet access (surcharge), a business center, and audiovisual equipment, currency exchange and 24-hours Front Desk. Event facilities at this hotel consist of conference/meeting rooms and banquet facilities. Self parking is available onsite. A roundtrip airport shuttle is provided for a surcharge (available on request) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with OYO Rooms, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, TravelGuru, Yatra, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Royal Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Court Madurai, Tamil Nadu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing