We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Royal Court Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Treebo Simap Residency(Madurai)(Great Value!)
US$ 42
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 76
Booking.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$ 144
US$ 133
Taj Hotels
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 81
US$ 71
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 50
US$ 44
Agoda.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$ 81
US$ 57
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 83
US$ 66
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 58
US$ 50
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Moskva Hotel(Madurai)
US$ 41
US$ 28
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 69
US$ 64
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (552)
Filter reviews
553 results
Traveller rating
263
179
69
18
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
263
179
69
18
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshouse keepingexcellent housekeepingrailway stationtowel foldinghousekeeping teamhouse manteam leadercleaning servicemanoj kumarroom servicemeenakshi amman templevalue for moneyroom cleaningexcellent roomheart of the cityexcellent staywalkable distance
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
459 - 464 of 553 reviews
Reviewed 20 June 2012

I visited this hotel in may 2012 with my family. I found that the tariff is very very high. the main issue is for that tariff the said hotel does not have a proper parking. People who travel on business in train or other public transportation can opt this hotel.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
1  Thank VinodhBabu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012

Well located near the major temple and rail station. Good service and very good food. The rooms are i bit old but worth the price

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Madmartigand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2012

The Royal Court was the worst hotel we stayed at after 2 months travel in India. First problem was the RC would not allow us to change our booking (accidentally booked 2 rooms x 2nights instead of one via Agoda), even though we made contact immediately with Agoda and Royal Court...only allowing us to change it to 4 nights stay. We exited in haste after 3 nights and would have left earlier if we could have arranged this. Rooms smelt disgusting - we changed to 3 different rooms trying to escape the fetid smell emanating from the mattresses through the linen. There was also the smell of smoking in rooms. When we ripped off the linen we saw why the rooms stunk - the mattresses we disgusting and the whole room filled with the smell. I ended up ill with dysentery for 3 days just after checking out of the Royal Court. We only ate at the Royal Court during our Madurai stay as meals appeared ok (except for cold breakfasts if you got there after 9). Madurai was not a good experience because of this.

Room Tip: I would not advise to book any room at all.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank frumi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2012

In our 10-day trip in south India we 've been to 5 hotels, ranging from 55 to 85€. This was by far the worst. Just pay a little money more and go somewhere else. Filthy, old, ugly, a room we didn't want to stay in not even for a second. The service was the only positive thing. We asked them for a linen change just after we entered the room ( so dirty, I thought that the room had remained closed for 2 years ), and they did it immediately. Don't be misled by the travellers' photos. The real thing is so different. I would rate it as terrible if it wasn't for the service and its location, a 10-min walk from Sri Meenakshi temple.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank minoshag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2012

We took a family room (which ended up being a double with two mattresses on the floor). The room was clean, comfortable and modern and in walking distance from the temple. We enjoyed the roof-top dinner with a view of the temple in the distance. Staff was helpful but a bit slow (one bottle of water we ordered from room service never appeared!). The room was a little expensive but they were honest and didn't try to cheat us into paying more as in some other places. We enjoyed our stay here

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janetandfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews