We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Hotel in Madurai”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Royal Court

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Royal Court
Ranked #7 of 55 Hotels in Madurai
Chennai, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel in Madurai”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2012

Recently I stayed in Hotel Royal Court, Madurai for a couple of days. When most of the Hotels were too busy to get accommodated, I managed to get an accommodation there which was my First Pleasant thing. The Hotel Reception was kind enough to receive me and I was ushered to my room, without waiting at all. The Food was quite good and the Lunch Buffet had enough of Non-Vegetarian dishes. The Room Tariff was quite economical for the price which we have paid.

The House-keeping was good and they have shown very good interest in cleaning the room. And the Room Service is also good and fast enough to bring my food.

The best thing I found in this room is that when you lift the intercom receiver, the volume of the Television goes to mute and reverts when you hang over the receiver down. The Wi-Fi is free and 2 MB speed is very good.

I took a driver and the Hotel allotted an Air-conditioned Driver room.

Overall, a Better Experience in Royal Court.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sajchid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

272 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    105
    56
    16
    21
See reviews for
91
52
25
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pondicherry, Pondicherry, India
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2012

I visited this hotel in may 2012 with my family. I found that the tariff is very very high. the main issue is for that tariff the said hotel does not have a proper parking. People who travel on business in train or other public transportation can opt this hotel.

Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank VinodhBabu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Madurai hotels

Baden, Switzerland
Level Contributor
210 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2012

Well located near the major temple and rail station. Good service and very good food. The rooms are i bit old but worth the price

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Madmartigand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

The Royal Court was the worst hotel we stayed at after 2 months travel in India. First problem was the RC would not allow us to change our booking (accidentally booked 2 rooms x 2nights instead of one via Agoda), even though we made contact immediately with Agoda and Royal Court...only allowing us to change it to 4 nights stay. We exited in haste after 3 nights and would have left earlier if we could have arranged this. Rooms smelt disgusting - we changed to 3 different rooms trying to escape the fetid smell emanating from the mattresses through the linen. There was also the smell of smoking in rooms. When we ripped off the linen we saw why the rooms stunk - the mattresses we disgusting and the whole room filled with the smell. I ended up ill with dysentery for 3 days just after checking out of the Royal Court. We only ate at the Royal Court during our Madurai stay as meals appeared ok (except for cold breakfasts if you got there after 9). Madurai was not a good experience because of this.

Room Tip: I would not advise to book any room at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank frumi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

In our 10-day trip in south India we 've been to 5 hotels, ranging from 55 to 85€. This was by far the worst. Just pay a little money more and go somewhere else. Filthy, old, ugly, a room we didn't want to stay in not even for a second. The service was the only positive thing. We asked them for a linen change just after we entered the room ( so dirty, I thought that the room had remained closed for 2 years ), and they did it immediately. Don't be misled by the travellers' photos. The real thing is so different. I would rate it as terrible if it wasn't for the service and its location, a 10-min walk from Sri Meenakshi temple.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank minoshag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madurai hotels
0.8 km away
Astoria Hotels
Astoria Hotels
#5 of 55 in Madurai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
0.4 km away
Madurai Residency
Madurai Residency
#8 of 55 in Madurai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
3.3 km away
Heritage Madurai
Heritage Madurai
#2 of 55 in Madurai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
Regency Madurai by GRT Hotels
1.1 km away
Simap Residency
Simap Residency
#9 of 55 in Madurai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
6.4 km away
Poppys Hotel Madurai
Poppys Hotel Madurai
#6 of 55 in Madurai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Court? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Court

Property: Royal Court
Address: West Veli Street, Madurai 625001, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Madurai
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 55 Hotels in Madurai
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,685 - ₹ 5,107
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Court 3.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Description provided by Bala.KN Property : Location Located in Madurai, Royal Court is convenient to Meenakshi Amman Temple and Thirumalai Nayak Palace. This hotel is within close proximity of Vandiyur Mariamman Teppakulam.Rooms : Make yourself at home in one of the 69 air-conditioned rooms featuring 24hrs Room Service. Rooms have private balconies. Wireless Internet access (surcharge) keeps you connected, and satellite programming is available for your entertainment. Conveniences include direct-dial phones, as well as safes and ceiling fans.Enjoy Dining At the end of the day a meal at a restaurant, or stay in and take advantage of the hotel's 24-hour room service.Business, Other Amenities Featured amenities include high-speed (wired) Internet access (surcharge), a business center, and audiovisual equipment, currency exchange and 24-hours Front Desk. Event facilities at this hotel consist of conference/meeting rooms and banquet facilities. Self parking is available onsite. A roundtrip airport shuttle is provided for a surcharge (available on request) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, OYO Rooms, HotelQuickly, Yatra, ClearTrip, HostelWorld, Agoda and Hotel.de so you can book your Royal Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Court Madurai, Tamil Nadu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing