We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice newly built, amicable manager and warmhearted staff”
Review of Royal Court

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royal Court
Ranked #7 of 55 Hotels in Madurai
delhi
2 reviews
“Very nice newly built, amicable manager and warmhearted staff”
Reviewed 15 March 2012

I had a pleasant stay at this hotel. its walking distance from railway station.
Manager and staff is very helpful. They arranged for my trip to rameshwaram and it was very convenient for my family.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kani2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

284 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    110
    57
    16
    21
See reviews for
96
52
26
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

During our three month trip to in we stayed at the Royal Court in Madurai for 4 nights in March, 2012. Our experience was extremely satisfying and pleasant. Our room was large and clean and the hotel central to the sites we wanted to see in Madurai. The two best things about the hotel was it's friendly and helpful staff and the great buffet meals they offer. We had some our best meals in India while staying in this hotel.

Our experience with this hotel made our entire stay in Madurai a most pleasant experience. I have done other reviews on hotels and have critized hotels when they fail to meet what is promised however with the Royal Court I have no complaints and only praise. It is slightly more exspensive than other mid range hotels in the area however you get excellent value for your money. Treat yourself while in Maduria and stay at the Royal Court. You won't be disappointed. Make sure you take a trip to the buffet!!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lmleyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampere, Finland
Level Contributor
93 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

The hotel is strategically located in the main city. I would recommend for business travelers and family. The food is good. sleep quality is good. The staff has to be trained to a level of a star hotel service. other way hotel is good in old styled management.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bhupeshrajan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
384 reviews
270 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 391 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2012

Centrally placed across the road from the Railway Station, it is a walkable (just) distance from the Meenakshi temple. However the traffic in Madurai has become so awful you are better off taking an autorickshaw. The lobby has a veneer of comfort and the staff if not overfriendly are reasonably helpful. We had a standard type room which was of a reasonable size. however the floor was dirty, and the sheets grubby. There was a poor quality old fashioned TV. There were almost no plugs in the room (well there was one). The shower was good with abundant hot water. There was also a slow free wifi service. The worst feature was the hotel generator which went on at 6am and reverberated through our room booming and throbbing. Sleep at this point was impossible. There is room service but when we ordered a large pot of coffee we were essentially given hot milk.
The hotel has a large South Indian buffet breakfast; unfortunately there was no attempt to keep it warm so by the time we got there at 8.30 it was cold and greasy.
Overall the hotel was way overpriced (£60 sterling incl. taxes). We had paid in advance for nights but left a day early with no refund. My suggestion would be stay at the GRT, it is a bit further out but it has a great restaurant.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the generator, preferably one in the top stories.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NLR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Madurai hotels

Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
61 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Its a good hotel if you are traveling by train and visiting Meenakshi Temple. Its very near to the railway station and the temple is also not far. The rooms were nice and clean. The food was tasty. The chef was a very nice guy, he cooked customized food for my kid who was not well.
All in all a very good hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank combobox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madurai hotels
0.8 km away
Astoria Hotels
Astoria Hotels
#5 of 55 in Madurai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
0.4 km away
Madurai Residency
Madurai Residency
#8 of 55 in Madurai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
3.3 km away
Heritage Madurai
Heritage Madurai
#2 of 55 in Madurai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
Regency Madurai by GRT Hotels
1.1 km away
Simap Residency
Simap Residency
#9 of 55 in Madurai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
6.4 km away
Poppys Hotel Madurai
Poppys Hotel Madurai
#6 of 55 in Madurai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Court? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Court

Property: Royal Court
Address: West Veli Street, Madurai 625001, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Madurai District > Madurai
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 55 Hotels in Madurai
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,811 - ₹ 5,102
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Court 3.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Description provided by Bala.KN Property : Location Located in Madurai, Royal Court is convenient to Meenakshi Amman Temple and Thirumalai Nayak Palace. This hotel is within close proximity of Vandiyur Mariamman Teppakulam.Rooms : Make yourself at home in one of the 69 air-conditioned rooms featuring 24hrs Room Service. Rooms have private balconies. Wireless Internet access (surcharge) keeps you connected, and satellite programming is available for your entertainment. Conveniences include direct-dial phones, as well as safes and ceiling fans.Enjoy Dining At the end of the day a meal at a restaurant, or stay in and take advantage of the hotel's 24-hour room service.Business, Other Amenities Featured amenities include high-speed (wired) Internet access (surcharge), a business center, and audiovisual equipment, currency exchange and 24-hours Front Desk. Event facilities at this hotel consist of conference/meeting rooms and banquet facilities. Self parking is available onsite. A roundtrip airport shuttle is provided for a surcharge (available on request) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with OYO Rooms, Booking.com, Expedia, Yatra, ClearTrip, HostelWorld, Hotel.de and Agoda so you can book your Royal Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Court Madurai, Tamil Nadu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing