We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very well located and nice property”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Royal Court

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Royal Court
Ranked #7 of 55 Hotels in Madurai
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
61 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Very well located and nice property”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

Its a good hotel if you are traveling by train and visiting Meenakshi Temple. Its very near to the railway station and the temple is also not far. The rooms were nice and clean. The food was tasty. The chef was a very nice guy, he cooked customized food for my kid who was not well.
All in all a very good hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank combobox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

272 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    105
    56
    16
    21
See reviews for
91
52
25
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2012

This is recommended for a no-frills, average-cost, comfortable stay in the centre of the city. Royal Court doesn't pretend to be a classy hotel, and so you're never disappointed.

The hotel is just a 10-15 minute walk from the Meenakshi Temple and very close to the train station as well. I stayed for 2 nights (November 2011). I found everyone, from the doorman to the reception staff, eager to help.

The rooftop restaurant is a nice spot for pleasant dinners, though be warned, they do not serve alcohol. The food is nothing remarkable though.

Although the buffet is included, I ordered breakfast in my room the day I checked out because I needed to leave early. They did not charge me for breakfast, and I appreciated that gesture.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThinkingCrampsTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad, India
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2011

Stayed in hotel for a day. The 24 hours check out it plus point. From hotel room size and provisions you can sat that the hotel might be good at sometime but is not maintained well. The rooms are not very clean and evidence of previous stay could be found around. The room rates are on the higher side for the cleanliness. The staff needs to be more professional. They don't seem to be willing to extend the support for cusomers. I complaint for loss of mobile and to my surprise when I checked out there was no assurance( even no mention of complaint) that they would look for it.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveller_2201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2011

This was my second visit to this hotel. The first time was last year march. Stayed for 3 nights. It was quite well maintained. Comfortable bed and the rooms are clean. Breakfast provided. Free wifi available at the lobby area. The highlight of this hotel would be the food.We had buffet lunch and i have to admit that the food here is very tasty compared to the other hotels that i've tried. Wide variety of vegetarian selections and it was really good. Good location as it was quite near to the Meenakshi temple and Madurai town.Overall, We had a good stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tanusya_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2011

we arrived at the royal court after leaving the Madurai Residency in disgust, so we had no room booking and were very flustered .As it was after 7pm, and we had a yelling toddler in tow, I was not looking forward to check in, or waiting for my daughter to negotiate a price. However, everything was wonderful. The lobby is great, lovely and cool, and check in was over in a flash, it was no problem we could not produce our passports straight away, the desk staff were great, happy to wait until we had got ourselves calmed down. The luggage was whisked up to the room, and room service offered immediatly. We paid Rs3000 for two adults and one child, including breakfast. The room was lovely, with a large window, decent bathroom with tub, and huge comfortable bed. It was very clean, and the linen was also fresh.
Breakfast here is fine. There is a large selection of buffet dishes, both hot and cold, indian and european style food and lovely poori, but unfortunatly no dosa.

We had intended to stay for a few days here to visit the temples etc, but we stayed for a week. We found the room sevice to be great, with no delays, and delicious food at reasonable prices. We had some clothing returned from the laundry, and one shirt was discoloured,when we showed it to the house keeping manager, Mr Sadik, he apologised profusely, gave us the value of the shirt without question and sent us a bowl of fruit to apologise. Wonderful. Mr Sadik went out of his way , as we were two ladies and a baby, to make sure our trip was enjoyable. He made sure rickshaw drivers charged us the right fare, had the room cleaned from top to bottom when we asked the cleaner to remove some dirt from behind the door to make sure the baby was kept clean. He even bought the baby a gift when we left as we had become friendly.

I get the impression this is more of a one night business hotel than a holiday hotel, but we found it to be flawless. I would definatly recommend it to anyone coming to Madurai for any reason. The location is good,hotel is great, food is good , staff are fantastic, especially Mr Sadik.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sneekygreeky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madurai hotels
0.8 km away
Astoria Hotels
Astoria Hotels
#5 of 55 in Madurai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
0.4 km away
Madurai Residency
Madurai Residency
#8 of 55 in Madurai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 706 reviews
3.3 km away
Heritage Madurai
Heritage Madurai
#2 of 55 in Madurai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
Regency Madurai by GRT Hotels
1.1 km away
Simap Residency
Simap Residency
#9 of 55 in Madurai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
6.4 km away
Poppys Hotel Madurai
Poppys Hotel Madurai
#6 of 55 in Madurai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Court? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Court

Property: Royal Court
Address: West Veli Street, Madurai 625001, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Madurai
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 55 Hotels in Madurai
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,695 - ₹ 5,251
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Court 3.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Description provided by Bala.KN Property : Location Located in Madurai, Royal Court is convenient to Meenakshi Amman Temple and Thirumalai Nayak Palace. This hotel is within close proximity of Vandiyur Mariamman Teppakulam.Rooms : Make yourself at home in one of the 69 air-conditioned rooms featuring 24hrs Room Service. Rooms have private balconies. Wireless Internet access (surcharge) keeps you connected, and satellite programming is available for your entertainment. Conveniences include direct-dial phones, as well as safes and ceiling fans.Enjoy Dining At the end of the day a meal at a restaurant, or stay in and take advantage of the hotel's 24-hour room service.Business, Other Amenities Featured amenities include high-speed (wired) Internet access (surcharge), a business center, and audiovisual equipment, currency exchange and 24-hours Front Desk. Event facilities at this hotel consist of conference/meeting rooms and banquet facilities. Self parking is available onsite. A roundtrip airport shuttle is provided for a surcharge (available on request) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, OYO Rooms, HotelQuickly, ClearTrip, Hotel.de, Agoda, HostelWorld and Yatra so you can book your Royal Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Court Madurai, Tamil Nadu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing