We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great hotel, superb staff.”
Review of Royal Court

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royal Court
Ranked #7 of 55 Hotels in Madurai
uk
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“great hotel, superb staff.”
Reviewed 3 December 2011

we arrived at the royal court after leaving the Madurai Residency in disgust, so we had no room booking and were very flustered .As it was after 7pm, and we had a yelling toddler in tow, I was not looking forward to check in, or waiting for my daughter to negotiate a price. However, everything was wonderful. The lobby is great, lovely and cool, and check in was over in a flash, it was no problem we could not produce our passports straight away, the desk staff were great, happy to wait until we had got ourselves calmed down. The luggage was whisked up to the room, and room service offered immediatly. We paid Rs3000 for two adults and one child, including breakfast. The room was lovely, with a large window, decent bathroom with tub, and huge comfortable bed. It was very clean, and the linen was also fresh.
Breakfast here is fine. There is a large selection of buffet dishes, both hot and cold, indian and european style food and lovely poori, but unfortunatly no dosa.

We had intended to stay for a few days here to visit the temples etc, but we stayed for a week. We found the room sevice to be great, with no delays, and delicious food at reasonable prices. We had some clothing returned from the laundry, and one shirt was discoloured,when we showed it to the house keeping manager, Mr Sadik, he apologised profusely, gave us the value of the shirt without question and sent us a bowl of fruit to apologise. Wonderful. Mr Sadik went out of his way , as we were two ladies and a baby, to make sure our trip was enjoyable. He made sure rickshaw drivers charged us the right fare, had the room cleaned from top to bottom when we asked the cleaner to remove some dirt from behind the door to make sure the baby was kept clean. He even bought the baby a gift when we left as we had become friendly.

I get the impression this is more of a one night business hotel than a holiday hotel, but we found it to be flawless. I would definatly recommend it to anyone coming to Madurai for any reason. The location is good,hotel is great, food is good , staff are fantastic, especially Mr Sadik.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sneekygreeky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

279 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    109
    57
    16
    21
See reviews for
94
52
26
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2011

Royal court is located very close to the railway station. It is also 10 minutes walk to the Meenakshi temple.

Hotel interior design is very impressive. Rooms have good quality furnishings. Beds are really of king size and the blankets were clean. For the price, the rooms are really well maintained.

The restaurant service is good. Food was delicious, but little over priced.

Overall, the hotel is little high priced. But classy facilities offered to match the price. location is the big plus for royal court.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roggletoggle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guelph, Canada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2011

I am a 40 year old professor from Canada. An international development group of colleagues and I stayed at the Royal Court for 2 nights. It was a clean hotel with nice rooms, good satellite tv and decent food. The service was very good. This was not a 5-star, not comparable to the top-notch hotels in India, but then again, this was much much cheaper than those hotels. Furthermore, this hotel was close to the center of town, easy walking distance to the markets, and very very close to the the beautiful temple complex. I'm cynical about tourist sites but the temples of Madurai really took my breath away, one of the most remarkable things I have seen (and I have travelled around the world). Anyway, I would not hesitate to stay here again given the good value.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MNRJSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai, India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2011

I had stayed in the Executive room for 1 day.
The rooms stinks and was very stuffy.
I have stayed in this property 4 yrs back but the quality has deteriorated.
For Rs 3700 per nite it is not a good value for money proposition.
The only thing good is the food.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RaviKris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Madurai hotels

Georgia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2011

The staff is courteous and the hotel is close to Train/Bus stations, main shopping area and the famous Madurai Meenakshi Temple. But, it is very expensive. I noticed as soon as I entered my room that they did not change the bed - it had some stains and was really dirty. I had to call them almost every day to bring in new towels. They give one bath towel only! They don't provide the floor mat in the bathroom - I had to ask for it! The breakfast buffet was good and included in the rent.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank G2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madurai hotels
0.8 km away
Astoria Hotels
Astoria Hotels
#5 of 55 in Madurai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
0.4 km away
Madurai Residency
Madurai Residency
#8 of 55 in Madurai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
3.3 km away
Heritage Madurai
Heritage Madurai
#2 of 55 in Madurai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
Regency Madurai by GRT Hotels
1.1 km away
Simap Residency
Simap Residency
#9 of 55 in Madurai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
6.4 km away
Poppys Hotel Madurai
Poppys Hotel Madurai
#6 of 55 in Madurai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Court? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Court

Property: Royal Court
Address: West Veli Street, Madurai 625001, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Madurai District > Madurai
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 55 Hotels in Madurai
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,823 - ₹ 5,120
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Court 3.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Description provided by Bala.KN Property : Location Located in Madurai, Royal Court is convenient to Meenakshi Amman Temple and Thirumalai Nayak Palace. This hotel is within close proximity of Vandiyur Mariamman Teppakulam.Rooms : Make yourself at home in one of the 69 air-conditioned rooms featuring 24hrs Room Service. Rooms have private balconies. Wireless Internet access (surcharge) keeps you connected, and satellite programming is available for your entertainment. Conveniences include direct-dial phones, as well as safes and ceiling fans.Enjoy Dining At the end of the day a meal at a restaurant, or stay in and take advantage of the hotel's 24-hour room service.Business, Other Amenities Featured amenities include high-speed (wired) Internet access (surcharge), a business center, and audiovisual equipment, currency exchange and 24-hours Front Desk. Event facilities at this hotel consist of conference/meeting rooms and banquet facilities. Self parking is available onsite. A roundtrip airport shuttle is provided for a surcharge (available on request) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with OYO Rooms, Booking.com, Expedia, Yatra, ClearTrip, Agoda, HostelWorld and Hotel.de so you can book your Royal Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Court Madurai, Tamil Nadu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing