We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Age old temple well maintained” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sri Meenakshi Temple

Sri Meenakshi Temple
Book In Advance
More Info
US$ 55.00*
and up
Private Tour: Full-Day Madurai Tour Including Meenakshi Amman Temple and Gandhi...
Ranked #1 of 43 things to do in Madurai
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Coimbatore, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Age old temple well maintained”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

ozzing with history. do not miss the new kalyana having great statues. Too much of crowd

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank crazytraveller297675
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,556 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,878
    571
    86
    13
    8
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Worth a Trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

This is the reason for going to Madurai. A quintessential Hindu Temple complex with plenty of people so it is active. Better interior spaces than older temples and a quite spectacular exterior. The "Running of the Tourists" when Shiva is put to bed is not to be missed.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank IanUReid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
“Wonderful ancient Pillars”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

Such a great temple which i have seen in my entire life.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Exploracion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

Visited the temple in the morning and the evening for the chariot trip of Meenakshi. Enjoyed every aspect. I had a wonderful local guide and that made all the difference, but the temple is worth a visit in any case for the sculptures, paintings and chanting. It was just that much better having someone explain things to me.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank AubreyBaldwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad
Level Contributor
77 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Memorable Moments”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

The visit of holy Minakshi temple is one of the most memorable. Its artistic structure and beauty will take you on different world. I will go again on my next visit to Madurai.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank LovelyIndiaHyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sri Meenakshi Temple also viewed

 

Been to Sri Meenakshi Temple? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing