We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“TAJ (The Gateway Hotel Pasumalai)your second home .”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Gateway Hotel Pasumalai Madurai
Ranked #2 of 57 Hotels in Madurai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 December 2017

Stay was just like at home. Everything available to me.
Starting from the time of check-in to Check out.

One should never miss out.
Room service,Laundry ,Restaurant -chefs , Boutique .
The painter who sketched our memory live - only at the THE Gateway pasumalai and then the small temple inside just gave us blessing

The entire staff made our stay memorable

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank petchumuthub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prakash_Nair1, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Pasumalai Madurai, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Gateway Hotel, Pasumalai Madurai!
We are delighted to receive the review of your wonderful stay with us. It is indeed a team effort with an unwavering goal towards guest satisfaction, which constantly motivates us to be on our toes.
I am happy to note that the services rendered by my team were to your satisfaction. Our endeavour is to ensure each guest is given a wonderful experience.
Looking forward to your continued patronage and assuring you of the very best in hospitality in the true Taj tradition, always.

Warm regards,
Prakash Nair

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,129)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 1,129 reviews

Reviewed 14 December 2017

Stayed at this Hotel for 2 nights in November 2017. When we arrived at the hotel I was so pleased to see it's location. It is little away from bustling city of Madurai and yet not far at all. Located on the hill you can have a great view of Madurai. Room was comfortable. Good food. Beautifully maintained gardens and the most beautiful feature is peacocks. You see them all around. We enjoyed feeding them and watching them spreading their feathers, looked so beautiful..no wonder it is a "national bird" of India. Staff members are very courteous and helpful.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Sthaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prakash_Nair1, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Pasumalai Madurai, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Gateway Hotel, Pasumalai Madurai!

I am so pleased to hear that you cherish your experience with us and I am glad to note that the overall quality of services and facilities at the hotel measured up to your expectation appreciate the caring and personalized service offered to you by my team of dedicated staff.

Your kind words of appreciation are a generous source of motivation and encouragement for us to continue offering superior value and consistent service to all our guests.

My team and I look forward to welcoming you back at The Gateway Hotel, Pasumalai Madurai for many more enriching moments to come.

Warm regards,

Prakash Nair

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2017

Comfortable hotel in woods on a hill overlooking the city. Too far from the heart of the city so not much good if you want to get out and about. Prices for food and drink reflected in its remoteness. Pleasant enough but hardly a taste of India.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank chrisclapham25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prakash_Nair1, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Pasumalai Madurai, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2017

Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Gateway Hotel, Pasumalai Madurai!
We are delighted to receive the review of your wonderful stay with us. It is indeed a team effort with an unwavering goal towards guest satisfaction, which constantly motivates us to be on our toes.
I am happy to note that the services rendered by my team were to your satisfaction. Our endeavour is to ensure each guest is given a wonderful experience.
Looking forward to your continued patronage and assuring you of the very best in hospitality in the true Taj tradition, always.

Warm regards,
Prakash Nair

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2017

This hotel is very nicely landscaped and many of the rooms have balconies and an excellent view of the city. However, there are some stairs to climb with no elevators. Nonetheless, the overall quality of the hotel is excellent. Great buffet breakfast; pleasant and accommodating staff that provides excellent service and very clean rooms.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Les F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prakash_Nair1, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Pasumalai Madurai, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2017

Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Gateway Hotel, Pasumalai Madurai!

I would like to thank you for being a valued patron and write to you in reference to your feedback regarding your stay at The Gateway Hotel, Pasumalai, Madurai.

It is the feedback from our esteemed and valued guests which gives us an opportunity to further enhance and refine our processes to achieve customer delight.

We look forward to welcome you back as and when you plan your next visit to our hotel.

Thanking you and assuring you of our best services at all times.

Warm regards,

Prakash Nair

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2017

I never expected anything so beautiful and perfect to be located at the heart of Madurai! The hotel has an old world charm and is surrounded by acres and acres of greenery,gardens with peacocks for company and breathtaking views. Rooms & Cottages are tasteful decorated, built on different levels gives a hill station feel and the beds oh! you just sink right into them .
The Restaurant caters to a variety of cuisines, which worked well for us, a family of fussy eaters. A quaint little gift shop was all the shopping we needed to do - super convenient and good collection of jewellery & home decor - definitely worth a visit. The library, the book shop and early morning yoga sessions added more smiles to our stay.
It was a pleasure staying here,I thank each member of the staff for making it a wonderful and memorable stay for us-they were all so helpful and warm . Thank you and keep up the good work .

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sonalee P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prakash_Nair1, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Pasumalai Madurai, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2017

Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Gateway Hotel, Pasumalai Madurai!

I am so pleased to hear that you cherish your experience with us and I am glad to note that the overall quality of services and facilities at the hotel measured up to your expectation appreciate the caring and personalized service offered to you by my team of dedicated staff.

Your kind words of appreciation are a generous source of motivation and encouragement for us to continue offering superior value and consistent service to all our guests.

My team and I look forward to welcoming you back at The Gateway Hotel, Pasumalai Madurai for many more enriching moments to come.

Warm regards,

Prakash Nair

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madurai hotels
4 km away
Heritage Madurai
Heritage Madurai
#5 of 57 in Madurai
1,536 reviews
1.5 km away
Regency Madurai by GRT Hotels
7.4 km away
Fortune Pandiyan Hotel
Fortune Pandiyan Hotel
#1 of 57 in Madurai
645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 km away
Royal Court Hotel
Royal Court Hotel
#3 of 57 in Madurai
432 reviews
3.7 km away
Madurai Residency
Madurai Residency
#7 of 57 in Madurai
762 reviews
10.3 km away
Poppys Hotel Madurai
Poppys Hotel Madurai
#8 of 57 in Madurai
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gateway Hotel Pasumalai Madurai? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gateway Hotel Pasumalai Madurai

Address: No 40 T P K Road | Pasumalai Hill, Madurai 625004, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Madurai District > Madurai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Madurai
#1 Family Hotel in Madurai
#2 Spa Hotel in Madurai
Price Range: ₹ 9,554 - ₹ 16,624 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gateway Hotel Pasumalai Madurai 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hundred year-old celebrated colonial property is perched atop the Pasumalai hill, amidst 63 acres of landscaped gardens, colonial buildings and natural bliss. The hotel offers a panoramic view of the famous MeenakshiTemple, Madurai City and the Kodai hills. It is a 15-minute drive from the famous Meenakshi temple and City center. Accessible by road, air (Madurai Airport – 15 km) and train (Madurai Jn - 5 km). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoftTaj, Expedia, HotelQuickly, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Yatra and ClearTrip so you can book your The Gateway Hotel Pasumalai Madurai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gateway Hotel Pasumalai Madurai Tamil Nadu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing