We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent budget” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Germanus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Germanus
Ranked #10 of 55 Hotels in Madurai
Kolkata, India
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Decent budget”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2012

It was a decent budget hotel with basic amenities. Its far from city centre so not recommended without easy transportation. Food was awful...even the Tamil breakfast was bad. Staff was friendly and helpful. The telephone outside the room kept ringin, which was annoying

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bhusu26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

206 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    96
    52
    20
    6
See reviews for
48
50
9
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2012

Had basic amenities, friendly staff. The room was clean but kind of worn down. Strange smell that didn't bother my friend but bothered me. Food is awful. Not close to city attractions.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ks521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaipur
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

Our travel company had booked the hotel for us this March for three nights. I must say I was very pleasantly surprised by the hotel........decent sized rooms, good housekeeping and a well laid out multicuisine breakfast. the staff was very attentive and the prices were very competitive. All in all a good experience

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Guest_Relations_Mngr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aix en provence
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

Our hire car company had booked this room for us and we were aghast when we got to the hotel: it's miles away from the temples and just as noisy as the city centre. We looked at the room anyway and it didn't appeal at all (old-fashioned and a bit worn down) so we simply refused to stay there and went to a modern well-located one. Anyway the price they were asking was just as high as the centrally-located ones. Definitely not for families or tourists in general, you can find heaps better for the same price.

Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Janetandfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Madurai hotels

Ramanathapuram
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2012

Nice Hotel in Madurai...Germanus is one of the 5 star hotel in madurai.
I was visit last year hermanus hotel..In germanus hotel service is very good.its low cost compare to other hotel.

Nice Hotel in Madurai...Germanus is one of the 5 star hotel in madurai.
I was visit last year hermanus hotel..In germanus hotel service is very good.its low cost compare to other hotel.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank kaleesthavamani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madurai hotels
2.8 km away
Heritage Madurai
Heritage Madurai
#2 of 55 in Madurai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,219 reviews
0.8 km away
Astoria Hotels
Astoria Hotels
#5 of 55 in Madurai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
2.2 km away
The Gateway Hotel Pasumalai Madurai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Madurai Residency
Madurai Residency
#9 of 55 in Madurai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 701 reviews
1.1 km away
Regency Madurai by GRT Hotels
1.6 km away
Royal Court
Royal Court
#7 of 55 in Madurai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Germanus? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Germanus

Property: Hotel Germanus
Address: 28 By Pass Road, Madurai 625010, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Madurai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 55 Hotels in Madurai
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,796 - ₹ 5,105
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Germanus 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ClearTrip and Yatra so you can book your Hotel Germanus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Germanus Hotel Madurai
Hotel Germanus Madurai, Tamil Nadu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing