We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (183)
Filter reviews
183 results
Traveller rating
32
74
53
14
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
32
74
53
14
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnice hotelrooftop restaurantcold towelshigher sideroom serviceroom was clean and comfortableboth veg and non vegcomfortable stayfood qualityhotel staffan upgradebreakfast buffetwelcome drinkmeenakshi templeshort staymain templecity
Filter
Updating list...
149 - 154 of 183 reviews
Reviewed 4 January 2012

Stayed in Madurai just for one night

Pros:

Well maintained, Clean and well serviced Rooms.
Staff were curteous and helpful.
Just 3-4 Kms away from the Meenakshi Temple.

Cons:

Restaurant : Not a bad restaurant but be a little careful while choosing your dishes. Complimentary Breakfast could have been better.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SaratchandraCK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2012

We stayed at Star Residency, Madurai during our week-long road trip to places in Kerala/Tamilnadu. Rooms were very neat and well maintained. Food at the restaurant was good. Hotel had free wifi which was really helpful.

We had a booking for two nights to visit places around Madurai. However, our plans changed and we wanted to go to Tanjavur instead. We got to know that star residency has a branch in Tanjavur as well and asked them if we could stay at Tanjavur the next day. Although our booking was through cleartrip, they were very flexible and let us stay at their hotel in Tanjavur on the second day at a small additional price. We found them very flexible and friendly.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RockyDivz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2012

We went their for a 2 day stay. I have never heard about this place , just booked with the reviews. Suggest them to immediately stop booking if you are a person of indian origin. We had given a Deluxe room. I would say its a very ordinary room with cramp wash room. Room service was really good on 31st Night in-spite of New year eve. Lunch they are charging 700 Rs for a Buffet . Breakfast,, if your a Indian never ever try that even if it is complimentary. None of the dish are hot and half of it is not available if you go beyond an hr of the start . Highly recommend the people to have food outside. No covered Car Park!!!! Wifi does not work in Rooms... Avoid other wise you will have terrible experience.

Room Tip: Higher Floors may better Ventilation.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Raj_Advi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2011

Free wi-fi, right downtown Madurai, nice roof top restaurant with giant screen and ggod food.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suzanno10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2011

I would have given them 4 stars but for the fact that when I booked they said the rooms were full and when my friend who was a foreigner called 2 minutes later they had a room for him.

Pros: Good location, great service in the restaurant, very friendly staff. Clean rooms, internet access. Housekeeping is good.

Neg: Reception is not that friendly and that is the first contact point for any guest.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank soaringtree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews