We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice roof top restaurant”
Review of Star Residency

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Star Residency
Ranked #19 of 54 Hotels in Madurai
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice roof top restaurant”
Reviewed 12 December 2011

Free wi-fi, right downtown Madurai, nice roof top restaurant with giant screen and ggod food.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suzanno10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

161 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    65
    45
    13
    9
See reviews for
65
33
11
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2011

I would have given them 4 stars but for the fact that when I booked they said the rooms were full and when my friend who was a foreigner called 2 minutes later they had a room for him.

Pros: Good location, great service in the restaurant, very friendly staff. Clean rooms, internet access. Housekeeping is good.

Neg: Reception is not that friendly and that is the first contact point for any guest.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank soaringtree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai, India
Level Contributor
66 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2011

This is one of best business hotel in madurai.Overall the stay was comfortable mainly for business trip .On the way to Airport and main bus stand.Little bit far from main bus stand.
Ambience : Good
Food : Average
Service: Excellent

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank osrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2011

We stayed for a night here enroute to Thekkady. The pickup from the train station was arranged but we located the driver only after some difficulty. We had asked for an extra bed for our kids but realised that they only provide a mattress and not a fold away bed which shocked us. All four of us ended sleeping in one bed which was very uncomfortable. The breakfast buffer was however good and the selection available was also good. Room service was efficient and on time but we found that the front desk staff didnt smile very much.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank priashok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2011

Madurai is a temple city of South India. It is famous for Meenakshi Temple and many other temples.

We stayed at Hotel Star Residency during holi in March 2011. I was traveling with family to Rameshwaram. The hotel was reasonably priced around Rs. 3000 ($60) for one night. The hotel offered me discount on the final price as well.

I was able to see lot of foreigners in the hotel. It is a small hotel with reasonable aminities and perfect for the price charged. It is 2 kms from Meenakshi temple and other attractions are near by. Good place to stay if you wish to see the city.

The breakfast & food is limited, so I won't advise you to eat main meals here. Since the breakfast is complimentary, you can have the breakfast and rest of the meals can be eaten outside.

My overall experience was good value for great price.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Professor07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madurai hotels
2.9 km away
Hotel Padmam
Hotel Padmam
#23 of 54 in Madurai
123 reviews
3.7 km away
Astoria Hotels
Astoria Hotels
#6 of 54 in Madurai
197 reviews
3.0 km away
Madurai Residency
Madurai Residency
#8 of 54 in Madurai
723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Treebo Simap Residency
Treebo Simap Residency
#9 of 54 in Madurai
180 reviews
1.4 km away
MMR Gardens
MMR Gardens
#15 of 54 in Madurai
77 reviews
4.4 km away
Hotel Sree Devi
Hotel Sree Devi
#17 of 54 in Madurai
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Star Residency? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Star Residency

Property: Star Residency
Address: 44 No 43 Star Residency Collector Office Road | near Anna bus stand, Aravind Eye Hospital, Madurai 625020, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Madurai District > Madurai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 54 Hotels in Madurai
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,742 - ₹ 3,097
Hotel Class:3 star — Star Residency 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, OYO Rooms, ClearTrip and Agoda so you can book your Star Residency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Star Residency Madurai, Tamil Nadu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing