We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Paradise in Madurai but not without it's drawbacks” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Heritage Madurai

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Heritage Madurai
Ranked #2 of 55 Hotels in Madurai
Certificate of Excellence
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Paradise in Madurai but not without it's drawbacks”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2012

Let me classify my review :
VERY GOOD - general ambience, felt safe, Luxury room was very spacious, A/C - I have never seen a more effective air conditioning anywhere, does not switch off when key is out of holder !, tea/coffee making, plunge pool, bathroom, bedding, very quiet
GOOD - Restaurant and food choice, Virtual Golf and coach, Housekeeping.
O.K. - reception staff - I think this is not hotel specific. No a/c in reception -you got to sweat it out.
BAD - No entertainment, Doubtful about value for money, No outdoor Bar.
Overall it's a great hotel considering the dusty and noisy Madurai, but something was lacking in this place - quite diffcult to put a finger on it - You'll see for yourself.

Room Tip: There is a bakery and Eating place called Bell 300 yds from hotel. If you take the luxury room, loo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Navel_Fluff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementHeritage, General Manager at Heritage Madurai, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from the Heritage Madurai!!

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor.

We are happy to know that you had enjoyed your overall stay and also you pleased with facilities & ambiance.

We truly appreciate your kind feedback and look forward to welcoming you back at the resort.

Hospitably Yours,

Gopalakrishnan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,217 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    616
    425
    119
    39
    18
See reviews for
336
485
52
90
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kathmandu, Nepal
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2012

Just a fantastic place to stay. Really classy rooms at a decent price. A pool in the bathroom?! How cool! Peaceful, pretty setting. Speedy Internet in room. Delicious food. Helpful staff. Excellent choice for a luxury stay in Madurai.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeremy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementHeritage, General Manager at Heritage Madurai, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from the Heritage Madurai!!

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor.

We are happy to know that you had enjoyed your overall stay and also you pleased with facilities & ambiance.

We truly appreciate your kind feedback and look forward to welcoming you back at the resort.

Hospitably Yours,

Gopalakrishnan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yavatmal, India
Level Contributor
303 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

My stay at Heritage Madurai was just about 12 hours overnight, out of which 6 were spent sleeping. So I couldn't really avail the benefit of all the facilities and services they had to offer. That is the only reason why I am giving it a 4-star, but I think that if I had stayed for 2-3 days, I might well have rated it 5-star.

It is a beautiful resort... surprisingly so for a city like Madurai. While it is quite far from the airport, but once you are inside, you feel that you are far removed from the hustle-and-bustle of the city. The staff was very courteous, polite and friendly. The food was very very good. It is difficult to find 'good' North Indian food in South India. At Heritage, it was better than just 'good'.

The rooms were quite spacious, and so were the bathrooms. With a small lawn-balcony attached to the room, it provided for a very good ambiance in the morning when the sun was rising. There were 2 ACs in the room, and in general, it was a very comfortable experience.

The rates were extremely reasonable for the facilities they provided, and I am sure that if I ever happen to visit Madurai again, then this is where I am staying.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shridhar_Jaju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementHeritage, General Manager at Heritage Madurai, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from the Heritage Madurai!!

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor.

We are happy to know that you had enjoyed your overall stay and also you pleased with facilities & ambiance.

We truly appreciate your kind feedback and look forward to welcoming you back at the resort.

Hospitably Yours,

Gopalakrishnan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2012

The sprawling grounds of Hotel Heritage was a serene break from the hustle and bustle of Madurai. The cool welcome drink was the best way we could have been welcomed to the super hot Madurai. Our bags were delivered to our rooms. Deluxe rooms were palatial with a huge banyan tree spread across in its backyard. Though Madurai is notorious for power failures, we enjoyed good air-conditioning in our room that was uninterrupted. The staff were courteous and the housekeeping staff attended to all our requests promptly. Though the grounds had mosquitoes, our room was mosquito free. The free made to order breakfast was good. Wifi in the rooms was a bonus. My only gripe was the time it took to get hot water. Had to let cold water run for a long time to get the hot water going in the shower in an eco-friendly place like this..

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank djadon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementHeritage, General Manager at Heritage Madurai, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from the Heritage Madurai!!

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor.

We are happy to know that you had enjoyed your overall stay and also you pleased with facilities & ambiance.

We truly appreciate your kind feedback and look forward to welcoming you back at the resort.

Hospitably Yours,

Gopalakrishnan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2012

We stayed only for a night. Check-in was swift and we were escorted to the room. We booked the pool villa. It was nice however the pool was a bit dirty. The whole pool area had green net covering to prevent falling leaves and this was not asthetically pleasing. Despite that, the pool looked unkept that we didn't go for a dip.
Food was okay - dinner and breakfast was completely acceptable but was not exceptional.
Overall, it was just a satisfactory stay not outstanding.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alfieswlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liveMadurai, General Manager at Heritage Madurai, responded to this review, 14 May 2012
Dear Guest,

I am saddened to note that your experience at Heritage Madurai was not up to your expectations; due to the plunge pool in your room was not kept clean.

As you are aware Heritage Madurai is an Eco-friendly Luxury Garden Resort and the plunge pool is designed on an open-air concept. Though the concept of the resort is to enjoy the flora & fauna of this unique resort, the disadvantage is that the dry leaves of the foliages falling into open air plunge pool and surrounding areas continuously. While we are constantly on the job to clean the pools on daily basis, we must confess that we have failed to clean your pool during your stay. However apart from the manual cleaning system, plunge pools are fitted with automatic cleaning systems to clean the pool on daily basis to maintain the highest hygiene.

We always strive to exceed the expectations of our guests and feedback such as yours helps us to maintain a consistently high standard as usually is the case at Heritage Madurai.

I am pleased to read, that otherwise you thoroughly enjoyed your time with us. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.


Follow us on Twitter.

Yours in Service,

Srinith De Silva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madurai hotels
4.0 km away
The Gateway Hotel Pasumalai Madurai
3.7 km away
Regency Madurai by GRT Hotels
3.0 km away
Astoria Hotels
Astoria Hotels
#5 of 55 in Madurai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 km away
Kadambavanam Ethnic Resort
Kadambavanam Ethnic Resort
#15 of 55 in Madurai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
5.6 km away
Fortune Pandiyan Hotel
Fortune Pandiyan Hotel
#3 of 55 in Madurai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
3.5 km away
Madurai Residency
Madurai Residency
#9 of 55 in Madurai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage Madurai? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Madurai

Property: Heritage Madurai
Address: 11 Melakkal Main Road, Madurai 625016, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Madurai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Madurai
#2 Spa Hotel in Madurai
#3 Business Hotel in Madurai
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,510 - ₹ 8,627
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Heritage Madurai 4.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Heritage, Welcome to Madurai.A resort, one hundred years in the making, in the heart of a city that grew from drops of nectar that flowed from the locks of Shiva, as legend would have us believe.Enter the gates of the 17-acre resort, and experience the Madurai of distant past. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, ClearTrip, Agoda and Yatra so you can book your Heritage Madurai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Madurai Hotel Madurai
Heritance Hotel Madurai
Heritage Madurai Tamil Nadu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing