We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good restaurant in madurai and my family like to go there everytime and foods are very tasty.”

Anna Meenakshi Restaurant
Ranked #20 of 226 Restaurants in Madurai
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Madurai, India
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very good restaurant in madurai and my family like to go there everytime and foods are very tasty.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2012

But, to get a parking for the hotel is very difficult and the authorities concern make a place for car parking. We feel a heavy traffic jam always in that area.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank ThangamRegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    16
    8
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Not a good choice”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

It is very much near the railway station but certainly not the best. Nearby sabarish restaurent is the best in the area and is always crowded. Apart from anna meenakshi there are umpteen choices nearby if you walk around town hall road and bus stand area. Aarthi, vasantham, ashok bhawan, k.p.s restaurent, punjabi dhaba in town hall road, roof top restaurents in hotel prem nivas, chentoor,park plaza,madurai residency,royal court better options available within walkabledistance. Restaurent at hotel is a choice along with karthick restaurent.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gnanaguhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
384 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 391 helpful votes
“a great Tiffin and meals place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

A typical south Indian meals and tiffin joint but with a long menu outside 'meals' time. The staff are friendly and helpful and used to dealing with foreigners. I never ate their 'meals', a shame really as I love the combination of flavours in their rice plate. But the tiffin was good though their north Indian dishes are over spicy. The Tamil coffee was the best I had on my trip. Tip a little and it pays dividends.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank NLR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good for Vegetarians”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2012

This restaurant is good for vegetarians, though it servers only south indian dishes, but it is very clean, simple, sober and economical restaurant in madurai. You can have Idli, samber, dosa, tea, coffee here in very reasonable rates. Hotel remains open till 11:30 PM in night.

Visited February 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank aditya_tripathi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
57 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Looks a bit scary but yummy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2012

We had read the reviews here so were a bit shocked at the local dominated clientele, but gave it a try. Our first trip was at lunch time so the dosas were not available, but the 2 dishes we did have were delicious. We also had a dinner there and I had the special ghee masala dosa.....simply gorgeous!!
Take along your wipes though as there is a sink to wash your hands but no soap or towel.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank CA_expat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Anna Meenakshi Restaurant also viewed

 
Madurai, Tamil Nadu
Madurai, Tamil Nadu
 

Been to Anna Meenakshi Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing