We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good for Vegetarians”

Anna Meenakshi Restaurant
Ranked #24 of 229 Restaurants in Madurai
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Waitstaff
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good for Vegetarians”
Reviewed 28 January 2012

This restaurant is good for vegetarians, though it servers only south indian dishes, but it is very clean, simple, sober and economical restaurant in madurai. You can have Idli, samber, dosa, tea, coffee here in very reasonable rates. Hotel remains open till 11:30 PM in night.

Visited February 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank aditya_tripathi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    16
    8
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
57 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Looks a bit scary but yummy”
Reviewed 16 January 2012

We had read the reviews here so were a bit shocked at the local dominated clientele, but gave it a try. Our first trip was at lunch time so the dosas were not available, but the 2 dishes we did have were delicious. We also had a dinner there and I had the special ghee masala dosa.....simply gorgeous!!
Take along your wipes though as there is a sink to wash your hands but no soap or towel.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank CA_expat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Good food, good service, great experience”
Reviewed 5 December 2011

It's all in the title - you can't go wrong with this place.

Visited February 2011
Helpful?
Thank MrPigeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
89 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Deeeelish!”
Reviewed 26 October 2011

We ate here twice during our very short stay in Madurai. The staff were very helpful and friendly, explaining every item in our meal/thali and how to eat it!

The banana leaf thali was excellent, especially enjoyed the vada which came with - best I've had in India. Not a bad price either - 45 rupees each.

We also ordered the lemon rice which was very good, super cheap at 25 rupees for rice and sambar and 2 chutneys.

Would happily go back and eat there again.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank annarpo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“quick cheap and tasty”
Reviewed 16 July 2010

stopped by this joint for a quick bite one evening. they were done serving meals by that point, but we ordered some dosas off the menu for some good eats for next to nothing.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank thekuman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Anna Meenakshi Restaurant also viewed

Madurai, Madurai District
Madurai, Madurai District
 
Madurai, Madurai District
Madurai, Madurai District
 
Madurai, Madurai District
Madurai, Madurai District
 

Been to Anna Meenakshi Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing