We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Good Hotel for a short stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rathna Residency Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rathna Residency Hotel
Ranked #43 of 54 Hotels in Madurai
Bangalore, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good Hotel for a short stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2011

Hi, I have been a regular traveller to Madurai on both business and leisure. I was suggested this hotel by a friend when I came here first in 2009. Ever since I have prefered to stay here each and every time.

As a business traveller to thsi temple town, I dont expect the bells and whistles of a luxury business hotel, but what I do expect is a good, clean, efficient, easliy accessible place...and that' swhat I get at Rathna.

I would defintely recommend others to this place.

Room Tip: 3rd floor rooms are better that the rest
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KarthikPK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

58 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    25
    13
    10
    7
See reviews for
26
9
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Syosset, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2011

My wife and I stayed here when I needed surgery for cataract at Aravind Eye Hospital, Madurai. This hotel gave us a nice room and the breakfast was excellent. We love to come to this hotel, if we were to come back to Madurai!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gavarasana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2011

I booked a (double accomodation) room a week before my stay and was told the tariff was Rs.1200 + tax and got that confirmed. When i landed there to stay, the guy in reception told me that the tariff for the room is Rs.1500 + tax. The reason he told was there are no rooms available for the lesser tariff. But i argued that i made the booking earlier and got it confirmed - but in vain... I had to stay there since no rooms available nearby and that was their advantage. I wanted to forget this incident to enjoy the trip but that didnt last when i entered the room! Was stinking all over and that is it. We made sure to spend most of our time roaming around in the city and to avoid the stinking room!

If you need a pleasant stay, there are few good hotels nearby to choose and definitely not this one please.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ambrish_77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Madurai hotels

Trivandrum, India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2011

Avoid this hotel if you can. Rooms are stinking and bathrooms are untidy. Bedsheets and towels are not clean. Complimentary breakfast is not good at all. I would not recommend this hotel. I don't think this hotel is having any parking space. The hotel location is also not good at all. However I find several other hotels in the same line. It's close to railway station.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sbendapudi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2010

This hotel was not clean to strat with. Price I paid was too much for the amenities. Room was filled cigerette smell. ( I am anon-smoker). Frequent power cit. WE got trapped inside an elevator when the power failed. We had to bre3ak open the door with our hands to just jump out. Was a hell to stay

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tgeekay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madurai hotels
1.3 km away
Madurai Residency
Madurai Residency
#11 of 54 in Madurai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
0.9 km away
The Golden Park
The Golden Park
#39 of 54 in Madurai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
0.4 km away
Simap Residency
Simap Residency
#7 of 54 in Madurai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Hotel Nambi
Hotel Nambi
#23 of 54 in Madurai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
1.2 km away
Hotel Padmam
Hotel Padmam
#22 of 54 in Madurai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
1.0 km away
Hotel Kathir Palace
Hotel Kathir Palace
#28 of 54 in Madurai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rathna Residency Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rathna Residency Hotel

Property: Rathna Residency Hotel
Address: 109 West Perumal Maistry Street, Madurai 625001, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Madurai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 54 Hotels in Madurai
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,157 - ₹ 2,494
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ClearTrip and Stayzilla so you can book your Rathna Residency Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rathna Residency Hotel Madurai, Tamil Nadu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing